Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lady Almina and the real Downnton Abbey, July 13 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a very interesting book. This woman was vibrant and full of energy. Before WWI she did the ordinary things aristocrats did: entertaining, went to London for the social season and travelled, especially to Egypt with her husband. He was fascinated by all things Egyptian and was one of the main financial backers of the excavation of Tutankamen's Tomb. Unfortunately he died of septicaemia caused by an infected mosquito bite before they actually entered the inner Tomb. During WWI Lady Almina used their house as a hospital for wounded soldiers. Her hospital was one of the best of the time. I bought this book through Amazon.com and it certainly is a good read if you are curious about how some of the aristocracy lived in that period of time. The facts are not quite as the Downton Abbey story line seems to be heading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almina,Countess of Downton Abbey, May 2 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wanted some background to the movie. This book gave me much of the real background, it did tend to get boring in places. It's good if you want to know more about the real place, it has none of the stuff from the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very informational, June 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book finished it quickly and passed it on to anothe Downton Abbey fan. It certainly tied things together as far as the real history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very well done!, March 8 2014
By 
Adee1 (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey (Paperback)
This book is wonderful if you're hooked on Downton Abbey, and want the real story. It has helped me to understand the series better. Or, if you would like some insight into 1900 - 1920 in Europe. Very historical, takes you through WW1, and the devastation of that war. Great read and now I'm looking forward to reading about Lady Catherine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, Feb. 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey (Paperback)
Loved the way the author took you into a different era. Get past the first two chapters then your hooked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lady Almina, Jan. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading about Lady Almina and the real Downton Abbey. The work she did establishing the hospitals and her life in general even the parts about WW 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British Society early 20th Century, Jan. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey (Paperback)
A look into the lives of people of influence and wealth early in the 20th Century. A very interesting book..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History brought to life. excellent story and detail., Dec 22 2013
By 
Anne Cromack "fanofSusanB." (Nanaimo,B.C.Vancouver Island.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey (Paperback)
Hubby and I both enjoyed this book. The storyline was gripping and the history made it all very real. Would recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and historical, Nov. 9 2013
As I mentioned, this book is lovingly written but also contains, of interesting history.,.e.g. Egyptian hi story and World War facts. I am also a fan of Downton Abbey but in reading this book, I gained a lot more insight of the Carnarvon Family. Looking forward to reading the newly released continuing story
L

.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So many people and so many dates............., Oct. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey (Paperback)
To read Lady Almina's life was fascinating as you learn that she was a woman before her time. She had such drive and compasion for the soldiers in need.

Lucky for us that Lady Carnarvon took the time and monumental effort to piece together the history of Highclere Castle and the numerous people who have lived there.

This being said I personally had a hard time keeping track of all the dates and the people involved..........too bad for me.

If you enjoy history like I do...........great read with a hot cup of tea!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbb04c948)

This product

Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey
Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey by Countess of Carnarvon (Paperback - Oct. 2 2012)
CDN$ 16.99 CDN$ 12.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews