Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest legal thrillers out there
When I learned that Michael Connelly had determined to pen a legal thriller, I was more than a little worried. Here was the author who had brought us Harry Bosch novels like The Closers, now stepping onto ground trodden nearly lifeless by the likes of Grisham and Martini.
To my delight, The Lincoln Lawyer turned out to be an excellent, gritty and powerful novel...
Published on Oct. 3 2005 by Jonathan R. Packham, MA, PhD

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not convinced
I agree with other reviewers that say "The Lincoln Lawyer" is a page turner. I have never read anything else by Michael Connelly so I cannot compare it with his other novels. There is constant "action", and that is what I object to. There are too many "goings on" to be believable in my view. (I normally read non fiction.) There are enough twists and turns for more...
Published on April 18 2011 by mocha


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest legal thrillers out there, Oct. 3 2005
When I learned that Michael Connelly had determined to pen a legal thriller, I was more than a little worried. Here was the author who had brought us Harry Bosch novels like The Closers, now stepping onto ground trodden nearly lifeless by the likes of Grisham and Martini.
To my delight, The Lincoln Lawyer turned out to be an excellent, gritty and powerful novel. Twice divorced and haunted by ghosts of lost cases past, cynical and ethically indistinct criminal lawyer Mickey Haller is a fine invention, at once fascinating, witty and sympathetic. I rather hope this unique character becomes Connelly's next Harry Bosch. (Promisingly, Haller is Bosch's half brother.)
The writing here is equal to or perhaps even better than Connelly's previous works, at times lyrical and nearly poetic, yet never encumbering superb storytelling. Mickey Haller's behind-the-scenes manipulations add sparkle to the courtroom drama, and a highly inventive twist is The Lincoln Lawyer's piece de resistance.
If you enjoy the richly researched detail and beautiful prose spun around the fabulous pageturner that is The Lincoln Lawyer, I also highly recommend Connelly's The Closers and The Poet as well as Mute by Canadian newcomer Brad Steel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Connelly is The master!, Oct. 8 2005
By 
Kate Willard "Realtor" (California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have loved the Harry Bosch books over the years. This time Connelly takes a break from the Bosche character, but comes up with another classic anti hero in attorney Micky Haller. "The Lincoln Lawyer" is about the eccentric Haller, who operates in the seedy underbelly of Los Angeles, and instead of an office he does business out of his Lincoln Town car. Mickey does not follow accepted legal ethics operating on the outskirts of the law, which puts him at odds with the establishment. Micky's courtroom scenes are when the fireworks really fly! And his behind the scenes manipulations make for a great page turner. Connelly has a gift for developing characters which make his books more interesting to read then the typical thriller. If you like the Harry Bosche books then should like "the Lincoln Lawyer!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is, quite possibly, Connelly's best yet., Feb. 27 2006
By A Customer
In the first-ever legal thriller by crime novelist Michael Connelly. Ethically ambiguous defense attorney Mickey Haller's search for innocence in a high-profile case involving a young Beverly Hills playboy leads him to the ultimate evil...
A veteran defense attorney, Haller is understandably cynical about the system. ("The law was a large, rusting machine that sucked up people and lives and money. I was just a mechanic. I had become an expert at going into the machine and fixing things and extracting what I needed from it in return.") When a "franchise" case falls into his lap, one that could give him his biggest payoff ever, Haller jumps at the chance to defend a rich realtor accused of brutally beating and attempting to rape a wannabe actress with a shady background. The baby-faced realtor is vehement about his innocence, and as Haller begins to build his case, he's confident of victory -- that is, until he inadvertently discovers something that will not only overturn an old murder case but also put him and his crew in mortal peril…
Fans of Connelly's previous Harry Bosch novels will find The Lincoln Lawyer even more compelling -- since Haller happens to be Bosch's half brother and, according to sources, there is a sequel in the works that includes the maverick former LAPD detective! Like its luxury-auto namesake, The Lincoln Lawyer is a sumptuous thriller that excels in every measurable category: plot complexity, character development, pacing, intensity, etc. It is, quite possibly, Connelly's best yet.
I also recommend 'The Quest' by George Kostantinos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A page turner, June 9 2011
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first crime book I've ever read. It really pulled me in. I wanted to know what was going to happen to Roulet (the man convicted of brutally raping and assaulting a women.) I found myself reading chapter after chapter. It was interesting to get into the mind of a defense lawyer. I also felt like I could never be that person. The person to defend a killer. However Mickey Haller ( the main character, who you fall in love with based on his cool, and confident personalty) makes a good point saying everyone deserves to testify against the crime they are committed of. A defense lawyer just provides the evidence to do so. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because I felt like it lacked a little something. It was almost there but not quite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not convinced, April 18 2011
By 
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Mass Market Paperback)
I agree with other reviewers that say "The Lincoln Lawyer" is a page turner. I have never read anything else by Michael Connelly so I cannot compare it with his other novels. There is constant "action", and that is what I object to. There are too many "goings on" to be believable in my view. (I normally read non fiction.) There are enough twists and turns for more than one novel. Other reviewers have outlined the story so I will refrain from doing so. This is one instance in which I think the movie will be better than the book. The movie can eliminate the "clutter", and focus on developing those things that the Director deems most important to the storyline, making for a more realistic experience. Sometimes less is more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Likeable Lawyer ?, Jan. 24 2007
First published in late 2005, "The Lincoln Lawyer" in Michael Connelly's 16th novel. Although, like the majority of Connelly's other books, it is set in LA it is only his fifth not to feature Harry Bosch. Instead, it introduces Mickey Haller, a Lincoln-driving defense attorney.

Haller has two ex-wives, both of whom appear in the book. The first, Maggie McPherson, is the mother of Mickey's daughter and a prosecution lawyer. Not only did this keep their marriage lively, but it also contributed to her nickname - Maggie McFierce. His second, Lorna Taylor, plays a smaller role - she continues to work as his case manager and bookkeeper. Haller doesn't have any false illusions about the legal system or his role in it - in the early part of the book, there was very little I found admirable about him. He acknowledges the law isn't about truth, but rather about negotiation and manipulation. He realizes how unpopular the legal profession is, but chooses to see himself as a 'greasy angel'. More hinestly, he generally doesn't care about who committed the crime - so long as he can either get his client off or cut, what he feels, is the best deal possible. The events of this book do have an impact on his thinking though...

Louis Ross Roulet appears to be exactly what Haller has been dreaming about - his first franchise client in a very long time. (A franchise client is one who wants to go to trial and can afford to pay the lawyer's top-of-the-line fees). Tipped off about Roulet by Fernando Valenzuela, a bail bondsman on Van Nuys Boulevard, Haller's new client has been charged with assaulting Regina Campo at her apartment. It's a charge he vigorously denies : he makes no secret of meeting her at a bar and arranging to meet her later at her apartment. However, he claims to have been stitched up, the victim of someone hoping to make a small fortune from a subsequent civil case. The more and more Haller and his investigator Raul Levin look into the case, however, the more and more dangerous it appears. It also makes Haller increasingly uncomfortable on a personal level. Two years previously, he'd represented Jesus Menendez on a similar charge - in that case, though, the victim had also been murdered. Menendez had always insisted he was innocent, but Haller barely even cared. Haller cut his client the best deal he thought possible - no death penalty and the chance of parole - but that involved Menendez taking a guilty plea. The Roulet case has now raised some doubts and woken Haller's long slumbering conscience.

This is a very enjoyable book, and - after Harry Bosch - features Connelly's strongest 'hero'. There's also a nice twist that'll please Connelly's fans. Haller was only five years old when his father died, and although he doesn't know much about the man, there appear to be some similarities between them. Mickey's father, J. Michael Haller, was a very famous defense attorney. The bar also requires all lawyers to carry out some pro-bono work. One of our hero's pro-bono clients is Gloria Dayton, a high-priced prostitute. Mickey also discovered, browsing through the account books of his father's old law practice, that Mickey Senior also had something of a "soft spot" for LA's prostitutes - he, too, had defended many and charged few. This "soft spot" also means that Mickey Junior has a half-brother he doesn't know about. (His mysterious half-brother, by the way, is called Harry Bosch). Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A clever theme, and a great piece of writing., April 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When reading this terrific book, The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly, I felt like I was right there - in on the action and enjoying it all the way. Connelly has a wonderful facility for creating real characters that take on life and make unexpected moves. It was a lot of fun and I strongly recommend you don't miss out on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that is very hard to close!, Oct. 29 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Paperback)
I opened the first page and became slothful. I spent two days with the Lincoln Lawyer. What a wonderful read. Twists and turns. Really well written! ...and I am so thrilled to know that the authour is continuing with more books using this set of characters! Michael Connelly has gone in a new direction and it works!!! Just loved the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great thriller, June 12 2012
Mickey Haller is a sleaze-bag lawyer or is he?. Haller represents clients like prostitutes, drug dealers and motorcycle thugs. He won't proceed with a case unless he knows he will be paid. When Louis Roulet is charged with the brutal beating and rape of a woman, Haller finally has his 'franchise' case. A case where he will make a ton of money. Roulet comes from a wealthy Beverly Hills family and his mother will do anything to keep him out of jail.

Haller has 2 ex-wives and a little girl and they all love him as the reader slowly does by the end of the book. Haller is brilliant as he unravels this case. And the ending is exactly why they made this book into a movie.

I have read many of the Harry Bosch books and loved the character but I think I like Haller even better. Haller does not care one whit about rules and breaks them willy nilly. But he still cares for right vs wrong and is willing to make things right. This book also helped me to understand the role of the defense attorney in court proceedings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good character, June 16 2011
By 
Burlington Dude (Burlington, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lincoln Lawyer (Mass Market Paperback)
Connelly created a very good and interesting character, Michael Haller the LA County based criminal attorney who advertises his services to blacks and hispanics on bus stop benches in the most crime infested neighbourhoods.

The story is neither original nor particularly good, but Mickey Haller is interesting character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lincoln Lawyer
The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 1 2011)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews