Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The road that heals could be ridden by anyone
Although this book can be found in the Music section in stores, it should be allowed to occupy a space in the therapeutic section as well. Not just for the Rush fan, this book could have be written by anyone whose circumstances were, unfortunately, similar to Peart's. We are allowed to travel with Peart's "little baby soul" and see how it's possible to let our...
Published on April 19 2004 by Tamirra C Stewart

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This road gets a little long...
As a long time Rush/Neil Peart fan I may not be the most objective reviewer of this book as I tore through its pages with the mindset of a fan and not as a casual reader. Being a Rush fan and a motorcyclist, I'm probably as captive a reader as any author could hope for, so perhaps I grant this book some liberties where others may feel it falls a little short.
The...
Published on June 30 2004 by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This road gets a little long..., June 30 2004
By 
Kindle Customer (SAINT PAUL, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost Rider: Travels on the Healing Road (Paperback)
As a long time Rush/Neil Peart fan I may not be the most objective reviewer of this book as I tore through its pages with the mindset of a fan and not as a casual reader. Being a Rush fan and a motorcyclist, I'm probably as captive a reader as any author could hope for, so perhaps I grant this book some liberties where others may feel it falls a little short.
The passing of Peart's daughter and wife starts the book on it's haunting footing as the author takes you on a two wheel ride over miles and miles of road while simultaneously allowing you to feel his pain, recount his memories, think his thoughts, and bask in his ultimate healing. All while the odometer keeps clicking away.
What is immediately striking is the author's raw emotional openness - as though his motorcycle were the couch and the reader the psychologist listening to him poor it all out. The down side of this is that in his honesty you see him as not always being the most sympathetic of characters - often he comes across being uptight, anal, and often self indulged. Rather than recounting memories of his lost loved ones, allowing his devastation to be more concrete and real for the reader he regales in story after story of past motorcycle trips with his best friend Brutus. By the end of the book you know more about Brutus than the loved ones he lost.
The beauty of this book is experiencing the world as viewed through the eyes of a well-read, thoughtful artist. He has such a poetic sensibility about the world that the sights, sounds and smells of the passing countryside take on a fresh life. Throughout the book he is searching, but never out of control - he grieves as you would expect, but not driven by his emotions - instead he rides and thinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The road that heals could be ridden by anyone, April 19 2004
This review is from: Ghost Rider: Travels on the Healing Road (Paperback)
Although this book can be found in the Music section in stores, it should be allowed to occupy a space in the therapeutic section as well. Not just for the Rush fan, this book could have be written by anyone whose circumstances were, unfortunately, similar to Peart's. We are allowed to travel with Peart's "little baby soul" and see how it's possible to let our hearts, bit by bit, recover from trauma.
Do not let the idea that this is a constantly depressing book, keep it from being read. It is a wonderful trip across America on a motorcycle but we never forget why the road is traveled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The uncomfortable rock star takes an uncomfortable journey., May 5 2004
By 
Jared D Ladish (Watertown, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost Rider: Travels on the Healing Road (Paperback)
Both physically and emotionally. Mr. Peart writes what must have been a most difficult book about recent tragedies he's suffered and the "healing road" he's taken to escape and embrace them. The book at times is gripping and insightful. However...he can also be hypocritical and abrasive. He longs for more open mindedness from people but those who may disagree with his point of view receives his derision. He and his band are staunch anti music trading and the illegalities of it while he financially and morally supports a non remorseful drug dealer. Placing the blame for his friend legal woes squarely on a constrictive government rather than on the man who has made the choice of pursuing this type of illicit career. But you do not have to agree with a writer nesscessarily to enjoy his writing. Mr. Peart is and engaging and concise writer. At times the book reads as a letter from a troubled friend. Admittedly aloof due to a lifetime of living in the spotlight. He finds more comfort in the words of a book than with many of the people he encounters. Those that are privy to his good nature are rewarded with lively conversation those that are not receive a cold reception unbefitting a man of his history. The book is a good read and the author capable. However, the book not only confronts the author but the reader. I found his previous book more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only for the dedicated, July 3 2004
By 
This review is from: Ghost Rider: Travels on the Healing Road (Paperback)
As a fan of Rush and Neil Peart for 20+ years, I was hoping this book would reveal more about Neil's human side and the tragedies he faced and overcame. It did, but not the way I expected. I was about 100 pages in when I realized the book is written for Neil himself, not for the reader. The author often seems not to know or care that a reader exists and wants to understand and empathize with his journey. He logs hundreds of pages of detail of his aimless wanderings, often interspersed with his own feelings of grief, but the few real insights are fragmented without any real coherence. In fact, some of them are probably unintentional; he seems as unaware of his own disdain towards most other people he meets, as he is of the reader himself. This becomes painfully obvious in the "Letters to Brutus" section, pages upon pages of correspondence that, while surely significant to Neil and his close friends, are mostly fragmented and irrelevant to anyone else. After 450 pages of material, through which we desperately want Neil to overcome his pain, the story of his recovery is tacked on in literally a single sentence, followed by 6 pages of epilogue.
My sense is that this book was written not for the reader, but for Neil to bring closure to his own grieving process, which is understandable given the terrible tragedies that the author experienced. The reader should approach it in that context, understanding that the process of grief necessarily makes a person very focused on the self to the exclusion of almost all else.
I'd recommend the book only to dedicated fans of Neil's work, with the caveat that this particular work is really written for Neil himself. All the band members have consistently said they feel they owe their followers their best possible performance in exchange for the CD price or ticket charge; for the $20 price of this book, this is the first work I've seen by any of them that falls far short of that standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Existential Escape, March 10 2014
By 
Stuart Ross "writerboy" (Guelph, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghost Rider: Travels on the Healing Road (Paperback)
I ride a motorcycle, play guitar in a band and have recently suffered a significant loss. This was the perfect book for me. What would you do if you suddenly lost everything meaningful to you in your life? Neil Peart opens his heart to show you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant insight, Aug. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghost Rider: Travels on the Healing Road (Paperback)
In a way, I can relate to what Neil Peart has gone through. The pain of losing two loved ones is unbearable.

As the drummer for Rush, Peart is often the forgotten -or quiet- one. Thus we know very little about him and his propensity for reading. We often overlook the fact that he his educated, articulate and that he apparently has a bit of a dark sense of humor. The book conveys his pain and his efforts to try and see the light at the end of the tunnel.

While some will characterize Peart as self-indulgent and often mean in his life story, the fact remains that when you lose a loved one in tragic circumstances, you tend to ignore other people's problems and concentrate mostly on your own.Very little else exists outside of your own pain. Trust me on this, my family and I go through it every single day.

I highly recommend this book to those who have lost a loved one. I know it helped me quite a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Loved the Ghost Rider!, July 8 2013
This review is from: Ghost Rider: Travels on the Healing Road (Paperback)
This book was an excellent read. It is a book about Neil Peart, his life, his struggle, his tragedies. When his daughter and wife passed on, in sudden fashion (within 10 months of one another), he was basically left with nothing. He felt sitting around and thinking about it all would lead him to a dark place, and feared it may be un-recoverable. Instead he decides that if he kept moving, time would heal ...just keep busy. This book tells the journey he took on the healing road, and how he survived a horrific reality. This book may inspire, but it's not meant as a self help book, or written to please the masses. It's a book about a personal life, with well deserved, and a right of personal thoughts/feelings. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep and Engaging Book, May 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoy travel stories but this one was more. It was deeply engaging and I could relate to the lonely road stories as I have done them over the years. I sometimes think exploring alone gives you different insights to the world around you but not always. It is good to see that his new wife has pulled him through his darkness hours although one never forgets. People matter. A challenging and wonderfully written book. As a Rush fan I enjoyed it even more. May Neil and his new family live a blessed life together.
Roger Poirier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neils tragedy and triumph, April 20 2004
By 
TPG (Simi Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost Rider: Travels on the Healing Road (Paperback)
Good read, heartbreaking 1st couple of chapters that kicks off the book. Middle chapters bog down a little as lengthly desciptions of desert landscape becomes monotonous. Last sevral chapters are excellent as he emerges from the pain and finds a new life, new love, and re-discovers music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a groupie, but enjoyable reading, Feb. 8 2004
By 
L. Young "lhysnow" (Mesa, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost Rider: Travels on the Healing Road (Paperback)
I'm not a Rush groupie and actually read this book on my huband's recommendation. Neil Peart earned my admiration for his intelligent mind and entertaining writing style. This would be a nice read for anyone who has a decent education as he does not write down to his readers as some do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10d3dcb4)

This product

Ghost Rider: Travels on the Healing Road
Ghost Rider: Travels on the Healing Road by Neil Peart (Paperback - July 1 2002)
CDN$ 22.95 CDN$ 16.57
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews