Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lothaire totally delivered!
I have been eagerly anticipating Lothaire's blooding since I started reading IAD. I really wasn't sure how the bad guy was going to win the girl but Cole manages with her usual aplomb. Ellie is strong enough to be his match. Lothaire, with the help of a "human", even learns a little about relationships. Having no friends and hordes of enemies this is totally new...
Published on Jan. 14 2012 by Rory Girl

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed compared to all the other books in the series
The most highly anticipated book of the series... I was expecting so much more. All the other books had multiple components that made the books so much more than a typical romance. There was always another purpose for the characters to be where they are, or for doing what they are doing (the Hie / the Order / the war with the Horde / Chasing Lucia through the amazon /...
Published 21 months ago by Blaine


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed compared to all the other books in the series, July 24 2012
This review is from: Lothaire (Mass Market Paperback)
The most highly anticipated book of the series... I was expecting so much more. All the other books had multiple components that made the books so much more than a typical romance. There was always another purpose for the characters to be where they are, or for doing what they are doing (the Hie / the Order / the war with the Horde / Chasing Lucia through the amazon / etc). There was more action but my favourite part was that each book was interconnected where you can read scenes from other books from a different character's perspective. I love reading a line and finding out "Oh! This is what Nix was ranting about when she said that in book 3". All her other books had so much depth and with each installment I felt the series was gearing towards the Assension.

I was expecting Lothaire's book to be revelation to all the little pieces of him we have seen throughout the series. Yes, there was a lot about Lothaire's past that was revealed and we now know what his ultimate goals were for all of his long, long immortal life, but the end was too easy. After he has been working towards this goal for thousands of years, after he has collected hundreds of blood-debts to ensure his success, after all the powers he has collected at the expense of his sanity... His endgame was just given to him. No war, no struggle, no victory. Even after the build up for Dorada and the "rrrrrinnggg". There was barely any struggle and Dorada let him borrow the ring for a night.

As for his love interest... boring and I don't think they match. Fate really messed that pairing up. I feel sorry for Lothaire for having to wait eons and end up with a Bride that does not suit him. A transformed human but she still acts human in every way, and did not give up on her human family ties. Poor Lothaire will have a heck of a time with those in-laws.

The best part of the book ... a chapter with Lothaire and Nix. It was so sad and nostaligic. I wish Nix was Lothaire's Bride. Both mentally insane but they understand each other perfectly.
And the other best thing, an introduction to Lothaire's Dacian Family.

Honestly, I was overall disappointed in this book and think this book was used more as a stepping stone to introduce her new series about the Daci. I really expected so much more... (But the new series does look promising. I'll be buying that one too)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lothaire totally delivered!, Jan. 14 2012
By 
Rory Girl (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lothaire (Paperback)
I have been eagerly anticipating Lothaire's blooding since I started reading IAD. I really wasn't sure how the bad guy was going to win the girl but Cole manages with her usual aplomb. Ellie is strong enough to be his match. Lothaire, with the help of a "human", even learns a little about relationships. Having no friends and hordes of enemies this is totally new territory for him. Watching him stumble along was amusing. This was a totally satisfying installment that I did not want to put down and ranks up there with some of my favorites in the series. My only regret is that it is done too soon and now the wait begins for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoo! 5 Big Blood-Sucking Stars, Dec 7 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lothaire (Mass Market Paperback)
I LOVED Lothaire...err the book...not the man...but he was pretty darn entertaining. I traced...err raced right through this book. I didn't want to put it down; didn't want to sleep and was even late for work as I tried to fit in a few minutes of reading in the morning (and that never happens!).

Lothaire: the Enemy of Old; the most feared and powerful Vampire in the universe; an arrogant, self-important, sarcastic in spades S.O.B. that ever lived. I preferred Elizabeth's nickname for him Leo...how cute!

Elizabeth: a backwoods babe; a virginal, barefoot hillbilly from the Appalachian mountains. How was this mere mortal going to hold her own against such a strong and powerful Vamp?

How? How? How was Kresley Cole going to pull off this pairing? It was either going to be a match made in heaven or hell.

Well if anyone was up for the challenge, it was certainly Elizabeth Peirce. For Lothaire to lower himself to deal with this mortal, white trailer trash was unthinkable and despicable, but he needed the human vessel currently housing his Bride Saroya and he couldn't harm her. The big guy was kinda caught between a rock and a hard place. Ellie took full advantage of her situation. Poking, prodding and challenging Lothaire at every turn to outwit, outlast and out think him in her ultimate game of Survivor because if Lothaire succeeded in his quest for the ring...her game would end permanently.

I laughed out loud many times during the reading of Lothaire. I smiled, I cursed Lothaire and his arrogance and cheered on Elizabeth as she used her wiles and cunning on the Vamp. I could have quoted funny lines from this book all day. Elizabeth took Lothaire's snide remarks (mostly about her heritage) in stride, gave as good as she got and on more than one occasion caused the Enemy of Old to use his walls as a punching bag.

Add in the great supporting cast of Hag and cutie-patootie Thad and the Nucking Futs Nix and it all added up to a fantastic read. I especially loved the little heart-to-heart between Nix and Lothaire. Two sworn adversaries watching each other's back...ahhhhhh perfection.

Whose book is next...so many choices. Isn't it about time Nix got her HEA? Guess we'll all just have to wait and see what Ms. Cole has in store for her Immortals After Dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kresley does it again!, March 2 2013
By 
Barbara G. Hamill "qwertydoll" (Vancouver Island, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lothaire (Mass Market Paperback)
So glad to see Lothaire have to fight for something. I especially like the way the author has connected all the books into a continous saga but books do not have to be read in order. What my mother's generation would call a "Bodice Ripper" as is surely made me sweat in a few spots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably my favorite so far, Feb. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really love this story. Have reread it twice so far. Great fiesty heroine who really has her work cut out for her. Lothaire may be the most romantic mad man ever once he gets on board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOTHAIRE..by Kresley Cole-A review, Jan. 23 2012
By 
Sandy S. (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lothaire (Paperback)
SPOILER ALERT

LOTHAIRE is the latest book in Kresley Cole’s Immortals After Dark series. Released January 10, 2012, Kresley just completed a week-long tour with cover model Paul Marron (be still my heart) to fantastic turn outs. I do believe, the magnificent Paul helped in that department. LOTHAIRE continues the storyline a few weeks after Dreams of a Dark Warrior.

Lothaire, Enemy of Old, believes he has found his mate, Saroya, but there are complications. Saroya, a goddess without substance, inhabits the human body of Elizabeth Pierce, a coal miner’s daughter from Louisiana. When Lothaire first meets ‘Saroya’ (as Elizabeth) , the goddess he believes to be his mate, he is blooded-his heart begins to beat and his need to consummate the relationship is without end. But ‘Saroya, is evil personified, and the reason Lothaire believes that the goddess is his true-mate. While inhabiting the body of Elizabeth, Saroya goes on a killing spree, and when Elizabeth is fingered in the murders, she is tried and sentenced to death row.

Five years later, Elizabeth Pierce, well aware that a demon has taken possession of her body, refuses to save herself from the electric chair. During her incarceration, she has completed university and only on a couple of occasion has the goddess, come to the surface. But, hoping her death, will also end the ‘life’ of the demon Saroya, Elizabeth accepts her fate and welcomes her execution. But Lothaire refuses to allow Elizabeth to die, fearing she will end the life of his mate-the woman who would be his queen.

From Death Row to Lothaire’s New York apartment, Elizabeth feels she has replaced one prison for another equally abhorrent. Lothaire is on a mission. He seeks revenge against those who murdered his mother, and against the father who cast aside a son and mate. To regain his rightful position as heir to a Horde throne, Lothaire seeks retribution and keeps a record of every debt that is owed to him by the Lore. Elizabeth has been marked by many of the Lorians for death—as the mate to Lothaire, Enemy of Old--she is targeted by those who want retribution against Lothaire.

But Elizabeth is falling for her captor, in a ‘Stockholm Syndrome’ psychological game of good vs evil. She does not understand her feelings for Leo, as she calls him (Lothaire Enemy of Old-LEO), but she is losing her heart to one of the oldest and coldest vampires in the Lore. And Lothaire, is falling for the human-not the goddess Saroya.

Throughout her captivity with Lothaire, Elizabeth is subjected to Lothaire’s condescending attitude and actions. His disrespect towards the human, is painful and one that will nearly end his own life. But once he has claimed Elizabeth as his mate, Lothaire demands she be turned. As a vampire, Elizabeth will not be as vulnerable as a human, and her life will be equaled to that of the immortals.

The release of Kresley Cole’s LOTHAIRE has been anticipated for a while. Lothaire has been present in virtually all of the Immortal After Dark novels, building his storyline, giving the reader, small bits of information that needed a culmination in a book of his own. We re-visit: Dorado, the ghoul-like mummified creature searching for the RIIINNNGGGG; Nix the All Knowing-or Nucking Futs Nix as Lothaire’s oldest and only friend; Thaddeus the young vampire/demon who befriended Lothaire in prison; and the Valkyrie-with their squeals that could deafen an entire city.

Kresley introduces Lothaire’s extended family of vampires including a young female cousin-Kosmina. I sense a potential match between Kosmina and Thaddeus , but that could only be my spidey-senses going into over drive. With these introductions, Kresley has opened a new branch of the family to continue with the Immortals After Dark series of novels and storylines. LOTHAIRE is another great read in this wonderful series. Although, Lothaire is much colder and darker than most of her previous characters (he rips out his own blackened heart and gives it to his mate as a symbol of his hatred towards her), the love of a fated-mate, melts the ice surrounding his once deadened soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2050f48)

This product

Lothaire
Lothaire by Kresley Cole (Paperback - Jan. 10 2012)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews