Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `At the centre of each dish, .. is an ingredient, one ingredient.'
In his introduction to this book, Yotam Ottolenghi writes that that each dish is based around one of his favourite ingredients. This has led to an idiosyncratic organisation of recipes: some components (such as aubergines) have their own chapter; others are organised botanically (such as brassicas) and others reflect associations that are part of the way Ottolenghi...
Published on Dec 1 2010 by Jennifer Cameron-Smith

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just add an expensive dairy product and your veggies will taste good!
When I first got it I was a bit disappointed. I was hoping for something that would teach me how to make vegetables really well using spices, herbs, and technique. Instead, many recipes contain an expensive (at least in Canada) dairy product – yogurt, cream, or a particular cheese. It’s not like you can’t leave them out, but some recipes seem to depend...
Published 1 month ago by Kris22


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `At the centre of each dish, .. is an ingredient, one ingredient.', Dec 1 2010
This review is from: Plenty (Hardcover)
In his introduction to this book, Yotam Ottolenghi writes that that each dish is based around one of his favourite ingredients. This has led to an idiosyncratic organisation of recipes: some components (such as aubergines) have their own chapter; others are organised botanically (such as brassicas) and others reflect associations that are part of the way Ottolenghi shapes his menus.
These recipes are based on meatless dishes and reflect eclectic influences including the Middle East, South East Asia and Latin America. The book is full of delicious, mouth-watering recipes.

The chapter headings may give some idea:

Roots
Funny Onions
Mushrooms
Courgettes and Other Squashes
Capsicums
Brassicas
The Mighty Aubergine
Tomatoes
Leaves Cooked and Raw
Green Things
Green Beans
Pulses
Cereals
Pasta, Polenta, Couscous
Fruit with Cheese

The recipes are accompanied by anecdotes and by mouth-wateringly beautiful photographs. The instructions are clear and easy to follow. The amount of preparation required varies between dishes: some are quick and easy, others will require more time. But it's worth it. There is a recipe here for just about any occasion.

I first borrowed this book from the library, but quickly realised that I needed my own copy.

A note for American readers: the ingredients are listed in grams and millilitres rather than cups and ounces.
Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXACTLY the same book, April 10 2011
By 
Serge Pilon - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
I just want to mention that Plenty (white cover) and Plenty: Vibrant Vegetable Recipes From London's Ottolenghi are EXACTLY the same book! The only little differences are :
- the first is the original book published 4 the UK (2010), the other in the US (2011)
- the first uses grams, millilitres, the other uses cups, ounces and pounds. Both use tsp and tbsp
- the ingredients appear in the order they are used in the second book
- their covers are different but all images and recipes inside the books are EXACTLY identical
- some ingredients are named differently : double cream for heavy cream, caster sugar for sugar, broad beans for fava beans, etc.
- the quantities in the second book are really rounded : 400g asparagus is 1 lb
I bought the second book by mistake and I prefer the first one for the metric units.

What a wonderful book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just add an expensive dairy product and your veggies will taste good!, Nov. 4 2014
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
When I first got it I was a bit disappointed. I was hoping for something that would teach me how to make vegetables really well using spices, herbs, and technique. Instead, many recipes contain an expensive (at least in Canada) dairy product – yogurt, cream, or a particular cheese. It’s not like you can’t leave them out, but some recipes seem to depend on them. It’s pretty easy to make something taste good using melted taleggio or artisanal unripened goat’s cheese. Other recipes also seem to contain unnecessary steps - the garlic prep in the caramelized garlic tart, for example (I have done it without par-boiling the garlic first, and it was no different) and baking the rice in the oven for the cardamom rice with yogurt (you can just do it on the stove, like normal). The recipes taste good, but overall this book isn't teaching me many useful tricks and preparations for vegetables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cook book, March 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
I love this book . I am not a vegetarian but I am often wanting to make more vegetarian meals for our family and our friends so this is perfect for my needs. Plus the photos are done so well that they leap off the pages and onto your table
This is my favorite go to cookbook for fast and easy delcious meals to accompany meat or not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, July 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
Love this cookbook. Often uses ingredients that may not be in your cupboard so need to plan ahead.... but worth doing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, June 19 2013
By 
Marilou Champagne (montreal, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
simply amazing, great flavors from any recepies and so much great variations! I would recommand it to anybody! this is the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, March 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
This is an amazing book with wonderful recipes. I am not a vegetarian, but I use many recipes from this book and they are all delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best veggie cookbook ever published, Feb. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
This book is brilliant. Have been vegetarian for 30 years, vegan, raw food, macrobiotic, , you name it,.I have an extensive food prep book collectionThis is the best book I've come across in all that time. The recipes simply WORK! They're delicious, easy and quick to prepare, having just the right twist to make them gourmet quality. The ingredients are also easily available. Healthy , delicious food that's easy and quick to prepare. The best of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cookbook!, Dec 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
Sturdy book, super excellent photos, clear writing, easy to follow, great for the vegetarian! My daughter waited almost 5 months to get this book and was the highlight of Christmas presents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Choice, Oct. 4 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
Great choice if you are looking for colourful, delicious vegetarian recipes with something different. Includes many tasty dishes suitable for vegans. Flavours are from well combined fresh herbs, spices and seasonings, not simply the all too common reliance on the addition of cheese or cream. Recipe ingredients, while not every day staples in the vegetarian/vegan cupboard, are easily found by exploring the rest of the spices shelf in your grocery store. Contents are laid out by specific vegetable which is particularly useful and the photos are especially tempting and helpful for presentation. Recipes are great for both "at home" meals, but definitely if you want to make a statement at dinner parties. Recipes can be used with confidence when entertaining either a veg or omnivorous group. One of the "better purchases" for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi
Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi by Yotam Ottolenghi (Hardcover - March 9 2011)
CDN$ 43.00 CDN$ 26.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews