Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming Slice of History
An enthralling view into a bygone era that is part memoir, part history lesson. It lends insight and breathes life into past events, both famous and not, and shows the humanity behind the headlines of WW I, and the discovery of Tutankhamun’s tomb. Through facts, history, and some charming speculation, the book weaves a fascinating look behind the doors old English...
Published 6 months ago by A. F. Stewart

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars This book was new, however as soon as I ...
This book was new, however as soon as I opened it the binding broke and the photo pages came loose. Not impressed!
Published 1 month ago by ivorybarb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming Slice of History, Sept. 13 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey (Paperback)
An enthralling view into a bygone era that is part memoir, part history lesson. It lends insight and breathes life into past events, both famous and not, and shows the humanity behind the headlines of WW I, and the discovery of Tutankhamun’s tomb. Through facts, history, and some charming speculation, the book weaves a fascinating look behind the doors old English aristocracy that is a delight to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well done!, March 8 2014
By 
Adee1 (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey (Paperback)
This book is wonderful if you're hooked on Downton Abbey, and want the real story. It has helped me to understand the series better. Or, if you would like some insight into 1900 - 1920 in Europe. Very historical, takes you through WW1, and the devastation of that war. Great read and now I'm looking forward to reading about Lady Catherine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very informational, June 3 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Great book finished it quickly and passed it on to anothe Downton Abbey fan. It certainly tied things together as far as the real history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History brought to life. excellent story and detail., Dec 22 2013
By 
Anne Cromack "fanofSusanB." (Nanaimo,B.C.Vancouver Island.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey (Paperback)
Hubby and I both enjoyed this book. The storyline was gripping and the history made it all very real. Would recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lady Almina and the real Downnton Abbey, July 13 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
This is a very interesting book. This woman was vibrant and full of energy. Before WWI she did the ordinary things aristocrats did: entertaining, went to London for the social season and travelled, especially to Egypt with her husband. He was fascinated by all things Egyptian and was one of the main financial backers of the excavation of Tutankamen's Tomb. Unfortunately he died of septicaemia caused by an infected mosquito bite before they actually entered the inner Tomb. During WWI Lady Almina used their house as a hospital for wounded soldiers. Her hospital was one of the best of the time. I bought this book through Amazon.com and it certainly is a good read if you are curious about how some of the aristocracy lived in that period of time. The facts are not quite as the Downton Abbey story line seems to be heading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So many people and so many dates............., Oct. 30 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey (Paperback)
To read Lady Almina's life was fascinating as you learn that she was a woman before her time. She had such drive and compasion for the soldiers in need.

Lucky for us that Lady Carnarvon took the time and monumental effort to piece together the history of Highclere Castle and the numerous people who have lived there.

This being said I personally had a hard time keeping track of all the dates and the people involved..........too bad for me.

If you enjoy history like I do...........great read with a hot cup of tea!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, Dec 28 2012
By 
Zoogirl2 (Victoria, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
After watching Downton Abbey it was interesting to read the story behind the series. Without giving too much away it was interesting to connect the dots between real life individuals and the characters in the series. She certainly had a fascinating life and I never really made the connection between her husband Lord Carnarvon and the issues surrounding his death until reading this book. Would highly recommend this book to all history buffs as well as lovers of Downton Abbey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abby, April 11 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey (Paperback)
I like the way you can see how life was lived in that time
Ladies did not have many if any choice but to marry well,
I you did not well you just made the best of things.
What a sad life many must have hAD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC SERVICE, Dec 3 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ordered this as a gift and was just hoping it would get here by Christmas. Well, it arrived today - weeks before I expected it.

Thank you for the great service - would not hesitate to order again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and historical, Nov. 9 2013
As I mentioned, this book is lovingly written but also contains, of interesting history.,.e.g. Egyptian hi story and World War facts. I am also a fan of Downton Abbey but in reading this book, I gained a lot more insight of the Carnarvon Family. Looking forward to reading the newly released continuing story
L

.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey
Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey by Countess of Carnarvon (Paperback - Oct. 2 2012)
CDN$ 16.99 CDN$ 12.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews