Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chuck Davis History of Metropolitan Vancouver, Dec 11 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chuck Davis History of Metropolitan Vancouver (Hardcover)
Chuck Davis has put together a history book par excellance. It is written with a flair that makes it a great coffee table book. You can pick it up and peruse here or there and come away more knowledgeable than when you started. A tome that can be enjoyed for a moment or for an entertaining evening. You will probably never find another author like Chuck Davis. He had so much love and dedication to the history of Vancouver. This wonderful book proves that it is worth every penny and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vancouver Trivia Trove!, Feb. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chuck Davis History of Metropolitan Vancouver (Hardcover)
I bought this book for me with a birthday gift card, based on reading about it in the local newspaper, and have been charmed by it ever since. The book is a chronological history of the metro vancouver area right from the beginning of non-aboriginal inhabitation, and I particularly liked the structure of the information snippets that bombard with quirky and world-changing facts in quick succession. Now I've owned it for a while, I can still dip into different years and dates to find out what is in place of old buildings or who the key figures in Vancouver's history were. This book is not only a joy to read, it is an invaluable source of how vancouver became what it is today - a multicultural, beautiful city to live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Vancouver's Story to Us, Oct. 28 2012
By 
catwillow (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chuck Davis History of Metropolitan Vancouver (Hardcover)
As a resident of and student in Vancouver I followed this wonderful gentleman's information for years. This book is a perfect compilation of the vast wealth of stories we might otherwise never have known. It is a perfect example of his giving and giving and giving to us, and his loss is irreplaceable. We are so fortunate to now have the opportunity to get to know him and our beautiful city even more through his book. Your book sits on an antique trunk on display in my livingroom and I take every chance I get to open it and read just a bit more. Thank you Mr. Davis for taking the time to do this for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you ever wanted to know..., July 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chuck Davis History of Metropolitan Vancouver (Hardcover)
This book chronicles the growth and development of Vancouver in entertaining detail. The city's story is often shockingly racist, sometimes surprisingly visionary, always fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun book!, Dec 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chuck Davis History of Metropolitan Vancouver (Hardcover)
I love this book, there is so much information about Vancouver but it is delivered in an easily digestible way. There are images and concise snippets about each event, and it is organized by year. This can be a fun book you place on your coffee table, or a great reference for any vancouver lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Chuck Davis History of Metro Vancouver, Jan. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chuck Davis History of Metropolitan Vancouver (Hardcover)
Not a book that one sits down to read but rather as a displaced North Vancouverite, a book to pick and browse particularly when one is lonely for their hometown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Dec 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chuck Davis History of Metropolitan Vancouver (Hardcover)
Awesome collection of Vancouver history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chuck Davis History of Metropolitan Vancouver
The Chuck Davis History of Metropolitan Vancouver by Chuck Davis (Hardcover - Oct. 31 2011)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 15.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews