Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grab this book and settle in
If you're looking for a book to get lost in for a few hours, this is the one. This book explores the impact on a family of a man's dual life, opens your eyes and teaches you some lessons at the same time! I highly recommend it!
Published on June 10 2004 by semi_sweet_nell

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, but not great literature
I read this book due to the recommendations on here and although I would say it is an interesting read, I wouldn't put it in the class of great literature. It is a pretty standard novel with some interesting characters, but I would probably put it as a cross between a Danielle Steele novel and a Sidney Sheldon. I'm not sure many people who are in a book club would find...
Published on Sept. 9 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what makes reading good storytelling so darn good!, March 2 2004
This review is from: The Great Pretender (Paperback)
Reginald Brooks has manipulated his way into a comfortable double life situation. It becomes not so comfortable for Reginald and he feels his days of successfully hiding both families from each other are numbered. He runs to his best friend for guidance as he has done for years, which contributed to his success in managing the double life. His friend's advice leads Reginald down a road that would bring most men to their knees in consequence.
My opinion of this book is very high. The pages HAD to be turned until the story was completed, and I still yearned to be told more about what happened after that still. The experience I had while reading it is what makes reading good storytelling so darn good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Pretender - Millenia Black, Feb. 27 2004
This review is from: The Great Pretender (Paperback)
I read this book on recommendation from several friends. I must say that I was not disappointed. All of the characters are portrayed in such a way as to really make you feel you are only feet away from their dramatic lives, and Black's writing enables you to really empathise with them even if you have never lived their dysfunctional lifestyles.
The plot is spicy and full of zeal, which makes it a real page turner, and I can't wait to get sucked into another one of her novels.
Kelly F.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A World of Secrecy, Feb. 25 2004
By 
Tee Johnson (Clearwater, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Great Pretender (Paperback)
The characters in The Great Pretender were all living in some type of "pretender" world. When the main character makes his decision, the cards start tumbling down and this is very exciting to see the family members be affected by his choice and their own secrets. I recommend this novel. It's good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and disturbing, Feb. 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Pretender (Paperback)
What a disappointment. The premise seemed interesting but instead the book turned out to be like watching a bad movie on Cinemax. Filled with trashy sex, undesirable people and a disturbing story. I'd say skip it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De.throned by God given emotion, Feb. 17 2004
By 
A Global man (SOUTH EASTERN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Great Pretender (Paperback)
Mr. Reginald Brooks, oh my God! It seems like the ability to be stealth and furtive in maneuvering skills is more easily employed in affairs that take us down a shamefull street.
Like in the case of Mr. Brooks,he found himself stripped of all the characteristical atributes most men of class try to have for attraction and also self-respect.
After the fact,all of the intoxicated infidelity he lavishly enjoyed, had only served to to say; that men as a whole in order to have a life of genuine cause for respect must resort to restraint in the matter of self-discipline.
Look! As a man , I know how hard it is to be sexually conservative! But it is also true, that if you want it badly enough you can do it. Why? Because it's psychologically possible,and once you have cross the line of temptation you're home free. Of course, that doesn't mean you'd never be tempted again, but you now have a perspective to hold you.
Once we've overcome that problem, we have saved ourselves and the loving families we have created.
Oh! That Girl Millenia Black (Author) has done a masterfull job on this multi-character Novel, quite a sensational rendition. And readers lets' watch out for this writer,it's just a debutante Novel, she is fledging and coming on syrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Good Editor Would Have Saved The Reader A Lot Of Time, July 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Pretender (Paperback)
If you've never watched Melrose Place or read a soap-y novel, then you might find this book entertaining; otherwise, you've seen it done far better before. The first time you encounter such a story, you watch/read in morbid fascination. Afterward, you feel dirtied by the experience and recognize future examples of it as a predominantly undignified, ignorant mess.
Millenia Black's treatment of the story is not at all unique. It's pedestrian, predictable, full of cliches, overdramatized, and complete with many gratuitous sex scenes (and those aren't even well written -- only the participants names are interchanged, along with a slight variation in the terms used for basic body parts).
One of the saddest things about the book, though, is that there isn't a single character the reader can view as heroic or with empathy, with the possible exception of the six-year-old illegitimate daughter of the main character -- and she is consistently and awkwardly referred to as "the baby," which is not the vantage point of an intelligent adult reader. Everyone else in the book comes across as narcissistic, immoral, motivated by the basest of instincts, lacking in education and intelligence, and completely deserving of what happens to them during the course of the book.
Unfortunately, the author fares only as well as her characters. Her book contains numerous and obvious grammatical errors ("I know a few realtor's" ... "Him making every effort to ... "), sudden one-time uses of words that don't fit with the informal tone of the rest of the book ("apperceive" -- which wasn't even used correctly!), descriptions that are repeated so often they become meaningless (everyone's hand is at some point described as "well-manicured"), and jarring inconsistencies (How does a dress that is so tight that it is described "like a second skin" also appear "as if a light breeze would leave [it's wearer] quite exposed"? Why is a character referred to by another character during the same conversation first as Mrs. Roman and then as Ms. Roman?)....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did we read the same book?, June 26 2003
This review is from: The Great Pretender (Paperback)
I got this book after reading all the glowing reviews. This isn't even a good beach read. It's poorly written from top to bottom with one-dimentional characters and plot twists seen from a mile away. Ick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written plot, July 14 2004
By 
Jill (Charleston, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Great Pretender (Paperback)
The plot to this story was very interesting to read. As to the ending it was totally unpredictable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Beach Read, June 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Pretender (Paperback)
Sex, lies, deception. More sex. More deception. This book has all the makings of a great summer beach read. Several of the plot twists left me completely shocked -- I had a hard time putting it down. A dark and compelling story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It felt like a movie!, May 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Pretender (Paperback)
The Great Pretender is well-written, and brilliantly executed. It's like a movie full of drama and edge-of-your seat wonderment.
The main character, Reginald, is not a exactly the man he thinks he is with everything going his way. He is a man with a conscience that shows itself at a time when his family needed him. He makes a grave error but believes it is the right choice to tell Renee part truth and part lie about himself. Renee's instincts are pretty keen and she is eager to marry, as if she foresaw that things were about to fall apart fast. Tracy is led down a path of betrayl and self-realization herself. Being left alone for so many years created a void she filled with something that could only cause more pain in the situation. She comes around and finds out the truth about her feelings and the man she thought she wanted. Finally, a lesson is learned by all...after a high price is paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Pretender
The Great Pretender by Millenia Black (Paperback - July 22 2010)
CDN$ 17.17 CDN$ 17.04
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews