Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!
The book the Millionaires by Brad Meltzer was an incredible book. The characterization was unbelievable, by the end of the book you felt like you were best friends with the main characters. I am not a huge fan of reading, but this book was my best experience with reading yet. I was so involved with the plot and emotionally attached to the characters that I seriously...
Published on May 21 2003 by Logan Galloway

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Money!
This book is an excellent thriller that has you wondering what will happen next. Charlie and Oliver Caruso both work for an exclusive bank dealing with some of the world's richest clients. After giving four years of his life to the bank Oliver realises that he is being screwed. The brothers discover that someone has supplied a bogus identity for a dead man who has...
Published on Feb. 11 2004 by James N Simpson


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars No Millionaires today, March 17 2004
By 
William J. Tennison (Charlotte, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Millionaires (Hardcover)
This is my first Metzer novel. I listened to the unabridged version. The narrator was great.
The first section of the book caught my attention. The initial setup and reasoning was first rate.
The first serious flaw came when the brothers instead of getting out of the country and enjoy the immense wealth are determined to find out more about the account they stole from. WHY!!!!
The book became very bogged down about a third of the way through it. The storyline became totally unbelievable.
The Secret Service is made to look like rank amateurs. The love interest in the story was telegraphed so far in advance a first grader could figure out that she was part of the initial group stealing the money.
Two timid brothers have as much chance of pulling off this caper as someone winning the lottery on the first ticket purchased.
Metzer continues the hyper writing to the end. In the process, he rips off at least three movies that had Disney as the scene of the climax.
The ending of the story is very unsatisfactory. Don't waste your time with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A TELLING SPIN ON BOARDROOM CRIME, March 8 2004
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
"The Millionaires," Meltzer's fourth thriller takes us into the rarefied world of million dollar banking, cyber pyrotechnics, and then to of all places Disney World. It's a fast paced romp that will please this imaginative writer's fans.
Oliver Caruso is in the employ of one of Manhattan's most upscale banks, Greene & Greene. The institution is so select that two million is needed just to achieve the status of client. Oliver's been toiling for Henry Lapidus, an exec at this financial palace. Regrettably, Lapidus doesn't appreciate Oliver's ministrations and is attempting to scuttle his minion's career plans. What's the poor guy to do? He enlists the aid of his younger brother, Charlie, who has problems staying gainfully employed. The pair decide to take three million dollars sitting in an abandoned account. They'll soon be living the life of Riley - if Riley had a seven figure deposit in an offshore bank, that is.
What a piece of a cake - with a very rich icing. They've found the perfect crime. Problem is, make that plural, problems are that somehow the original three million has undergone a cyberspace evolution and become $300 million. Not only that but some others at Greene & Greene had their own plans for the funds in this abandoned account, and someone is found dead.
Now the bros are really in hot water. The local authorities are after them as is the Secret Service. However, they do manage to get to Florida, attempting to follow the money to the daughter of the account's late owner. Said owner was a techno wiz for Disney, a mind boggling inventor. As amazing as the wiz's invention is, it's really nothing compared to what Oliver and Charlie eventually discover in this page-turner of a tale.
Those with an interest in high and low finance will find enjoyment aplenty in "The Millionaires." Meltzer fans will revel in their author's latest spin on boardroom crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Admirably entertaining, Feb. 25 2004
By 
Larry (Tampa, Florida) - See all my reviews
Two brother, Oliver and Charlie Caruso attempt to pull off the perfect crime-- transfer funds in the private bank in which they are employed from an account of a dead man to an account they create that can't be traced. It may be a very cool three million dollars. However, after the transfer, they realize they are playing a game much larger than they originally thought including the amount they stand to gain if they could pull it off. However, fast on their heels are two violent secret service agents and a relentless female PI.
Brad Meltzer, after only a few novels, has already established himself as one of the best thriller novelists currently working. A characteristic of his work is the very long length of the narratives. It is almost as if he has to stretch the tale out as long as possible to bulk up the size of the book and the resultant sales. Characters are quite sympathetic yet surprisingly comic considering the far-reaching implications their actions have on their life and potential loss of freedom. There is little doubt that this novel's main purpose is to entertain and on that level it succeeds admirably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Money!, Feb. 11 2004
By 
James N Simpson (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
This book is an excellent thriller that has you wondering what will happen next. Charlie and Oliver Caruso both work for an exclusive bank dealing with some of the world's richest clients. After giving four years of his life to the bank Oliver realises that he is being screwed. The brothers discover that someone has supplied a bogus identity for a dead man who has three million in his account and decide if someone is going to steal the money it might as well be them. Caught by the banks security guard they are forced to cut him in on the deal but shortly after the crime is even more of a success then they could have hoped, the Secret Service murders him in front of their eyes. They are lucky to escape themselves but now are on the run.
They cannot surrender to the cops as they will be handed over to the secret service who will no doubt kill them as they want the money for themselves. An excellent financial thriller. Ending isn't up to the standard of the rest of the book but still a good read. The best financial thriller in the literary world is The Money Makers by Harry Bingham. Check it out too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars deeply flawed and fast read, Jan. 21 2004
By 
Jim (NY, United States) - See all my reviews
This book starts out strong and engaging with a fast moving storyline but it quickly turns into a contrived work. The story centers around two brothers Charlie and Oliver who work at an upscale bank and decide to steel money from an abandoned account with the help of their friend Shep who is head of security. One problem, the government was monitoring the account. The G-men quickly unravel the crime and in the process kill Shep (they want the money too of course) So the two brothers run and carnage ensues.
The novel is a fast read despite its length but after the first hundred pages I felt as if I was reading the script to a TV movie of the week. The chapters are short and utilize these ridiculous cliffhanger endings. As the story develops the plot become increasingly silly (spoilers ahead skip to the last paragraph if you don't want to know how it end) involving a secret worm imbedded in Disney's website and the book climaxes at the Magic Kingdom. Of course what would the narrative be with out a love story, so one is thrown in. As implausible as it is Oliver manages to fall in love while he is running for his life. Finally the "twist" ending was especially corny as the two Brothers discover that their friend Shep is alive and Oliver's love interest is actually Shep's wife. Even more outlandish is the revelation that Shep and his wife are in on the plot to steel the money with the corrupt feds.
I picked up this book because I saw Meltzer on CNN with Lou Dobbs and I thought I was in for a first right financial thriller, I was sorely disappointed. I recommend any of John Grisham's earlier books (The Firm, The Pelican brief, The Client) instead of this one. Those novels were great stories that really kept you on the edge of your seat and felt plausible, this book was just one cheap thrill. Literary candy that makes you feel guilty for having consumed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Meltzer delivers another solid thriller / mystery., Jan. 17 2004
By 
Jonathan Burgoine "bookseller" (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Millionaires (Audio Cassette)
I first bumped into this author by listening to an abridged version of 'First Counsel,' which I think, to date, has been one of the best audiobook thriller experiences I've had.

This one comes a very close second, and only does so because I guessed a small part of the plot when the author dropped a clue - and I suppose even so, just because I was paying a lot of attention at that point, I noted it - so I'd figured out the mystery a bit. Not where it ultimately went, but a part of it.

Here's the basic plot set-up: Oliver works at a private bank, a big one, where the clients all need millions just to set up an account. His family is deep into health-related hospital bills, and he needs cash in a big way. When he and his brother realize that someone is about to rip off the bank in a big way, the temptation takes seed...

See, in the U.S., after five years, an unattended account is transferred to the bank. It's been five years, and no next-of-kin has been found for a fellow with three million in his account, and it's about to go to the government. Then, at the last minute, someone steps in and sends a fax saying, "Hey, I'm kin." So Oliver is about to make the transfer when his brother notices the fax number is for the Kinko's next door. Sure enough, they're being bilked...

...so why not take the money themselves? No one is getting hurt, right - the fella is dead, no next-of-kin ever turned up except for the fake one. There's no way to get caught. What could it hurt?

And from there, the double-crosses, betrayals, and confusion escalates, and before long, they're not looking for those millions, they're looking for a way out alive.

Tension jacks up at a nice pace, each tape seems carefully crafted to end you on a high note (a nice touch, and makes you flip over the tape in a manic way). Very recommended.

'Nathan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too many perspectives, too far-fetched, Nov. 11 2003
The story was told from 3 separate perspectives, making it very choppy and interrupted. The writing was at a very basic level.
Also, the book had chapters about 3 pages long - 89 chapters in this puppy! Why? So the author could add in a ton of unnecessary, silly "Goosebumps-ish" (R.L. Stine) chapter endings... "He saw the gun lift up towards his brother Charlie. "No!" Oliver shouted just as he heard the gun go off."
Cut.
Next chapter.
Puh lease. Of COURSE Charlie wasn't shot, this book has a happily ever after storybook ending. The story-line was also a bit unbelievable. As for the secret "invention," finding it on the disney web site in the manner they did, and the entire Secret Service involvement were all factors too extraordinary and improbable to be believed.
Unfortunately, this is the first book I've read by Meltzer, and I won't pick up another of his without a glowing recommendation from a reader whose tastes I share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Original and Fun, Oct. 22 2003
Having replaced Grisham with Meltzer as my favourite legal thriller writer after reading the Tenth Justice, I picked up The Millionaires the week it came out in Mass Market paperback, but haven't gotten around to reviewing it til now.
Brothers working at a snooty private investment bank fall into money when a deceased client's funds go through the system.
Honestly if you want more plot summary read the other reviews, or better yet read this gem of a book.
Meltzer's main talent in his prose is the fast paced plots true, yet he enhances this with gifting his main characters' with sardonic wit. This novel is no exception as the dark humour flows freely making it an even more enjoyable read as the novel becomes a game of cat and mouse as whose got da money????
Meltzer's writing hasn't waned and I enjoyed this almost as much as The First Counsel (personally I think that was his best offering). My one critique is some of the minor characters seemed a bit less three dimensional than in his other novels. His characterization is one of his main strengths and appeals for me so I feel this was a little flawed otherwise it would get five stars. However having said that if Amazon peruser's are looking for a fast fun read, better written than your average thriller as I said read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great start goes off the tracks. Derailed by cliches, July 17 2003
By 
David Hood (Wesley Chapel, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Millionaires (Hardcover)
This is fast paced, and easy to read. The story starts sharply and moves, keeping the pages turning as we follow the brothers in their perfect crime. However just as the perfect crime goes sour for them, so does the plot.
Once we get into the meat of the book, too many characters cause problems and the extra characters are predictable stock characters right out of central casting. We have a mixed ending. I give credit to the author for not making a happy ending, but it is also a bit maudlin and jarring in comparison to the rest of the book.
The positives are that it can be read quickly, it is fast-paced and readable and the beginning is dynamite. Soon though you'll get tired of the morass of the chase with the very bad evil secret service agents and the feisty private eye you know is going to side with the brothers. At this point only the fact it is very easy to read will keep you going as frankly the book goes on too long and the secret they find really doesn't make a heck of a lot of sense.
This was my first Meltzer book, I am unsure if I will pick up another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, May 21 2003
By 
Logan Galloway (Des Moines, IA USA) - See all my reviews
The book the Millionaires by Brad Meltzer was an incredible book. The characterization was unbelievable, by the end of the book you felt like you were best friends with the main characters. I am not a huge fan of reading, but this book was my best experience with reading yet. I was so involved with the plot and emotionally attached to the characters that I seriously could not put the book down. Brad Meltzer has a great flow when he writes, it was such an easy read but the plot was so deep that it did not seem like it at all. It was a great book with twists and turns; it really played with your emotions. You cared about the characters so much that you actually wanted to be in the book to help them out. It has a great ending that ties up everything so there are no cliffhangers leaving you wanting to know more. I would highly recommend this book to anybody wanting a good read. I would not suggest children or older folks read it, it seems rather involved for people who are not up to date with technology. The whole book is a manhunt and the technology they use would probably be to advanced for kids and too complex for the elderly. I cannot even say enough good things about the book; you are just going to have to read. I give this book an easy five out of five; it is unreal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Millionaires
The Millionaires by Brad Meltzer (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 1 2011)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews