Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Gambino's book rings true, even after 25 years
I first read Richard Gambino's "Blood of My Blood" in the late 1970's. Reading this book became a voyage of discovery. The book retains its strength and mission over twenty-five years later. Being Italian-American in 21st century America is still perplexing. Gambino gives many clues and insight into the Italian-American experience.
As part of one of the...
Published on June 25 2000 by janicep443

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Basically racist and sexist, maybe fascist
This is a dangerous book. Because, with the excuse of explaining the situation of Italian-Americans and their past failure to fully integrate in the American society, it sneaks in pseudo-justifications of the infamous so-called "via vecchia", the "ancient way". A set of outmoded modalities, which is in large part responsible for having prevented Italian-Americans to...
Published on Dec 1 2002 by Denis L. Baggi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Basically racist and sexist, maybe fascist, Dec 1 2002
By 
Denis L. Baggi (Lugano, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood of My Blood: The Dilemma of Italian-Americans (Paperback)
This is a dangerous book. Because, with the excuse of explaining the situation of Italian-Americans and their past failure to fully integrate in the American society, it sneaks in pseudo-justifications of the infamous so-called "via vecchia", the "ancient way". A set of outmoded modalities, which is in large part responsible for having prevented Italian-Americans to contributing to the country they belong to, the United States. And which has often made them the laughing stock of other minorities, for their pagan rites molded into a corruption of Catholicism, such as when the statue of the Madonna gets covered with dollar bills. Or for their worship, of too many, of society scum like Al Capone and Joe Bonanno, instead of putting, on their banner, all those great Italian-Americans who have really contributed to their adopted country. Such as founding father Filippo Mazzei, scientists like Antonio Meucci and Enrico Fermi, musicians like Salvatore Massaro and Johnny Guarneri, activists like Nicola Sacco and Bartolomeo Vanzetti, writers like Gregory Corso and Diane DePrima. Instead of letting people grow disgusted with restaurant names like Benito I and Benito II!
There is practically nothing that can be saved from this book. Its history is a set of uncorrelated events, mostly erroneous or misinterpreted. The quotes in Italian are often misspelled or mistranslated. The descriptions of other communities is based on execrable stereotypes (for Jews) and are often outright racist (for Blacks).
But the top of the nonsense is reached with its emphasis on blood: "Italian ethnicity comes with the blood, if not through it" (p.375). Now, I have seen the blood of Italian-Americans and I can testify, scientifically, that it does not look any different from that of, say, Chinese or Senegalese. With his reliance of "blood", Gambino - apparently a frustrated college professor - indicates that he lives in a fantasy world similar to that of Germany in the 1930's. I suppose that his book would probably be forbidden in most European countries, which have laws against advocacy of racism and slander.
So, no hope for Italian-Americans? Quite the contrary. Gambino & co. may just learn from the examples of other Italian communities outside of Italy. Southern Switzerland, for instance, threw away its via vecchia almost two centuries ago and contributed to the government several Federal Councillors, such as Stefano Franscini, from the beginning of the Swiss Confederation in 1848 - beating the US where, with the exception of an Irish Catholic, all presidents have been White Anglo Saxon Protestants. In the "Repubblica e Cantone Ticino" the official language is Italian: schools, laws, courts, radio, tv, road signs, equipment instructions, all everyday-life activities are in Italian, like everything else. The same applies to the four valleys of Mesolcina, Calanca, Bregaglia and Poschiavo, which are proudly Italian speaking, though located in the Grisons, German/Romantsch country. Just pick up a Swiss money bill and you will see that it is written, among others, in Italian, like every Swiss document, from passport and driver's license to government statistics and web pages, because Italian is a National Language.
So, forget about blood. The answer lies in an old Italian song of the Grisons: "popoli ci affratella l'italica favella". Namely, it is the Italian language that creates our brotherhood of people. And not the via vecchia, and the glorification of the criminal deeds of the Gambino family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dated Pseudo-Ethnic Fluff, March 20 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Blood of My Blood: The Dilemma of Italian-Americans (Paperback)
Blood of My Blood is an unfortunately dated piece of pseudo-ethnic fluff. Readers who consider this text an historical document should take note of a number of things: first, it was written during the 1970s (a time of ethnic revival with a strong underlying political agenda, often reactionary and racist); second, the book has no footnotes, no bibliography, nothing to point one deeper; finally, consider again that it was written over 25 years ago and that much has changed for Italian Americans and everyone else. Gambino is well known among students of Italian American history, especially for his well-researched work Vendetta. Unfortunately, much of his work is, in a word, reactionary, riddled with stereotypes---in some cases nothing more than thinly veiled racism---and largely under-documented and poorly researched. If there is any worth to Blood of My Blood, it is the author's own anecdotes about his childhood and about his family and neighborhood. In the end, however, anecdotes are nothing more than anecdotes, and the larger Italian American experience---in all its complexity---is left untouched. This book, thus, reads like a mere handbook of someone's prejudices about what it means to be Italian American or how one should behave and think (or not think) in order to be an Italian American. Readers interested in serious studies of Italian American history that contain much more depth and represent actual scholarship are better advised to look at more recent work/more researched work by folks like Rudy Vecoli, Philip Cannistraro, Donna Gabaccia, Gary Mormino, George Pozzetta, Virginia Yans-McLoughlin, Robert Orsi, and the list goes on...These scholars bring a "love" of their subject, as well as genuine reserach, something sorely lacking in Blood of My Blood. Those who feel that Italian American history and ethnicity amounts to nothing more than food, "la via vecchia," and political antipathy should continue to read Gambino, thereby reinforcing those preconceived prejudices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gambino's book rings true, even after 25 years, June 25 2000
This review is from: Blood of My Blood: The Dilemma of Italian-Americans (Paperback)
I first read Richard Gambino's "Blood of My Blood" in the late 1970's. Reading this book became a voyage of discovery. The book retains its strength and mission over twenty-five years later. Being Italian-American in 21st century America is still perplexing. Gambino gives many clues and insight into the Italian-American experience.
As part of one of the largest ethnic minorities in the USA it is unsettling to have so little information about who we are. Gambino's blending of historical facts with personal stories paints a vivid picture of the Italian-American experience.
Mainstream America revels in the ethnocentricity of many ethnic groups, while Italians are still discouraged for being Italian-like. The Italian-American experience, even today, is only a footnote clouded with the mass media's laughable or fearsome images.
Though originally publishes in 1974 this books still is a beacon for those struggling to understand what it is to be Italian-American.
This is a must read for anyone interested in he Italian American experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An accurate look into the Italian-American experience., Sept. 20 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blood of My Blood: The Dilemma of Italian-Americans (Paperback)
Both my parents are from a small town in Calabria. I distinctively remember growing up with the feeling that I was not 100% American or Italian. In the home, I had a traditional southern Italian upbringing that did not exist in the homes of my friends, most of whom had Italian backgrounds. Richard Gambino's mention of this condition was the first time I have ever read about it it any text. Needless to say, I identified with the many accounts of the Italian-American experience explained by Mr. Gambino.
I would recommend this book to people of any background, Italian or not. The struggles of the southern Italians, both in their own country and in their new one, is a story that many will find intriguing and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for ALL Second, Third and Fourth Generation, Dec 5 2001
By 
Robert E. Colapietro "rec99" (Westport, CT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood of My Blood: The Dilemma of Italian-Americans (Paperback)
This book is something that all 2nd, 3rd and 4th generation Italian-Americans should read. It brings an understanding of the first generation of Italian Americans to those of us who were not born or not old enough to understand the circumstances of the first generation. I am a third generation Italian American with behavior patterns and emotions I could not understand until I read this book. The book has also given me a new appreciation for my second generation parents and some of the barriers between us as I grew up.
I promise that every page of this book will either make you laugh out loud, or bring you to tears.
In short, buy it, read it, lend it to others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood of My Blood: The Dilemma of Italian-Americans
Blood of My Blood: The Dilemma of Italian-Americans by Richard Gambino (Paperback - April 1 2002)
CDN$ 12.00 CDN$ 10.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews