Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars a good reference
This is a good pocket reference that will give you the syntax for defining your Style sheet elements. Don't look for pictures in the book because it's mostly just syntax. If you need to look something up quickly than just flip thru the alphabetized list of elements. I like the browser compatibility charts that are included for CSS.
Published on March 9 2002 by Steve M. Balshan

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars No CSS2 information makes for waning usefulness
As a web developer, I've been involved with doing more coding work using CSS in my pages as browsers such as Mozilla have come on the scene. So far, I've relied on Danny Goodman's book "Dynamic HTML", also published by O'Reilly. It has a chapter on CSS, and its coverage, while covering all attributes in CSS1 and CSS2, was a bit lacking in some details. (It...
Published on Jan. 22 2002 by J. Seifert


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars a good reference, March 9 2002
By 
Steve M. Balshan "9/11 was an Inside Job!" (Irvine, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSS Pocket Reference (Paperback)
This is a good pocket reference that will give you the syntax for defining your Style sheet elements. Don't look for pictures in the book because it's mostly just syntax. If you need to look something up quickly than just flip thru the alphabetized list of elements. I like the browser compatibility charts that are included for CSS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No CSS2 information makes for waning usefulness, Jan. 22 2002
By 
J. Seifert (Indianapolis, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSS Pocket Reference (Paperback)
As a web developer, I've been involved with doing more coding work using CSS in my pages as browsers such as Mozilla have come on the scene. So far, I've relied on Danny Goodman's book "Dynamic HTML", also published by O'Reilly. It has a chapter on CSS, and its coverage, while covering all attributes in CSS1 and CSS2, was a bit lacking in some details. (It was published in 1998.) Dynamic HTML is also a 1000+ page Bible of sorts, and felt unwieldy to refer to often. I wanted something lighter and more up-to-date.
Thus, I bought this book, not realizing that it only covers CSS1... surprising since it was published less than a year ago, nearly three years AFTER Goodman's book was published. Dynamic HTML already has excellent treatment of CSS1, and I was really more after a guide on the exciting features to be found in CSS2. I promptly returned the book.
I'd still only give the guide 4 out of 5 stars if it had the CSS2 attributes. Half of the book is devoted to tables showing the support for each attribute in about 10 different browsers; excuse me, but are there _that_ many users of Opera that we need to know the differences between Opera 4 and 5, on the Windows and Mac platforms? It's a bit too overwhelming, using up space which would have been better used on more examples and tricks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and Easy, Dec 26 2001
By 
A. E. Cesaro "slevena" (NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSS Pocket Reference (Paperback)
The fast food for web developers, A MUST HAVE!! This is yet another indespensible book in the Pocket Reference series. As with all of the other Pocket books this is best for people who have basic knowledge with subject matter (in this case Style sheets). However, if you are not familiar with the subject matter, the publisher of this series puts out the Definative Guide series as well which works hand in hand with the Pocket sized version. I have the HTML, XML, JavaScript and CSS pocket references, which always sit close by when I'm at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Quick Reference, Dec 6 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: CSS Pocket Reference (Paperback)
I've refered to this little gem many times while designing web pages in XHTML 1.0 Transitional and Strict. It has been great in exploring alternative ways of formatting the display of data using boxes and float instead of tables. Though tables are ofcourse still a good way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful quick reference, Nov. 20 2001
By 
Ellen Shay (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CSS Pocket Reference (Paperback)
If you're looking for quick information in a size that's easy to carry around, purchase this book. It's an excellent addition to the O'Reilly Pocket Reference series.
When I'm trying to remember the format for a particular style or how well it's supported by the various browser versions, I don't want to have to dig through a large reference manual. Instead, I reach for this book, quickly look up the style (listed alphabetically), get the information I'm looking for, and continue working. This is the reference I carry between work and home.
The book starts with a condensed description of how CSS1 works and how to use it. The majority of the reference describes the CSS1 properties, pseudo-elements, and pseudo-classes. Each entry includes the allowed values, a description, a few examples, and browser support for both Windows and Mac browsers. Additional notes describe any browser-specific issues. A browser support summary chart completes the book.
Even if you have Eric Meyer's Cascading Style Sheets, The Definitive Guide, you will still find his CSS Pocket Reference a useful addition to your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Obsolete before it hit the shelves, July 23 2002
By 
"schapel" (Hillsborough, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CSS Pocket Reference (Paperback)
This book does not cover CSS2 nor any of the new versions of the most popular browsers: IE 6, Opera 6, and Netscape 7. Because of these omissions, a significant amount of CSS functionality that is available on most users' browsers is not even mentioned. My advice: find a book that is more up-to-date and buy it instead of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There must be something better out there, July 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: CSS Pocket Reference (Paperback)
The first O'Reilly Pocket Reference I owned was the HTML Pocket Reference, and it's excellent. I figured since I'm starting to use CSS more & more it would be nice to have a quick handy guide, and I figured since the HTML reference was so good, why not go for the CSS reference.
I do not like it at all. At risk of repeating other problems already noted I'll give my biggest gripes. There is almost no mention of CSS2. Although browser support is not very extensive yet, the standard has been defined, so why not include it?
Compatibility charts do not have any mention of Internet Explorer 6. Granted, the book may have been published before it's release, but I have not been able to find one with a print date newer than May, 2001. Two years is a long time in the world of web design.
The properties for various selectors are not organized in a way that maked them easy to find. I'm not saying that I know a better way to organize them, but unless you already know the name of the property you're looking for you have to flip through the book guessing at it until you find what you're looking for.
If you're in the market for a cheap pocket CSS reference, stay away from this one. There has to be something better.
I will, however, recommend a full-fledged CSS book from O'Reilly: CSS- The Definitive Guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not comprehensive, but Damn Good, July 27 2003
By 
Dave Shea "Designer" (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CSS Pocket Reference (Paperback)
An excellent guide to CSS-1 that's starting to show its age. Browsers covered go as far as IE5.5 and NN6.0, but it can almost be taken for granted that newer variations do a better job.
For what it is, this book is invaluable. Support charts tell you what works and what doesn't, example code is enough to fill in questions about syntax, and the book is designed to make each CSS property easy to find with a quick flipping through the pages.
Meyer knows his CSS. Make sure you have this book on your desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great CSS1 reference, Feb. 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: CSS Pocket Reference (Paperback)
this is a great book if you are looking for a CSS1 reference. as other reviewers have mentioned here, this predates the CSS2 specification and will not be as helpful for more advanced web designers/coders. however most modern browsers now have a near-complete implementation of CSS1, so if you are just learning CSS or want your websites to have older browser compatibility, this will be very handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking coverage of newer CSS properties, March 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: CSS Pocket Reference (Paperback)
This book is good for the basics but it does not cover CSS2 so If your looking for an advanced css reference, this isnt it. It really needs to be updated with a new edition since this one is from 2001.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CSS Pocket Reference
CSS Pocket Reference by Eric A. Meyer (Paperback - Aug. 2 2011)
CDN$ 17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews