Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great experience
The book is very detailed. It's a great start to biostatistics although the SpSS content wasn't as in depth as I'd like. Nothing about the outputs and how to interpret them.

A great explanation of the basics though. And funny as hell :)
Published 19 months ago by Erin

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horribly made book - good content - UPDATE
I bought the third edition of this book for my own use, but my wife has a copy of the second edition. The physical difference between the books is astonishing.

If they cut any more corners on the production of this book they'd be shipping frisbees.

The third edition has a massive gluing flaw on the CD bound inside the front cover, making the cover a...
Published on May 28 2008 by William Witteman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great experience, Sept. 16 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biostatistics: The Bare Essentials (Perfect Paperback)
The book is very detailed. It's a great start to biostatistics although the SpSS content wasn't as in depth as I'd like. Nothing about the outputs and how to interpret them.

A great explanation of the basics though. And funny as hell :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Timely and as stated, Jan. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biostatistics: The Bare Essentials (Perfect Paperback)
The product arrived on time. It contains a CD but it is not the actual SPSS software CD.
Go for it if you need a basic essential textbook for Bio-statistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Makes Biostats Fun, Oct. 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biostatistics: The Bare Essentials (Perfect Paperback)
The authors use easy to understand language and a lot of humour to teach some complex concepts and formulae. It is really enjoyable to read and easy to translate the knowledge to real-world data sets and calculations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horribly made book - good content - UPDATE, May 28 2008
By 
This review is from: Biostatistics: The Bare Essentials (Perfect Paperback)
I bought the third edition of this book for my own use, but my wife has a copy of the second edition. The physical difference between the books is astonishing.

If they cut any more corners on the production of this book they'd be shipping frisbees.

The third edition has a massive gluing flaw on the CD bound inside the front cover, making the cover a wrinkled mess. Inside it is worse - it appears to be a bad inkjet copy of the second edition, with cheap paper and no colour. Needless to say this makes the graphs and the breakout notes look like crap. I am very disappointed with this book.

The content seems fine, but reading a book with production values this low is a significant chore.

UPDATE
The publisher has responded to my criticism of the print quality of the book by offering to send me the *real* version - I apparently have a print-on-demand copy necessitated by a problem with their regular printer. This is obviously a very satisfactory resolution to the problem. As a sidebar, not all print-on-demand books have poor quality, but this one sure did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabb8b7d4)

This product

Biostatistics: The Bare Essentials
Biostatistics: The Bare Essentials by David L. Streiner (Perfect Paperback - Feb. 1 2008)
CDN$ 75.95 CDN$ 65.95
In stock on April 22, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews