Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS NOVEL IS A WINNER!
It is the year 2005 in the town of Malmkoping, Sweden. A birthday party is planned at the Old Folks' Home for Allan Karlsson. He is 100 years old. Everyone will be there including the Mayor, the Journal and Photographer, the staff and the old folks who live there. There is a lot of excitement going on, but Allan is not interested. He decides to escape...
Published 20 months ago by Janet Babins

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, good yarn of a tale
I enjoyed this book and heard some good things about it so maybe I was expecting more. There are basically two stories here: the 100-year old man climbs out the window is set in the present tense and then there is story of the 100-year old man's life during most of the twentieth century.

I really enjoyed the present day story of how all the characters were...
Published 15 months ago by David Terrence Cheney


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS NOVEL IS A WINNER!, Nov. 13 2012
By 
Janet Babins ""JayB"" (Montreal, Quebec, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared (Paperback)
It is the year 2005 in the town of Malmkoping, Sweden. A birthday party is planned at the Old Folks' Home for Allan Karlsson. He is 100 years old. Everyone will be there including the Mayor, the Journal and Photographer, the staff and the old folks who live there. There is a lot of excitement going on, but Allan is not interested. He decides to escape.

Allan's room is on the ground floor. He's wearing a brown jacket with brown trousers and on his feet he is wearing a pair of brown indoor slippers. He climbs out the window and steps out into the flower bed. He is on the run from his own birthday party. He wonders if he should climb back in for his shoes and his hat, but when he felt his wallet in his inside pocket, he decides to be on his way. He knows that Alice, the Director, would be fishing around for him. He had thought it would be his last residence on Earth and then he tells himself that he can die some other time, in some other place. Allan sets off in his pee-slippers (so called because men of advanced age rarely pee farther than their shoes). After walking a few hundred yards, he sits down on a bench next to some gravestones to rest his aching knees. He is a fairly healthy man, but he is 100 years old. Allan continues his walk until a stone wall appears in his path. It was about three feet high and Allan is a centenarian, not a high jumper. He walks to the lowest end of the wall and climbs over in spite of his age and knees.

On the other side was Malmkoping's bus station. The Station waiting room was almost empty when Allan shuffles in. He asks the man in the booth how far his money would take him. While at the bus terminal, Allan meets a young man with a suitcase. The young man asks Allan if he would mind his suitcase, because he had to go to the bathroom. Allan says that he would and as soon as the door closes, Allan's bus comes along. So not thinking, he gets on the bus with the suitcase on wheels. When the young man appears, his suitcase has been stolen by the old man. The young man is furious and he threatens the man at the booth to give him the information he needs to catch Allan and his stolen suitcase.

In the meantime, everyone including the Police is searching for Allan. They have gathered some information and they are on their way to find him. He can't be too far.

Along the way, when he gets off at his stop, it's pretty cold out there with just slippers on. There is one house in the wilderness, where a man lives all alone. He welcomes Allan in with his suitcase. The man prepares a hot meal and a little shot of what Allan likes and Allan feels much better. Allan would like to open the suitcase to see if he can find a pair of shoes, but the suitcase is locked. His new friend agrees to help, when someone is at the door.

You wonder what's in the suitcase. Does the young man ever find Allan? Do the Police find him? Who is that strange man that took him in? Does he return to the Old Folks' Home? What happens to dear old Allan?

The book goes back in time to the years 1929-1939, when Allan was a young man. Allan had witnessed some of the most important events of the twentieth century. He played a key role in them too.

Allan is a wise old man who doesn't sweat the small stuff. He is mischievous, curious and loves to discover new places. He loves life and still has so much to see and do. Whatever will be, will be is his way of thinking.

Jonas Jonasson created a character that is so much fun to read about. People compare Allan's character to Forrest Gump. To all the readers out there, I guarantee you'll be laughing from beginning to end. I loved this book and enjoyed every page.

I highly recommend The 100-Year old Man Who Climbed Out The Window and Disappeared for the sheer pleasure it will give you. Jonas Jonasson has come up with a WINNER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, good yarn of a tale, April 18 2013
By 
David Terrence Cheney - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book and heard some good things about it so maybe I was expecting more. There are basically two stories here: the 100-year old man climbs out the window is set in the present tense and then there is story of the 100-year old man's life during most of the twentieth century.

I really enjoyed the present day story of how all the characters were intertwined and how things rolled along. The humor was very enjoyable and the characters so laughable that I often burst out laughing at "what just happened".

I was less than impressed with the historical aspect woven through his life. Some parts worked well but it became such a pastiche that I began to expect things to happen according to the time period. Then it just got silly and so improbable that I was wondering where he was going with it? On one hand, he make you laugh at how the Cold War was but on the other, one sees how sad this time period it really was. Its definitely not an Italo Calvino but very much a Forest Gump.

Its worth a read and when he is funny, its very funny but I didn't think it deserves all the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOL, March 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It has been a long time since I've read a book that made me laugh out loud like this one did. A good read, great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice read, Oct. 3 2013
By 
faeriedance - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared (Paperback)
I was pleasantly impressed with this book. It was written simply, but had unique characters and a twisty, quirky plot. Not a whole lot of character development, but you do get absorbed in the plot. The whole time you are wondering what the author is going to do next. At the end you wonder how the author is going to get everyone and everything together at the end. Wow. A very clever author, with a great talent for writing the unexpected and unusual without appearing to go beyond the realm of the believable. Fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sore stomach from laughing, March 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Haven't had such a fun read in a long time. I couldn't read it in bed as my laughing kept waking up my husband! Loved how each chapter went from present to past. A thoroughly unlikable character but he still made me laugh out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gut Buster, Dec 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared (Paperback)
In my opinion 5 stars is not a high enough rating for this delightful "read". It has been a long time since I had the opportunity to read a story that had me laughing at the turn of every page. Maybe it's my sense of humour but I have loaned this book to three others and they all have the same opinion - this is one truly humerous story, they don't come along like this one very often, pity. It was originally written in Swedish. Rod Bradbury, who did the English translation, is to be congratulated on an excellent job.
The world is full (too full) of sadness these days, laughter, and lots of it, is needed. This "read" helps.
I have already ordered the author's next effort, the girl who saved the king. If it's as good a "read" as this one then I'm going to be one happy guy.
Thank you Mr. Jonasson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful story, Oct. 1 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I hesitated at buying this book. No idea why. Fantastic read start to finish. Wonderful humour
with an amazing whimsical story. Loved it. A great light read, start to finish. I dont want to admit how
many books are on my kindle that I never finished. Not this one. Only disappointment is that its over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much of a good thing, Sept. 13 2013
By 
Darlene Jones (Vancouver Island, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The first part of this book had me enthralled. I liked the writing style and the story line but about half way through, the story lost its charm for me. SPOILER ALERT How many world leaders can a man dine with even if he is 100 years old? How many prison sentences can one man survive without becoming bitter? How many happy coincidences can happen that save the day without the central character having to do anything? How many characters can one book hold? I could go on. The whole story ended up being too facile. I finished it without much enthusiasm and found the ending to be lame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, March 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared (Paperback)
If you liked Forrest Gump, you will love this book. It was such fun to read.I have lent it out to many people and actually had to buy another copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, Aug. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared (Paperback)
I wasn't sure what I was getting with this book but loved it. The 100 yr. old protagonist is unique. His life long adventures unfold over the course of the book and in the midst of his current adventure. If you are bothered by unrealistic coincidences, then you'll be bothered. If you can take the people and experiences at their comedic value, you'll have a rollicking good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared
The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson (Paperback - Aug. 17 2012)
CDN$ 16.99 CDN$ 8.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews