Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most enjoyable read!
I shared this wonderful book with a WWII veteran friend and watched as he devoured the book in one sitting. He declared it "a most enjoyable read" and said while not ever meeting anyone who'd been involved in this particular battle, he'd always known about the Passchendaele conflict.
The book brought him right back to the stories he'd always heard concerning the...
Published on Sept. 21 2008 by Susan L. Hunter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No bang for your buck
This is a very thin book with little more than pictures. No real substance to it. Would probably not have bought it if I knew in advance the number of pages it contains. The pictures themselves are really good and I enjoyed the book, but not the price I paid for it.
Published on Nov. 15 2010 by Dave J Bushell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most enjoyable read!, Sept. 21 2008
By 
Susan L. Hunter (Brockville, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passchendaele: Canada's Triumph and Tragedy on the Fields of Flanders (Hardcover)
I shared this wonderful book with a WWII veteran friend and watched as he devoured the book in one sitting. He declared it "a most enjoyable read" and said while not ever meeting anyone who'd been involved in this particular battle, he'd always known about the Passchendaele conflict.
The book brought him right back to the stories he'd always heard concerning the particular horrors of The Great War. He found the book very compelling in the telling of the filthy conditions soldiers were subjected to, maybe more so than WWII he thought, and was very sympathetic to the suffering these soldiers experienced.
He was also struck by the wonderful format of the book, it's pictorial telling of the story which he said kept him turning the pages. It's clean and concise presentation was easy to follow and he thought it was very well researched. As a member of the 6th Canadian Bomber Command, he felt lucky to have managed his war experience in better conditions than the soldiers who fought through the mud of Passchendeale.

As for myself, I'm a typical baby-boomer that has only a cursory knowledge of WWI and finding this little gem of a book has made me realize there are probably many untold stories of heroic Canadians in war situations.
Thank you for this marvelous story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passchendaele - A Compelling Read, Oct. 11 2008
By 
R. Curtis Mullen (Olathe, Kansas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passchendaele: Canada's Triumph and Tragedy on the Fields of Flanders (Hardcover)
It was with great anticipation that I purchased and read Passchendaele. The compelling story of how Canada came of age was superbly written by Mr. Leach. As the history of WW 1 and specifically this part the war is virtually unknown to most Canadians, Mr. Leach makes this part of Canadian history come alive. We can almost taste and feel how our soldiers lived in the muck and grime.

This book was very difficult to put down. I would highly recommend that anyone with the slightest interest in history read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enhancing Canada's memory of a major battle, Sept. 29 2008
By 
Leonard G. Shurtleff (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passchendaele: Canada's Triumph and Tragedy on the Fields of Flanders (Hardcover)
Mr. Leach's book, though intended for young adult readers, will inform adults as well about this 1917 battle in which the Canadian Corps played a major part. This work is profusely illustrated with modern and contemporary photos and tightly crafted. The author was a consultant in the making of the film "Passchendaele" released this fall in Canada.

Len Shurtleff
The Western Front Association
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canadian history is not boring, Sept. 28 2008
By 
B. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passchendaele: Canada's Triumph and Tragedy on the Fields of Flanders (Hardcover)
I very much enjoyed the recent book Passchendaele by Norman Leach. It is not an standard military history tome but rather an accessible survey of the events leading up to and during the Battle of Passendaele.This book would serve as a good introduction to anyone who is interested in understanding Canada's role in the "Great War" but also would appeal to readers with some knowledge of Canada's substantial contribution to the Allied military effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good begining, Jan. 15 2010
By 
D. Bullard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passchendaele: Canada's Triumph and Tragedy on the Fields of Flanders (Hardcover)
This book is a good introduction to the history of Passchendaele. It has lots of pictures, so it can interest younger readers in history, and the writting gives us a nice broad overview of the war. A nice book to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Small Book Packed with Insight, Feb. 12 2009
By 
This review is from: Passchendaele: Canada's Triumph and Tragedy on the Fields of Flanders (Hardcover)
This book almost looks like the type of book you would leave on a coffee table for others to enjoy.

It is jammed pack full of pictures and small articles. Both giving a quick and informative insight into what it was like and why Canadians served and died in Flanders Fields.

While more aware than most, of the actions and activities, and life in Passchendaele ( from previous readings and education and family ) I found quite a few heretofore unknown pieces of information and history that I had not been aware of.

Certainly worth reading and remembering AND leaving out on the coffee table to share with others. Lest we not forget...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning Reminder of the Devastation of Modern War, Oct. 29 2008
By 
Ian Gordon Malcomson (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passchendaele: Canada's Triumph and Tragedy on the Fields of Flanders (Hardcover)
Canadian historian,Norman Leach, has produced an excellent illustrated history of Canada's role in World War I on the 'killing fields' of Flanders. Special attention is given to the major battles that the Canadian Expeditionary Forces waged over five years of bloody combat, with special emphasis on the major campaigns such as Passchendaele and Ypres. The book is laid out in such a way that the reader not only gets to follow the events of this senseless war but,also, visualize what it must have been like for Canadian soldiers to actually live through it. looked. The recorded details, both in text and pictures, as to how battles like Passchendaele were fought the freezing mud and fog, for small patches of countryside and resulting in hundreds of thousands of death boggles the imagination. The horrors of Passchendaele are a solemn reminder to all that while gallant soldiers strive for eventual victory on the battlefield, they often pay for it with the ultimate price: their lives. This book is especially suited for one who is planning to watch Paul Gross's "Passchendaele" and would like to bone up on the background to this whole triumphant yet tragic story of Canada in the Great War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No bang for your buck, Nov. 15 2010
By 
Dave J Bushell (Langley, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Passchendaele: Canada's Triumph and Tragedy on the Fields of Flanders (Hardcover)
This is a very thin book with little more than pictures. No real substance to it. Would probably not have bought it if I knew in advance the number of pages it contains. The pictures themselves are really good and I enjoyed the book, but not the price I paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Passchendaele: Canada's Triumph and Tragedy on the Fields of Flanders
CDN$ 19.95 CDN$ 14.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews