Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quick, light read for the true crime fan
Reason for Reading: It's been years since I read this type of true crime. I used to read it a lot. I had been wanting to get back into reading something like this and who better to start with than Ann Rule. I read a couple of her books waaaay back at the beginning of her career, but I had never read one of her crime file collections before.

The publisher's...
Published 17 months ago by Nicola Mansfield

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Not one of her better books. It would seem that she has gone back to her crime magazine stories from the 70s.
Published 18 months ago by jane burgess


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quick, light read for the true crime fan, Feb. 8 2013
By 
Nicola Mansfield (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: Ann Rule's Crime Files Volume 16 (Mass Market Paperback)
Reason for Reading: It's been years since I read this type of true crime. I used to read it a lot. I had been wanting to get back into reading something like this and who better to start with than Ann Rule. I read a couple of her books waaaay back at the beginning of her career, but I had never read one of her crime file collections before.

The publisher's summary and information on the book itself is quite careful in not letting the reader know which cases are discussed in the book, except the Powell case, so I will not reveal that information either. I really enjoyed this read and the format of 8 separate cases made it easy to pick up and read a chapter at a time once the two beginning 'novella' sized cases had been presented. I enjoy Rule's writing, she has little sympathy for the offenders and yet on the rare occasion can show compassion *if* it is warranted. Rule does not go into gory details, but she does not gloss over the heinous acts either. First and foremost her objective is to preserve the victim's dignity while letting the reader know the seriousness of the crime but not crossing over into that which would become voyeuristic. I appreciated this style of writing and Rule's own concern and compassion for those she writes about is evident.

The book has a theme of murders/rapes committed by friends or neighbours though not every story sticks precisely to that theme. It starts off with two 'novella' length cases then the next six are short story length. The first case is the Susan Powell case, an extremely tragic story which started in 2009 and continued right up to the time of the author writing the book. Next follows a strange tale where the police have closed the case on two deaths that occurred within 24 hours of each other in the same house. The deaths were ruled as accidental and suicide but the public has taken the death of the six year old to heart not believing it to be an accident and the family of the other do not believe suicide is at all possible. This is also a recent (2011) case which I found fascinating. Personally, my thoughts lean towards the boy being an accident and the woman a murder.

The following six stories are mostly from the seventies, some solved, some cold cases. I learned that back in the seventies they didn't use the term 'cold case' but referred to these cases as 'losers' at the time. These cases involve murder, rape and missing persons and were all of interest. I had not heard of any of the stories presented in this book, which was refreshing and Rule picked a great selection of stories to present together. A quick, light read for the true crime fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, Jan. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not one of her better books. It would seem that she has gone back to her crime magazine stories from the 70s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ann Rule Rules!!!, Nov. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: Ann Rule's Crime Files Volume 16 (Mass Market Paperback)
Ann Rule is the best writer when it comes to true crime!!! She is the author I return to time after time. Once you start reading one of her books it is hard to put it down......she definitely keeps your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy!, Sept. 26 2013
By 
Shirley A. Kerr (Vancouver Island, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: Ann Rule's Crime Files Volume 16 (Mass Market Paperback)
Looking for any of Ann Rule's books that I did not already have, found it quickly and was happy with receiving it very quickly. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fatal Friends, Sept. 4 2013
By 
Carmel Mossey "ele" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: Ann Rule's Crime Files Volume 16 (Mass Market Paperback)
Bought this book as a gift, she was very happy that I found it. Perfect shape which was nice as it was a gift.
Thanks
Carmel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as always Ann!, April 29 2013
By 
N. J. Clarke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: Ann Rule's Crime Files Volume 16 (Mass Market Paperback)
Her books are so good - I had to force myself to slow down ! Her writing remains fresh and easy to read. Great true crime for those liking that genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Ann Rule Books, Feb. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I always like anything that Ann Rule writes & I believe I have read them all .The Kindle is so easy to use & I will continue to order more books from Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, Jan. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: Ann Rule's Crime Files Volume 16 (Mass Market Paperback)
I liked the book but especially liked the first true crime account of poor Susan Powell's disappearance and suspected murder. It is the first account in the book and is more than one hundred pages long. The rest of the true crime accounts are also very well written but much shorter. To be perfectly honest the only one that stuck with me and found the most interesting was the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le maître des vrais histoires vécues..., Dec 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: Ann Rule's Crime Files Volume 16 (Mass Market Paperback)
J'ai tous les livres d'Ann Rules et j'en ai relus plusieurs au fil des années. Ann a aussi écrit un roman-suspense et il est super. J'ignore si elle se décidera à en écrire d'autres...mais pour l'instant elle fait toujours ses livres de cas vécus et j'adore.

Hélène Lussier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: Ann Rule's Crime Files Volume 16
Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors: Ann Rule's Crime Files Volume 16 by Ann Rule (Mass Market Paperback - Nov. 27 2012)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews