summer boutiques-francophones snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars17
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$24.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 17, 2013
This author provides ample details and sources to support his contention that Canadian serial killers are not only active, but (unfortunately) numerous. The book also takes a brief look at the successes and failures of the criminal justice system and thus would be useful to students and professionals alike. For the average reader or true crime reader, this book is both interesting and informative. One curious note, however - the author refers to Dr. Charles Smith as "renowned" whereas a better description might be "disgraced." Residents of Ontario may recall his notoriety after convictions in as many as 13 of 20 cases were questioned by the province in 2007 because the "expert" opinion of the pathologist was more based on assumption than scientific fact.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2012
Mellor's "Cold North Killers" is a startling yet revealing analysis of an area that appeared to have escaped Canada... serial killers. However, Mellor's in-depth coverage of 60 cases reveals Canadians are sadly mistaken. Mellor handles the material with integrity and honesty, leaving little to the imagination but plenty to think about. This book can be read cover to cover or picked at case by case. I truly enjoyed learning from his research and research from esteemed criminologists that Mellor references, as well as learning about the triumphs and flaws of the Canadian Judicial System. I eagerly await more of his works. Well done!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2014
This is a badly written book desperately in need of a proof reader. There are numerous spelling errors.

While the author has done considerable research, the presentation of his material could be improved. Birth and death dates of each of his subjects in the heading would tell us the era in which the killer operated, for example. It is necessary to read the full section on the subject to figure out when things happened.

The book is educational even if not all that well organized. If you buy it you will learn something about a unique group of Canadian murderers, but I suspect you will conclude that the book could be better done.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2012
Serial murder in Canada has been an amorphous subject in terms of existing literature, until now focusing largely on the handful of high-profile and sensational cases that have become commonplace household names. The primary thing that Lee Mellor has done in his undertaking of this study is to dispel the notion that these are isolated instances of such barbarity, his work including 60+ murders occurring from the late 19th century to the present.

Mellor's extensive knowledge of the case histories is fortified by his keen understanding of the accepted FBI criminal classifications and the principles of offender profiling as they pertain to these types of serial cases. The sub-categories, (based on this branch of criminology) in which the offenders gruesome deeds are presented serve not only to detail and analyze the murders and their perpetrators, but also to introduce and exemplify the tenets of serial killer profiling and classification as it has come to be today.

In the final chapters, Cold North Killers outlines a number of unsolved murders, as well as instances where law enforcement has 'dropped the ball' in terms of the apprehension and confinement of these killers. Whether it is because of the Canadian propensity to avoid or deny the homegrown instances of such atrocities or simply a case of ignorance, Mellor ultimately draws to light the fundamental need for a persistent recognition of and attention to just what this compendium proves: here be monsters.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2012
If Lee Mellor had as much fun writing this book as I did reading it I am worried for the both of us. Delving into all aspects of serial murdering from criteria to pathology to politics, this book kept my attention loaded me up with facts bits of information that
fascinated me throughout. What grabbed me the most were facts about the murders that were close to home and in fairly recent memory. At the time, the information was vague, underplayed and the term 'serial killer' rarely (if every) used. Opened my eyes to the role of both politics and the media when dealing with dangerous serial killers who are sometimes walking around freely while back room transactions and negotiations are taking place. Frightening stuff. I highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys trying to understand the mindset and profile of those who commit multiple murders. The only drawback that I found is that because the book provides so much great reference material, the digital version is less than ideal. In fact, I plan to pick up the hard copy as well. I don't know what's next for Lee Mellor but perhaps a peek into those who commit random acts of open shootings in public places. Since this seems to be on the increase there would be no lack of material to draw on.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2012
"Cold North Killers" is a must read for anyone who loves intense, thrilling and detailed peeks into the minds and actions of serial killers. The format of the book is great for people who like to curl up with a book for a while or for those who like to read a bit at a time. Lee Mellor delivers detailed accounts of the heinous crimes with no details spared. Hard to put down!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2014
This book starts at "interesting" and ends with "stomach lurching." I love how it covers so much of a history, diversity, and the detailing of serial murder in Canada and the recent media stories in BC.. From Robert Pickton, which I thought I had heard so much about but not really, to the last pages mention of Cory Legebokoff, now going to trial, this book had my stomach lurching on a few occasions. Names I remember in the media both from my hometown and in other provinces,from growing up and my teen years to just recently brings this so close to home. I thank the author for his work and dedicating for bringing this most encompassing read to print. I would love to see more books from him. To the families of the victims, the tragedies are not yet forgotten and to cases unsolved, its a reminder there still is hope.

One Error on the Highway of Tears section (seen on my ebook copy): Nicole Hoar disappeared while hitchhiking from Prince George, last seen on Hwy 16 West by the Mr. G's gas station, on her way to Smithers.. but book states Prince Rupert, this one reference is then followed by the Highway of Tears chart that clarifies she disappeared from Prince George.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2014
this is a good book for people who want to learn the names of Canadian serial killers and read a brief description of them and their crimes, however, this book does not go into a large amount of detail, court cases or updates on what happened after. Which is what is what I was looking for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2014
Poorly written .It reads like a dry listing .Did not ho;d my interest.I did not finish reading it.Save your money-don't buy ir.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
Gives one an insight as to how twisted some people can get over time if not rehabilitated early on in their formitive years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse