summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$41.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 11, 2011
Chuck Davis has put together a history book par excellance. It is written with a flair that makes it a great coffee table book. You can pick it up and peruse here or there and come away more knowledgeable than when you started. A tome that can be enjoyed for a moment or for an entertaining evening. You will probably never find another author like Chuck Davis. He had so much love and dedication to the history of Vancouver. This wonderful book proves that it is worth every penny and more.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2013
I bought this book for me with a birthday gift card, based on reading about it in the local newspaper, and have been charmed by it ever since. The book is a chronological history of the metro vancouver area right from the beginning of non-aboriginal inhabitation, and I particularly liked the structure of the information snippets that bombard with quirky and world-changing facts in quick succession. Now I've owned it for a while, I can still dip into different years and dates to find out what is in place of old buildings or who the key figures in Vancouver's history were. This book is not only a joy to read, it is an invaluable source of how vancouver became what it is today - a multicultural, beautiful city to live in.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2012
As a resident of and student in Vancouver I followed this wonderful gentleman's information for years. This book is a perfect compilation of the vast wealth of stories we might otherwise never have known. It is a perfect example of his giving and giving and giving to us, and his loss is irreplaceable. We are so fortunate to now have the opportunity to get to know him and our beautiful city even more through his book. Your book sits on an antique trunk on display in my livingroom and I take every chance I get to open it and read just a bit more. Thank you Mr. Davis for taking the time to do this for us.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2013
I love this book, there is so much information about Vancouver but it is delivered in an easily digestible way. There are images and concise snippets about each event, and it is organized by year. This can be a fun book you place on your coffee table, or a great reference for any vancouver lover!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2014
This book chronicles the growth and development of Vancouver in entertaining detail. The city's story is often shockingly racist, sometimes surprisingly visionary, always fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
Not a book that one sits down to read but rather as a displaced North Vancouverite, a book to pick and browse particularly when one is lonely for their hometown.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2016
Good read.Very extensive.Year by year historical events.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2015
For the vancouverite. Lots of interesting facts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2014
Awesome collection of Vancouver history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse