Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read. Ready for the next one!
If Lee Mellor had as much fun writing this book as I did reading it I am worried for the both of us. Delving into all aspects of serial murdering from criteria to pathology to politics, this book kept my attention loaded me up with facts bits of information that
fascinated me throughout. What grabbed me the most were facts about the murders that were close to home...
Published on July 23 2012 by Virginia Dipierro

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile but could be better written
This is a badly written book desperately in need of a proof reader. There are numerous spelling errors.

While the author has done considerable research, the presentation of his material could be improved. Birth and death dates of each of his subjects in the heading would tell us the era in which the killer operated, for example. It is necessary to read the full...
Published 1 month ago by Brian Purdy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read. Ready for the next one!, July 23 2012
This review is from: Cold North Killers: Canadian Serial Murder (Paperback)
If Lee Mellor had as much fun writing this book as I did reading it I am worried for the both of us. Delving into all aspects of serial murdering from criteria to pathology to politics, this book kept my attention loaded me up with facts bits of information that
fascinated me throughout. What grabbed me the most were facts about the murders that were close to home and in fairly recent memory. At the time, the information was vague, underplayed and the term 'serial killer' rarely (if every) used. Opened my eyes to the role of both politics and the media when dealing with dangerous serial killers who are sometimes walking around freely while back room transactions and negotiations are taking place. Frightening stuff. I highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys trying to understand the mindset and profile of those who commit multiple murders. The only drawback that I found is that because the book provides so much great reference material, the digital version is less than ideal. In fact, I plan to pick up the hard copy as well. I don't know what's next for Lee Mellor but perhaps a peek into those who commit random acts of open shootings in public places. Since this seems to be on the increase there would be no lack of material to draw on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting look at Canadian cases, July 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This author provides ample details and sources to support his contention that Canadian serial killers are not only active, but (unfortunately) numerous. The book also takes a brief look at the successes and failures of the criminal justice system and thus would be useful to students and professionals alike. For the average reader or true crime reader, this book is both interesting and informative. One curious note, however - the author refers to Dr. Charles Smith as "renowned" whereas a better description might be "disgraced." Residents of Ontario may recall his notoriety after convictions in as many as 13 of 20 cases were questioned by the province in 2007 because the "expert" opinion of the pathologist was more based on assumption than scientific fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Long Last..., April 10 2012
This review is from: Cold North Killers: Canadian Serial Murder (Paperback)
Mellor's "Cold North Killers" is a startling yet revealing analysis of an area that appeared to have escaped Canada... serial killers. However, Mellor's in-depth coverage of 60 cases reveals Canadians are sadly mistaken. Mellor handles the material with integrity and honesty, leaving little to the imagination but plenty to think about. This book can be read cover to cover or picked at case by case. I truly enjoyed learning from his research and research from esteemed criminologists that Mellor references, as well as learning about the triumphs and flaws of the Canadian Judicial System. I eagerly await more of his works. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book!, March 25 2012
This review is from: Cold North Killers: Canadian Serial Murder (Paperback)
Very well written! Its great to have a one stop shop for this lesser known subject in Canada! Nice to see someone has the balls to do so too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile but could be better written, July 28 2014
This review is from: Cold North Killers: Canadian Serial Murder (Paperback)
This is a badly written book desperately in need of a proof reader. There are numerous spelling errors.

While the author has done considerable research, the presentation of his material could be improved. Birth and death dates of each of his subjects in the heading would tell us the era in which the killer operated, for example. It is necessary to read the full section on the subject to figure out when things happened.

The book is educational even if not all that well organized. If you buy it you will learn something about a unique group of Canadian murderers, but I suspect you will conclude that the book could be better done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting, Oct. 14 2013
By 
Lynda Gernon (Pickering, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like this sort of genre so this was a fun read... made camping up north a bit scary too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here Be Monsters, March 29 2012
By 
John Davis "Roots Man" (Montreal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cold North Killers: Canadian Serial Murder (Paperback)
Serial murder in Canada has been an amorphous subject in terms of existing literature, until now focusing largely on the handful of high-profile and sensational cases that have become commonplace household names. The primary thing that Lee Mellor has done in his undertaking of this study is to dispel the notion that these are isolated instances of such barbarity, his work including 60+ murders occurring from the late 19th century to the present.

Mellor's extensive knowledge of the case histories is fortified by his keen understanding of the accepted FBI criminal classifications and the principles of offender profiling as they pertain to these types of serial cases. The sub-categories, (based on this branch of criminology) in which the offenders gruesome deeds are presented serve not only to detail and analyze the murders and their perpetrators, but also to introduce and exemplify the tenets of serial killer profiling and classification as it has come to be today.

In the final chapters, Cold North Killers outlines a number of unsolved murders, as well as instances where law enforcement has 'dropped the ball' in terms of the apprehension and confinement of these killers. Whether it is because of the Canadian propensity to avoid or deny the homegrown instances of such atrocities or simply a case of ignorance, Mellor ultimately draws to light the fundamental need for a persistent recognition of and attention to just what this compendium proves: here be monsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intense Read!, March 21 2012
This review is from: Cold North Killers: Canadian Serial Murder (Paperback)
"Cold North Killers" is a must read for anyone who loves intense, thrilling and detailed peeks into the minds and actions of serial killers. The format of the book is great for people who like to curl up with a book for a while or for those who like to read a bit at a time. Lee Mellor delivers detailed accounts of the heinous crimes with no details spared. Hard to put down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read!, March 6 2012
This review is from: Cold North Killers: Canadian Serial Murder (Paperback)
A very thorough and detailed book, told in way that keeps the reader in suspense. Very well researched and truly unique. I've had a hard time putting this book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, June 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Poorly written .It reads like a dry listing .Did not ho;d my interest.I did not finish reading it.Save your money-don't buy ir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cold North Killers: Canadian Serial Murder
Cold North Killers: Canadian Serial Murder by Lee Mellor (Paperback - March 3 2012)
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 16.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews