Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read
Meltzer makes the 2 brothers likeable from the start and draws you into their perils right away. I would highly recommend this book. I listened to it on unabridged audio.
Published on Aug. 23 2003 by L. Rea

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A promise that soured
The first chapters were very promising. The author managed to give me a wonderful flavour of the two main characters, but alas...
The pace is frenetic but past page 200 the wonderful characters start becoming flat, a run and chase thriller that I could not seem to embrace.
I became more and more disinterested in the plight of the brothers. Two supposedly...
Published on Sept. 18 2004 by Looks4Books


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars A promise that soured, Sept. 18 2004
By 
Looks4Books (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
The first chapters were very promising. The author managed to give me a wonderful flavour of the two main characters, but alas...
The pace is frenetic but past page 200 the wonderful characters start becoming flat, a run and chase thriller that I could not seem to embrace.
I became more and more disinterested in the plight of the brothers. Two supposedly brilliant minds who quite never caught up to the vast "conspiracy" surrounding them, even when it was as clear as glass just wiped with Windex.
I can't quite come up with a solid reason why this story didn't draw me in... for that I'll give it 3 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Millionaires was not up to par, June 14 2004
By 
Amazon Customer "khc20" (Anthem, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
I have read Meltzer's The First Counsel and found it a fast paced enjoyable read. The Millionaires, while an easy read, just did not grab me. I found the interplay between the brothers Oliver and Charlie, somewhat sophmoric. While I don't recall getting their ages, this read more like a Hardy Boys novel than a taut thriller. Many of the sub plots defied credibility. How these two 'boys' go up against two secret service men just doesn't cut it - neither is close to a Jason Bourne type.
Just did not seem near the level of Greg Iles, or even Stehpen Coonts (whose books I was reading concurrently).
I may try another Meltzer novel just to see if this was an anomaly or more typical of his fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Same, June 3 2004
By 
J. Esbech - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The dialogue and the plot is not much different from "The Tenth Justice", so if you like that it is fine. Otherwise I found it to be without much new thinking and creativity.
If you have the choice, read something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, nothing earth-shattering, April 17 2004
By 
J. Kastanias (West Palm Beach, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a financial thriller, this is an okay book, but nothing outstanding. I mostly enjoyed reading it because it moved fairly quickly.
The positives: Quick and painless; Different subject; Exploration of the "gray" areas of crime (when you think no one can get hurt, does that make it right?).
The negatives: Dialogue is a bit too cliche at times; Meltzer still has some work to do to perfect his craft as a writer; Unbelievable plot (but that's okay for a quick and painless read); Flat characterization (the villains) or over characterization (the main characters) a bit annoying at times.
Overall, neither bad nor good. Just okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 Stars a decent read, March 29 2004
This was my fisrt Metzger book and it was an enjoyable read. The book grabs you from the get go but tends to drag towards the end. I found myself wondering when is this book going to end. The story was good and I enjoyed oliver and Charlie very much, brothers always come first. I found the Duckworth secret a bit confusing but it all worked out in the end. This book could of been a little shorter but I enjoyed it none the less. The Secret Service tie in and Joey make this book very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No Millionaires today, March 17 2004
By 
William J. Tennison (Charlotte, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Millionaires (Hardcover)
This is my first Metzer novel. I listened to the unabridged version. The narrator was great.
The first section of the book caught my attention. The initial setup and reasoning was first rate.
The first serious flaw came when the brothers instead of getting out of the country and enjoy the immense wealth are determined to find out more about the account they stole from. WHY!!!!
The book became very bogged down about a third of the way through it. The storyline became totally unbelievable.
The Secret Service is made to look like rank amateurs. The love interest in the story was telegraphed so far in advance a first grader could figure out that she was part of the initial group stealing the money.
Two timid brothers have as much chance of pulling off this caper as someone winning the lottery on the first ticket purchased.
Metzer continues the hyper writing to the end. In the process, he rips off at least three movies that had Disney as the scene of the climax.
The ending of the story is very unsatisfactory. Don't waste your time with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A TELLING SPIN ON BOARDROOM CRIME, March 8 2004
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
"The Millionaires," Meltzer's fourth thriller takes us into the rarefied world of million dollar banking, cyber pyrotechnics, and then to of all places Disney World. It's a fast paced romp that will please this imaginative writer's fans.
Oliver Caruso is in the employ of one of Manhattan's most upscale banks, Greene & Greene. The institution is so select that two million is needed just to achieve the status of client. Oliver's been toiling for Henry Lapidus, an exec at this financial palace. Regrettably, Lapidus doesn't appreciate Oliver's ministrations and is attempting to scuttle his minion's career plans. What's the poor guy to do? He enlists the aid of his younger brother, Charlie, who has problems staying gainfully employed. The pair decide to take three million dollars sitting in an abandoned account. They'll soon be living the life of Riley - if Riley had a seven figure deposit in an offshore bank, that is.
What a piece of a cake - with a very rich icing. They've found the perfect crime. Problem is, make that plural, problems are that somehow the original three million has undergone a cyberspace evolution and become $300 million. Not only that but some others at Greene & Greene had their own plans for the funds in this abandoned account, and someone is found dead.
Now the bros are really in hot water. The local authorities are after them as is the Secret Service. However, they do manage to get to Florida, attempting to follow the money to the daughter of the account's late owner. Said owner was a techno wiz for Disney, a mind boggling inventor. As amazing as the wiz's invention is, it's really nothing compared to what Oliver and Charlie eventually discover in this page-turner of a tale.
Those with an interest in high and low finance will find enjoyment aplenty in "The Millionaires." Meltzer fans will revel in their author's latest spin on boardroom crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Storyline with Weak Characters and Confusion, Feb. 29 2004
By A Customer
Unlike Meltzer's other books, The Millionaires is choppy reading. The story line is basically good - young up and comer at a private bank rationalizes stealing a million and gets sucked into a far greater theft by others in the firm. It reads like a first draft and borders on sloppy. The characters are not well drawn. An ok beach book but it wouldn't be at the top of my list. Disappointing compared to Meltzer's other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, but not perfect, Feb. 26 2004
By A Customer
Meltzer delivers a solid thriller. The last half of the book was very entertaining and kept you turning the pages. I recommend reading it yourself! The only knock I have against the book is all the non-verbal communication between the brothers. Sure you sometimes know what someone is thinking, but the Caruso brothers communicate without words far too often (like a pair of friggin' aliens). I highly recommend The Partner by John Grisham. Stephen Frey delivers more action in The Vulture Fund and The Inner Sanctum. My favorite author, however, remains Jeffrey Deaver...author of The Bone Collector, The Coffin Dancer, and The Devil's Teardrop...all great reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Admirably entertaining, Feb. 26 2004
By 
Larry (Tampa, Florida) - See all my reviews
Two brother, Oliver and Charlie Caruso attempt to pull off the perfect crime-- transfer funds in the private bank in which they are employed from an account of a dead man to an account they create that can't be traced. It may be a very cool three million dollars. However, after the transfer, they realize they are playing a game much larger than they originally thought including the amount they stand to gain if they could pull it off. However, fast on their heels are two violent secret service agents and a relentless female PI.
Brad Meltzer, after only a few novels, has already established himself as one of the best thriller novelists currently working. A characteristic of his work is the very long length of the narratives. It is almost as if he has to stretch the tale out as long as possible to bulk up the size of the book and the resultant sales. Characters are quite sympathetic yet surprisingly comic considering the far-reaching implications their actions have on their life and potential loss of freedom. There is little doubt that this novel's main purpose is to entertain and on that level it succeeds admirably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xfa760cc)

This product

The Millionaires
The Millionaires by Brad Meltzer (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 1 2011)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews