Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars I love Robert Munsch, but I don't always love the board book editions
I adore Robert Munsch. I think he's a masterful storyteller and his long-time collaboration with illustrator Michael Marchenko has produced some amazing children's classics.

Sometimes, however, when his books are condensed to board book form, they lose some of their oomph. The best parts are edited out, or they're oversimplified, or the magic is somehow not...
Published 10 days ago by Mary Lavers

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars "dumb" through out the book
The word "dumb" written throughout the book, and although the meaning of the story is that pigs are not dumb, I did not feel like having my 2 1/2 year old going to daycare and calling the other kids "dumb" since it would have been her nearly learned word.
Published 3 months ago by jives


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars I love Robert Munsch, but I don't always love the board book editions, July 22 2014
By 
Mary Lavers "CozyLittleBookJournal" (Dartmouth, NS, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pigs (Board book)
I adore Robert Munsch. I think he's a masterful storyteller and his long-time collaboration with illustrator Michael Marchenko has produced some amazing children's classics.

Sometimes, however, when his books are condensed to board book form, they lose some of their oomph. The best parts are edited out, or they're oversimplified, or the magic is somehow not there.

Pigs, however, retains all of its "Pigness" even in the shorter format. My only problem with it is that I'm not sure this particular story *needed* to be made into a board book.

The board book format is presumably so it's easier for little hands to handle, so that younger children can access the story. I'm not sure Pigs is best suited for younger kids. It's one of the Robert Munsch stories that has characters being a bit rude to each other, with the constant refrain of "Hey you dumb pigs!". This may be fine for school-age children, but a lot of parents and teachers don't like reading that kind of impolite phrase to very young children.

This review was first posted on my blog, Cozy Little Book Journal, and is based on a digital review copy of the board book edition that I received through NetGalley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for little hands, June 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pigs (Mini book) (Paperback)
If you child loves animals and silly stories they will love this book.
My toddler loves the Robert Munsch books and the prefers the mini books as they fit perfectly in her hands and are easy for her to turn the pages no matter where she is. Great for parents too for travelling and takes up no room. Can throw the book in your pocket or purse as you are running out the door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who let the pigs out?, May 29 2014
By 
Storywraps "Marilyn" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pigs (Mini book) (Paperback)
This hilarious book will have your kids rolling on the floor with laughter. It is now being released in board book form so little hands can experience the happiness of handling and cuddling their own-sized book. The text and illustrations are modified from the original but will not be missed by a brand new gang of potential Munsch lovers.

Megan's dad asks her to feed the pigs but to be careful not to open the gate because pigs are smarter than you think. Megan promises she will not allow that to happen and heads off outside to the pigpen. Her observation after leaning over the gate and giving the piggies a going over with her eyeballs concludes that pigs are the dumbed looking animals that she has ever seen. Little by little her nose gets closer to the specimens and the gate creeps open a little more each time she leans in. The pigs watch her, wait patiently and at the precise perfect time they all stampede out of the gate. Oh oh!

They make a beeline or should I say piggyline to the house and cause havoc and chaos inside. "Get these pigs out of here! yelled her father. Megan yelled, "HEY YOU DUMB PIGS!" The pigs jumped up-wap, wap, wap! - and ran out the door." Then they zoom off to Megan's school to cause mayhem and disturbances there. When it's time to head for home and the bus pulls up for pick up, guess whose driving the bus? You guessed it...all aboard the piggy bus....and the pigs squeal and chew (the bus seats) and party ..... all the way home. Could Megan restrain herself from ever repeating that faux pas again? You will laugh at loud at the last page where that question just may be answered for you. Oh oh!
The illustrations are magnificent! Spot on! Amazing! Colourful, full of expression and emotion, action-packed and cartoonish. There is so much going on in each picture that it is worthwhile visiting the book again and again just to explore the illustrations and appreciate all of Martchenko's work. The teamwork of the best text-writer and the best creative artist makes this book a must have and I am so glad they downsized it so little pint-sized humans can start early on becoming a Robert Munsch/Michael Martchenko fan. Yea and they are both Canadian! Hurray for Canada!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars "dumb" through out the book, April 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pigs (Board book)
The word "dumb" written throughout the book, and although the meaning of the story is that pigs are not dumb, I did not feel like having my 2 1/2 year old going to daycare and calling the other kids "dumb" since it would have been her nearly learned word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, Feb. 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pigs (Mini book) (Paperback)
I love that I could get the classic children's books all in one place and for an awesome price and free shipping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love minis, Dec 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pigs (Mini book) (Paperback)
A full size story that fits in your purse! perfect size and price for birthday loot bags or to keep in your purse to keep kids busy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love, March 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pigs (Mini book) (Paperback)
The kids love this book. It is very small though. It fits in the suitcase for easy traveling and reading while away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, July 7 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Pigs (Paperback)
My 3 1/2 year old daughter is a huge Munch fan and likes this one well enough, but it's my least favourite. She tends to memorize books and quote them constantly, and I'm not thrilled with the "hey, you dumb...." mantra. This is kind of minor, but how was it that the pigs showed up at school after Megan locked them back in at home? If you're wanting to add to your Munch collection, he's written better. Alligator Baby and Thomas's Snowsuit are fun without the insults and a little more logically consistent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK!!, Sept. 15 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Pigs (Paperback)
My teacher read PIGS to my class. A girl said that pigs aren't smart. I think that pigs are smart! When I grow up if decide to be a book publisher, I would publish a book like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 28 2014
This review is from: Pigs (Mini book) (Paperback)
Love these classics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pigs
Pigs by Robert Munsch (Library Binding - Feb. 1 1992)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews