Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SPARKS DELIVERS ANOTHER MESSAGE OF LOVE
While reading in a waiting room the other day my concentration was interrupted by a woman who looked at my book and enthused, 'Oh, I just love him!' The 'him' was, of course, Nicholas Sparks, popular author of 16 novels, six of which have been made into motion pictures. My new found friend's enthusiastic tribute to Sparks stopped only when she was called in to the...
Published on Sept. 16 2010 by Gail Cooke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Safe H
The story grabbed my interest at the beginning.

It was not a very original story, somewhat predictable. The writing is not what I would call "literature". This is the second book I read by the author and I will not be looking for another one any time soon.

Reccomend it for a book to take to the beach
Published 17 months ago by katalinilona


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SPARKS DELIVERS ANOTHER MESSAGE OF LOVE, Sept. 16 2010
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Safe Haven (Hardcover)
While reading in a waiting room the other day my concentration was interrupted by a woman who looked at my book and enthused, 'Oh, I just love him!' The 'him' was, of course, Nicholas Sparks, popular author of 16 novels, six of which have been made into motion pictures. My new found friend's enthusiastic tribute to Sparks stopped only when she was called in to the doctor's office. She will be one of many who will stand inline for SAFE HAVEN, such is the appeal of Sparks, and his easy to read messages of love.

With SAFE HAVEN we meet Katie, a beautiful young woman who has sought refuge and anonymity in the small community of Southport, North Carolina. She rents a small cabin and works at Ivan's restaurant. Katie has no car, and walks wherever she goes. She's a bit of a mystery to Alex, a widowed store owner, and Jo who soon moves next door.

Katie is determined to reveal nothing about herself lest she be found by Kevin, her alcoholic husband, who kept her a virtual prisoner in their home and savagely beat her without reason. On their honeymoon she was beaten for leaving her sun glasses by the pool; at home she's been thrown down the cellar stairs, her head knocked against the kitchen table. She endured all forms of physical abuse that left her bruised and sore. Kevin often swore that it would never happen again but it always did. When he finally pulled out his gun, a Glock, and held it to her head she knew she had to somehow escape, run for her life.

Yet despite her resolution to remain private she finds herself drawn to Alex, a kind, good hearted man who his doing his best to be both father and mother to his two children, Kristen and Josh. Katie develops a fondness for them, and they feel the same about her. Over time she is able to relax, to enjoy being with Alex and the children. It isn't long before she must to admit to herself that she's in love with him and dares to think of what being part of a happy family might be like.

Meanwhile, of course, Kevin is searching for her. He's a policeman and a smart one, but not smart enough not to let vodka get the best of him, turning him into a raging psychopath intent upon finding and killing Katie as well as the man he believes has taken her away.

Sparks spares little in describing the dark side of love and, as always, underscoring its redeeming powers.
- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful woman, a handsome man, and a killer, Dec 10 2010
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Safe Haven (Hardcover)
Katie Feldman has moved to a pretty, little Southern town to start a new life. She is attracted to a local shopkeeper but is guarded and nervous and with good reason: She's expecting to be murdered.

This is a rather simple story that is part romance, part thriller, and part fantasy. Sparks is a good writer and the book is a quick read. The first half was a bit too sweet but the last half was so intense and scary my heart was pounding and I couldn't turn the pages fast enough to see what would happen. The fantasy subplot is the weakest, bordering on being corny, and could have been left out in my opinion.

Recommended for those who enjoy an idealized love story about a perfect couple, with the added drama of a crazed mad man on the loose. 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Safe Haven, April 26 2012
By 
Joann Bidgood "Book Worm" (Dartmouth, N.S.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safe Haven (Paperback)
I really liked this book and the story moved along at a nice pace. I became attached to all the main characters and was sad when the story ended. The descriptions of the main characters and the places in the novel makes the reader feel as if they are actually there. I enjoyed it very much and highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safe Haven (Kindle Edition)
This book was great, I loved it. I couldnt put it down. Anything by Nicholas sparks is enjoyable to read. I would recomend this book to anyone who enjoys a love story with a bit of thrill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, Jan. 23 2013
This review is from: Safe Haven (Paperback)
This book was so captivating. Love a good love story where you fall in love with the characters. Definitely enjoyed this book and then movie throughly. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Safe Haven, March 25 2014
By 
Brittany (wainwright, ab, canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safe Haven (Paperback)
The movie is rather different from the book. Those who have read the book will likely not really be all that happy with some of the parts of the movie. I did like the movie even after reading the book. I liked the choice of characters even though a lot was different from the book. Without the book it's a good movie to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, Jan. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safe Haven (Kindle Edition)
Love, romance, suspense, sadness and happiness are all rapped in this novel, We are taken into the lives of real people: their burdens and life threatening situations and then true happiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL BOOK, Jan. 7 2014
This review is from: Safe Haven (Kindle Edition)
This book captures you from the beginning. Strong characters. Strong story line. Great ending. And the movie captures the book very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars another romance by Mr. Sparks, Dec 30 2013
By 
Samreen Ahsan (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Safe Haven (Kindle Edition)
as much as i like watching this movie, the book was worth reading too. after reading about alex, i wondered who could play alex role but after watching the movie, i was like ... my-oh-my :) still, i'm Mr. Sparks books fan more than the movies...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Abuse, Dec 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Safe Haven (Kindle Edition)
I am unable to read stories about abuse. The violence is something I can't read or even watch in a movie. I would not recommend this book for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Safe Haven
Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks (Paperback - Dec 18 2012)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews