Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SANDRA BROWN OUTDOES HERSELF WITH THIS ONE
It began so peacefully. The scene is tranquil, domestic, happy. A young widow, Honor Gillette, is frosting cupcakes under the watchful eyes of her four-year-old daughter, Emily. The words finally penetrate "that innate mom-screen that filtered out unimportant chatter" - Emily is saying there's a sick man in their backyard.

There is, indeed. Honor asks...
Published on Sept. 24 2011 by Gail Cooke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Likely will not read her again....
Beginning of the book was captivating, middle was predictable, can't wait to just finish it and be done with.

Will likely not buy another book by Sandra Brown.
Published 14 months ago by Ms. Jennifer Hayes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SANDRA BROWN OUTDOES HERSELF WITH THIS ONE, Sept. 24 2011
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lethal (Hardcover)
It began so peacefully. The scene is tranquil, domestic, happy. A young widow, Honor Gillette, is frosting cupcakes under the watchful eyes of her four-year-old daughter, Emily. The words finally penetrate "that innate mom-screen that filtered out unimportant chatter" - Emily is saying there's a sick man in their backyard.

There is, indeed. Honor asks Emily to retrieve her phone from the bedroom and goes outside, but as she draws closer the obviously wounded man acts so quickly, so professionally that she doesn't even have time to recoil before he has her neck in a hold and a gun pointed toward her heart.

Life change in a nano second - from baking cupcakes to being held hostage in her own home, forced to save herself and most of all, Emily. The man is Lee Coburn, the prime suspect in the massacre of seven people the previous night. Obviously, he is capable of anything, a soulless creature. He promises Honor he will not harm them if she does exactly as he says. She has no choice - her home is isolated, bordering a Louisiana bayou. Honor has remained there because it is the home she and her late policeman husband, Eddie, had shared.

Coburn begins to systematically dismantle her house, searching for something he claims Eddie has hidden. Despite Honor's denials of knowing what he is talking about he literally reduces the home to a shambles, while hinting that Eddie's death was not an accident, that he was killed for what he knew. Further, he claims that what he is looking for is of such great value that the lives of Honor and Emily are in danger.

In a shocking turn of events Honor comes to believe Coburn is telling the truth and they go on the run in search of the secret Eddie held and the mastermind behind the mass killings, barely staying inches ahead of the law, those who were her trusted friends.

Always an ace at penning romantic suspense Sandra Drown has outdone herself with Lethal. From page 3 it's exciting, tightly plotted reading and ever mounting suspense peopled by finely drawn characters who are not who they appear to be.

This is stay-up-all-night reading!

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best in YEARS, Oct. 15 2011
This review is from: Lethal (Hardcover)
LETHAL is one of Sandra Brown's best books in YEARS. I couldn't put it down!! I have found, in the last 4 or 5 years, that Ms Browns books are basically a cookie cutter copy of the last one with just a few changes made here and there....LETHAL blew me away!!! It had an exciting story, great characters and an excellant and surprising ending. Brings me back to Ms Browns earlier works that caused me to be hooked on her to begin with!!!! More Please!!!!

NicoleMD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kirkey, April 23 2012
This review is from: Lethal (Paperback)
You never seem to disappoint miss brown, I never thought you could do better than "envy" but you have proved me wrong. Please consider writing a third book from the series Sunset Embrase, and Another Dawn, I would love to find out what has happened to Lee Coleman. I also look forward to see more of your books made in to movies. Thank you for the great reads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A twisting, turning plot laden with suspense, June 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lethal (Kindle Edition)
Sandra Brown has written another very entertaining novel with the setting in the coastal region of Louisiana. Questions arise immediately when a 4-year old informs her recently widowed mother that an injured man is lying in their yard. Who is the man, and what is he looking for? Why and who had killed the woman's husband, a policeman. Who is the diabolical criminal manager corrupting the law enforcement agencies and trucking companies in smuggling human cargo and drugs while issuing assassination commands by cell phone. Who can be trusted? These questions are answered at a tumultuous pace right to the end. Be prepared to stay up late to finish reading this suspenseful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HATE the ending, March 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lethal (Kindle Edition)
When I turned the page and Coburn was sitting and waiting. THE END That was the worst ending ever At least let Emily say hello. The rest of the story was compelling and never let me put it down. I just didn't want it to end so abruptly. Sandra Brown can really write these chillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Likely will not read her again...., Aug. 1 2013
By 
Ms. Jennifer Hayes (Ottawa, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lethal (Mass Market Paperback)
Beginning of the book was captivating, middle was predictable, can't wait to just finish it and be done with.

Will likely not buy another book by Sandra Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great Suspense story, July 5 2013
By 
Lyle G. Appleyard "Reading Farmer" (Stonewall, Mb. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lethal (Paperback)
I recieved a copy of this novel through the Goodreads Giveaway promotions.

I am always skeptical when someone says that the book had them at the first line. It ususally takes me a coupl eof chapters to get into the book. This book had me in the first chapter. Not often a book does that.

This was book of action. The story spans a couple of days. A lot happens in those couple of days. Killings, bombings, double crosses and much more. The characters are developed enough to explain their actions and develop some feeling for them, but this is an action driven story. The story keeps us rivited wis each chapter adding to the story and teasing us into wanting to read more of it. This was a sign of an experienced author.

This was not Sandra brown's first novel. She has written several others and it show. She able to keep us interested and tell a very suspenseful story that keeps us guessing until the end. The plot twist caught me by surprise and always steered the story in a new interesting direction. We don't know who we can trust or what some characters might do. That is what keeps the reader guessing.

The author did know how to tease the readers, even at the very end. I found the ending a little sappy, without giving it away. Will they?

I don;t know if future generation will consider this fine literature. I think there could have been more character develpment, but that is what keeps the book light and moving.

I enjoyed the book. For an entaining read, I recommend it. Don't read it before you go to bed, because you will want to keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Liked this, May 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lethal (Paperback)
I haven't read too many of Brown's books but the ones I have read have all been great. Keeps you in suspense & ends not at all like you may think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lethal by Sandra brown., April 20 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lethal (Kindle Edition)
Sandra Brown's books never disappoint . This book was one of her best! The plot is very believable and enjoyable . I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, April 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lethal (Kindle Edition)
This was very suspenseful in the plot line, the characters were brought to life in a believable way and is a good read for anyone who enjoys a story about the hunt for people who are trying to escape a corrupt authority.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lethal
Lethal by Sandra Brown (Paperback - Jan. 24 2012)
CDN$ 15.99 CDN$ 11.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews