Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling Portrait of a World without Conscience--A Remarkable Book
"I have hope in God, which they themselves also accept, that there will be a resurrection of the dead, both of the just and the unjust. This being so, I myself always strive to have a conscience without offense toward God and men." -- Acts 24:15-16 (NKJV)

What if no one followed their consciences? That's the troubling portrait that Michael Connelly brilliantly...
Published on April 16 2011 by Donald Mitchell

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Price, not content
I thoroughly agree with the previous reviews about how Canadians are being overcharged for books when the Loonie is now ABOVE the U.S. dollar. I also like Connelly's books, but I'm not buying this one because of the publisher's rip-off.
Published on April 16 2011 by CGP


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling Portrait of a World without Conscience--A Remarkable Book, April 16 2011
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fifth Witness (Hardcover)
"I have hope in God, which they themselves also accept, that there will be a resurrection of the dead, both of the just and the unjust. This being so, I myself always strive to have a conscience without offense toward God and men." -- Acts 24:15-16 (NKJV)

What if no one followed their consciences? That's the troubling portrait that Michael Connelly brilliantly displays in this courtroom drama featuring Mickey Haller, the Lincoln Lawyer. We are used to a world in which lawyers know no limits in their lust for winning. What if everyone was like that? And how would it feel to be someone like that?

Those are just some of the many interesting themes and questions that The Fifth Witness exposes.

As the book opens, Mickey Haller has fallen on hard times, scrounging foreclosure defense cases from people who can't make their mortgage payments. He's not scamming the clients . . . because there are irregularities in the paperwork associated with the foreclosures. At best, his clients will stay in their homes a little longer as owners, before being ousted or having to becoming a renter of their former property. The arrest of one of his most outspoken clients, anti-foreclosure activist Lisa Trammel, brings Mickey back to doing what he does best -- criminal defense.

Most of the book is taken up with Mickey's investigation, preparation for trial, conducting the trial, and dealing with the aftermath. If you don't like legal strategies and ups and downs, this may get a little tedious for you. As an attorney, I was impressed by how simply and how well the logic behind the legal moves is explained. In the background, Mickey is a lonely man . . . wishing he could remarry his prosecutor ex-wife, Maggie McPherson ("Maggie McFierce"), and become a full-time dad again for his teenage daughter, Hayley.

While the case proceeds, Mr. Connelly also builds up an impressive indictment of banks, mortgage processors, police, prosecutors, defense lawyers, preening judges, Hollywood deal makers, unscrupulous businesspeople, and those who look out for number one in all circumstances. Some of the characters even start to dislike themselves.

The book is very well written, spare in ways that keep the story moving . . . but with lots of unexpected plot twists to make things interesting at just the right times. I particularly liked the stream-of-consciousness parts of Mickey Haller's narration.

To me, The Fifth Witness is a breakthrough book for the Lincoln Lawyer series and for Michael Connelly. I'm looking forward to future books in this series!

Bravo, Mr. Connelly.

As some people have noted, once again a major publisher has charged too much for Canadian buyers. If you feel strongly about that, borrow a copy of the book at the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vrai suspense depuis le début, March 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Agréable et bonne lecture de vacances
Suspense bien construit.
Fin un peu prévisible
Je l'ai recommandé à des amis et connaissances
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read by Michael Connelly, June 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent read with sharp twists and turns as well as court room and back room drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, June 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It met all my expectations from this author. I wasn't sure at the very beginning but it didn't take long to grab me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full of suspense, June 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This novel was very enjoyable and very worth reading and I love this author so far. I have not read one of his books that I didn't enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT LEGAL DRAMA, June 3 2014
By 
Moolatte (Westmount, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Witness (Paperback)
I LOVED THE LINCOLN LAWYER. THAT WAS THE FIRST MICKEY HALLER BOOK I READ AND LOVED IT. THIS ONE IS ON PAR WITH IT, AND THE ENDING IS A REAL SHOCKER . I HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't ask client if they did it, March 15 2014
By 
Pol Sixe "hpolvi" (Thornhill, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Mickey Haller struggles with his conscience as he defends a woman accused of murdering a banker. The sub prime mortgage bubble plays a part, and Mickey has a new Associate. Explaining to the novice what's going on is an effective device for exposition. As with other Haller books the story has defined parts, told in almost linear, procedural fashion, the arrest, the pre-trial discovery, then jumps to the trial itself. Haller stretches the rules and ponders his methods. At the end it looks like a change is coming. Enjoyed the book! Also, this was an audio version and once again Peter Giles does a fine job voicing the characters and making it more than a narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Micheal Connelly at ìt's best, June 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Witness (Paperback)
You will not guess the outcome until the end! If you enjoyed the Linccoln lawyer, you will love this book. Can't wait for the next book to come out december 2nd 2013!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, June 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fifth Witness (Paperback)
I have always liked Connelly's books keeps you in suspense for the most part, by almost the end you know who dunit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I feel like I lived the adventures ..., Jan. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mickey Haller is a real guy in my mind ... but his moves are impossible to forecast ... what a great story and the framing is totally unique. I even agree with his taste in offices - a Lincoln is perfect. A terrific book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fifth Witness
The Fifth Witness by Michael Connelly (Paperback - Oct. 4 2011)
CDN$ 15.99 CDN$ 11.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews