Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `At the centre of each dish, .. is an ingredient, one ingredient.'
In his introduction to this book, Yotam Ottolenghi writes that that each dish is based around one of his favourite ingredients. This has led to an idiosyncratic organisation of recipes: some components (such as aubergines) have their own chapter; others are organised botanically (such as brassicas) and others reflect associations that are part of the way Ottolenghi...
Published on Dec 1 2010 by Jennifer Cameron-Smith

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just add an expensive dairy product and your veggies will taste good!
When I first got it I was a bit disappointed. I was hoping for something that would teach me how to make vegetables really well using spices, herbs, and technique. Instead, many recipes contain an expensive (at least in Canada) dairy product – yogurt, cream, or a particular cheese. It’s not like you can’t leave them out, but some recipes seem to depend...
Published 4 months ago by Kris22


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `At the centre of each dish, .. is an ingredient, one ingredient.', Dec 1 2010
This review is from: Plenty (Hardcover)
In his introduction to this book, Yotam Ottolenghi writes that that each dish is based around one of his favourite ingredients. This has led to an idiosyncratic organisation of recipes: some components (such as aubergines) have their own chapter; others are organised botanically (such as brassicas) and others reflect associations that are part of the way Ottolenghi shapes his menus.
These recipes are based on meatless dishes and reflect eclectic influences including the Middle East, South East Asia and Latin America. The book is full of delicious, mouth-watering recipes.

The chapter headings may give some idea:

Roots
Funny Onions
Mushrooms
Courgettes and Other Squashes
Capsicums
Brassicas
The Mighty Aubergine
Tomatoes
Leaves Cooked and Raw
Green Things
Green Beans
Pulses
Cereals
Pasta, Polenta, Couscous
Fruit with Cheese

The recipes are accompanied by anecdotes and by mouth-wateringly beautiful photographs. The instructions are clear and easy to follow. The amount of preparation required varies between dishes: some are quick and easy, others will require more time. But it's worth it. There is a recipe here for just about any occasion.

I first borrowed this book from the library, but quickly realised that I needed my own copy.

A note for American readers: the ingredients are listed in grams and millilitres rather than cups and ounces.
Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXACTLY the same book, April 10 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
I just want to mention that Plenty (white cover) and Plenty: Vibrant Vegetable Recipes From London's Ottolenghi are EXACTLY the same book! The only little differences are :
- the first is the original book published 4 the UK (2010), the other in the US (2011)
- the first uses grams, millilitres, the other uses cups, ounces and pounds. Both use tsp and tbsp
- the ingredients appear in the order they are used in the second book
- their covers are different but all images and recipes inside the books are EXACTLY identical
- some ingredients are named differently : double cream for heavy cream, caster sugar for sugar, broad beans for fava beans, etc.
- the quantities in the second book are really rounded : 400g asparagus is 1 lb
I bought the second book by mistake and I prefer the first one for the metric units.

What a wonderful book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just add an expensive dairy product and your veggies will taste good!, Nov. 4 2014
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
When I first got it I was a bit disappointed. I was hoping for something that would teach me how to make vegetables really well using spices, herbs, and technique. Instead, many recipes contain an expensive (at least in Canada) dairy product – yogurt, cream, or a particular cheese. It’s not like you can’t leave them out, but some recipes seem to depend on them. It’s pretty easy to make something taste good using melted taleggio or artisanal unripened goat’s cheese. Other recipes also seem to contain unnecessary steps - the garlic prep in the caramelized garlic tart, for example (I have done it without par-boiling the garlic first, and it was no different) and baking the rice in the oven for the cardamom rice with yogurt (you can just do it on the stove, like normal). The recipes taste good, but overall this book isn't teaching me many useful tricks and preparations for vegetables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best veggie cookbook ever published, Feb. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
This book is brilliant. Have been vegetarian for 30 years, vegan, raw food, macrobiotic, , you name it,.I have an extensive food prep book collectionThis is the best book I've come across in all that time. The recipes simply WORK! They're delicious, easy and quick to prepare, having just the right twist to make them gourmet quality. The ingredients are also easily available. Healthy , delicious food that's easy and quick to prepare. The best of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Choice, Oct. 4 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
Great choice if you are looking for colourful, delicious vegetarian recipes with something different. Includes many tasty dishes suitable for vegans. Flavours are from well combined fresh herbs, spices and seasonings, not simply the all too common reliance on the addition of cheese or cream. Recipe ingredients, while not every day staples in the vegetarian/vegan cupboard, are easily found by exploring the rest of the spices shelf in your grocery store. Contents are laid out by specific vegetable which is particularly useful and the photos are especially tempting and helpful for presentation. Recipes are great for both "at home" meals, but definitely if you want to make a statement at dinner parties. Recipes can be used with confidence when entertaining either a veg or omnivorous group. One of the "better purchases" for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cook book, March 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
I love this book . I am not a vegetarian but I am often wanting to make more vegetarian meals for our family and our friends so this is perfect for my needs. Plus the photos are done so well that they leap off the pages and onto your table
This is my favorite go to cookbook for fast and easy delcious meals to accompany meat or not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vibrantly imaginative receipes, July 26 2011
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
A superb book with extraordinarily inventive and delicious-appearing recipes ("delicious-appearing", because I have not yet had time to prepare any). Extremely imaginative with wonderful photos. The only downside to the recipes was perhaps due to my ignorance: I had never heard of a number of the ingredients listed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Bookish Thoughts..., June 24 2011
By 
Reader Writer Runner (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
He may not actually be vegetarian but Yotam Ottolenghi can certainly convey the pleasure of vegetarian food. In "Plenty," the Israeli chef presents recipes featuring vegetables, pulses, grains, eggs and dairy, most of which highlight the flavours of the Mediterranean.

To his credit, Ottolenghi treats his ingredients with dignity; he proves that lentils can taste as delicious as beef provided you don't consider them a substitute. Indeed, every dish from roasted sweet potato wedges with herbs and chillies to cabbage and kohlrabi salad with sour cherries to black pepper tofu sounds substantial and appetizing. The myriad of lovely, glossy photos make the book a pleasure to peruse whether you cook from it or not.

Some recipes contain a large list of ingredients but all look easy enough to make with moderate time and effort. The instructions are laid out clearly but there is little other text to read - disappointing for those who like a bit of commentary with each recipe. Overall, a worthwhile addition to anyone's cookbook collection whether vegetarian or "flexetarian."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Flavour Combos, June 25 2013
By 
A. Soares - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
I have yet to try something that hasn't turned out from this book. Recipes may not always be quick (many are), but they turn out with fantastic flavour combos designed to impress. One of my favourites is the Black Pepper Tofu:)

The book is beautiful enough to be out sitting on your coffee table (with recipes illustrated wonderfully), but the recipes are too good not to use it well. This book is organized by major ingredient (which makes it easier for me at least when I am trying to use up specific things in the fridge). Recipes are good as is or as inspiration!

Buy (and visit Ottolenghi's restaurants if in London! We were recently there and had a fabulously magical experience at Nopi)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty, Aug. 7 2011
This review is from: Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi (Hardcover)
Amazing book - pictures are wonderful, instructions are easy to follow and result is highly successful - whole family liked to eat it.Plenty: Vibrant Vegetable Recipes From London's Ottolenghi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi
Plenty: Vibrant Recipes from London's Ottolenghi by Yotam Ottolenghi (Hardcover - March 9 2011)
CDN$ 45.50 CDN$ 28.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews