Customer Reviews


2,025 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,832)
4 star:
 (117)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I'd normally read
I've held out for so long, being a die-hard fiction fan, refusing to read the Harry Potter books. I usually stick with bestsellers such as MIDDLESEX or even the ubiquitous DA VINCI CODE (which,if you haven't read ARE great) but now I'm hooked on the HP series. No wonder Rowling wrote so many as she was in love with her characters as much as we all are. Great fun and not...
Published on July 16 2007 by Jane Smith (the REAL Jane Smith)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A whole new adventure with Harry Potter
The third book for Harry Potter, written by J.K. Rowling series I think is one of best books.
Harry once again has to escape from the Dursleys, because he accidentally lifted his fat aunt Marge who was staying for a visit into the air. Harry found himself traveling on a bus called the knight Bus. Harry stays at a hotel for a little while until he can return back to...
Published on Oct. 21 2003 by hannah


‹ Previous | 1 2203 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I'd normally read, July 16 2007
I've held out for so long, being a die-hard fiction fan, refusing to read the Harry Potter books. I usually stick with bestsellers such as MIDDLESEX or even the ubiquitous DA VINCI CODE (which,if you haven't read ARE great) but now I'm hooked on the HP series. No wonder Rowling wrote so many as she was in love with her characters as much as we all are. Great fun and not at all what I'd expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting reading, Dec 21 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was surprisingly a good read. I enjoy it very much. Harry finally stood up on his own (against the Dursley) makes me smile. Ah, the joy of seeing them panic over magic... just like good old days in Book 1. The author is good in leaving her readers with several suspicions as to who Sirius really is. The answer is very satisfying. I also enjoy reading about all the exciting classes the students have at Hogwarts. (especially Professor Lupin's and the ever-so-useful Marauders' Map)
I recommand this wonderful book for anybody thrilling for an exciting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban was easily the best book in the series, Dec 19 2014
This review may contain spoilers, read at your own risk.

Cover:
Buckbeak, Harry, and Hermione. This is my favorite cover. I like Buckbeak's spread wings with the moon in the background. Hermione looks pretty ridiculous though.

Writing:
(4/5) This book was surprisingly well written. It might be the best written of the entire series. The writing was probably so good because this one sounded like a fun book to write, it had a lot of great characters. The only thing that was annoying was the childish full caps yelling.

Setting:
(5/5) The fully occupied wizard village, Hogsmeade, sounded like it was a lot of fun. The setting was once again really fun. The animagi, boggart, and patronus ideas were really good.

Plot:
(4/5) This is my favourite book of the series. I think it's a lot of people's favourite and I can see why. People claim its the only one that's its own separate story. Although I think the first four are all really good books individually, at the end of the day, they did center around the conflict of Voldemort. This one didn't. The conflict was something else and it was way more interesting in a lot of ways.

The plot and revelations of this book were really good. You didn't quite know who the villain was and it wasn't heavily centered around a villain really, which is why I think it was so good. It was a good plot completely fueled by some really great characters. Those always tend to be the best of stories.

The only flaw was the whole time travel thing. It was thoughtless. Completely and utterly thoughtless. J.K. Rowling said she established early on that the dead can't be brought back by magic. That was a good rule, especially considering that one of this series' themes is death.

With that in mind, I find it pretty shocking at the end of day that J.K. Rowling broke that rule and made HUGE plot holes in her series. The plot holes were so huge that she had to destroy the time-tuners later on in the series.

How did she make such a big mistake? In my personal opinion, it had all to do with Hermione. I'll talk about Hermione down below under the other characters.

Main Character:
(2/5) I honestly could not stand Harry for the first half of the book. All he did was whine and whine about how he couldn't go to Hogsmeade. What an ungrateful little bastard. He got so much in these past years. He found a home in Hogwarts, he found friends, he even found so many great father figures - Dumbledore, Hagrid, Remus, etc. Yet he still has the nerve to whine about not being able to go to Hogsmeade!?

After the whining stopped, I could comfortably go back to tolerating Harry. But he did do something that I found incredibly admirable near the end. Might be the only admirable thing Harry did in the entire series.

Something I didn't really highlight in my other reviews is that I really liked that Harry's parents didn't die for convenience. It added so much more depth and meaning to the series and I enjoyed learning more about Harry's parents in this book.

Villain:
(5/5) The villain was good. One that I surprisingly could never truly hate, maybe because, unlike Voldemort, this character had more depth.

Other Characters: (4/5)
Hermione Granger:

This is a rant, that doesn't really have to do with this book but the series as a whole. Feel free to skip it, if you just want to see the review for The Prisoner of Azkaban specifically.

Anyway, I said above that I blame Hermione for the whole time travelling fiasco. I really think that J.K. Rowling does not think clearly when it comes to this character. She was so hung up about the whole Ron and Hermione thing later on, if you know what I mean, that she never really looked at Hermione as a character. Hermione is wish fulfillment. J.K. Rowling admitted that Hermione and Ron were wish fulfillment. I don't know why J.K. Rowling was so invested in this awful pairing or why she found Ron so appealing. That's something only J.K. Rowling really knows at the end of the day.

The pairing wasn't the only problem though. In fiction, and maybe in real life, we have a habit of labeling girls under three categories: beautiful, plain, and ugly. It's not enough to say she's plain. You have to stress that she's plain. Look, that's still shallow. Is Ron beautiful, plain, or ugly? What is he? What's Harry, Dumbledore, Snape, Hagrid, and Remus? Who the hell knows or cares. Tom Riddle and Sirius Black were supposed to be handsome, but does J.K. Rowling keep telling you that over and over like the girls? Fleur is beautiful and Hermione is plain. She tells you this over and over and stresses it.

Hermione is a great person despite being plain. What is this nonsense? Your qualities determine who you are, that's true, but there's no despite about it. People are looking down on good qualities, to even for one second think that despite them not being attractive they have worth.

At the end of the day, Hermione has no worth because her whole character centers around this flawed idea. She's wish fulfillment in the sense of this insecurity people have about not being attractive.

Dumbledore proves that good conscience and light will always win. Snape shows bravery. Remus and Hagrid show kindness. Sirius shows loyalty. In the face of these awesome characters, what does Hermione really show?

I wish people would stop comparing girl characters to each other. Always compare characters to the best characters. Before trying to make them "a good girl character", please try to make them a good character. They will be a good girl character as long as they're female, it's not rocket science.

Sorry, I just wanted to get that out of my system.

End of Rant.

Going back to The Prisoner of Azkaban, the only parts I could not stand were the Hermione parts. I always feel like she gets in the way of the boys' friendship. Considering how many times the boys fight with her, they're not much of real friends anyway.

I wish I counted the number of times Hermione cried. Why does this girl consistently cry?

Aah the time-tuner thing. Probably made up to give Hermione a little task. You know, turning the damn thing, because nobody else could have done that.

The book keeps saying she's the cleverest girl of her age. Yeah, because Harry, Ron, Neville, Malfoy, Crabbe, and Goyle are such great competition. Why can't she be one the most intelligent people in the book? Way to sell a character short.

Tom Riddle and Dumbledore felt far more intelligent, even when they were at Hogwarts. James and his friends and Snape were out inventing their own spells while they were students. And what did Hermione do? Study? Is she the best at studying at least? Does she have top marks? No. She didn't get a perfect score. Apparently though, there were characters who got perfect 12 O.W.L.s (Bill, Percy, and Barty Crouch Jr.). I'm getting off track again.

Ron Weasley: Ron is probably the best out of the trio, not that I particularly like him though. I do like his friendship with Harry though. It feels so much more genuine when Hermione isn't with them. I also liked this line he said near the end:

"If you want to kill Harry, you'll have to kill us, too!" he said fiercely.

Maybe Ron is a Gryffindor after all.

Dumbledore: Dumbledore's lines always make me want to tear up. Most of the best quotes of this series are Dumbledore's.

Severus Snape: We found out more about Snape in this book. It's fun learning more about Snape bit by bit.

Remus Lupin: He's one of my favourite characters. Most people seem to love him after reading Azkaban. He's such a kind teacher, I wish he had been my teacher while I was at high school. It's a shame that his story never really went anywhere with this series though.

Overall:
(24/30) The only thing that's irritating about this book was Hermione and the time travelling fiasco, besides that, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban was easily the best book in the series, probably because it was driven by so many good characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Askaban, May 10 2004
By 
Derrick (Westminster, CO) - See all my reviews
It starts off as any other summer at Pivet Drive at the Dursley's house. Harry runs away because he Aunt Marge made a mistake. Harry meets a mysterious dark figure that looks like a dog. It meets Harry, but then it ran away. Finally Harry found a knight bus coming his way. He goes on it to go to Diagon Alley into a hotel. Harry meets his friends Ron and Hermoine. Then Harry hears a secret about a guy named Sirius Black and what he did to his parents. Harry is mad at him an seek for him. Harry and his friends their new equipment for his 3rd year a Hogwarts. Harry goes to Hogwarts and then he meets a dark figure that is called a dementor. The dementor gave him nightmares about his parents until a new Defence of Dark Arts teacher Professor Lupin drives the dementor away. They now at Hogwarts and they are trying to solve a mystery about Sirius Black with many adeventers ahead. Some of the adventures shows the truth about Professor Lupin, Siruis Black, and his family history. Harry reveals many secrets to the prisoner of Azkaban and how his family died. It reveals what happened in the past with Sirius Black, James Potter, Peter Pettigrew, and Remeus Lupin. Also who betrayed Harry's parents.
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is one of the great books because it had revealed many secrets that had impressed me a lot. It also surprised me when some the secrets that was revealed wasn't what i expected. Some of the adventures that I've read was really good. Also my favorite part was Quidditch when the Gryffindor team first won the cup in a couple of years. There were also a new broom called the Firebolt which was the best broom made in the book. I would recommend this book to people who likes fantasy and adventurous books. Also who likes to read Harry Potter books and if you like the Harry Potter movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite of the 5 Harry Potter tales published so far., April 10 2004
As Harry Potter's third year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry begins the nation is shaken by the news that a murderer has escaped from the infamously horrible wizard prison of Azkaban. The escapee turns out to be Sirius Black. Many in the wizard world believe that Sirius Black's next target is Harry.
There is yet another new professor teaching Defense Against the Dark Arts at Hogwarts. The shabby man, Professor Lupin, is the first good teacher of the class that Harry and his friends have had. However, there are some strange things about Professor Lupin; why does he keep getting sick, and what is it about crystal balls that scare him so much?
The reader meets more amazing and fantastic creatures including hippogriffs, bogarts and the horrible Dementors that guard Azkaban.
The conclusion of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban leads to some fascinating discoveries about the Whomping Willow and the truth about the night Harry's parents were murdered, as well as the secret Professor Lupin has been hiding. Even Scabbers, Ron's rat, has an important role to play. Rowling's style is as enthralling as ever. No fan of Harry Potter should miss this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkban, March 11 2004
By 
J.K Rowling
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkban
Another five-star book by the fabulous J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkban, this is the third edition also Harry's third year at Hogwart. There are two others, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, which is Harry's first year at Hogwart and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, which is Harry's second year at Hogwarts. I gave this book five-stars because it is excellent and it is written very clearly and it can appeal to a large group of people. J.K. Rowling has written a remarkable book that allows your imagination to go wild. She sets the mood and tone then your mind will take off while reading.
Every one wants to be happy in life and Harry is at his happiest moments when he is at school with his friends. If you read this book you will be happy too. Does bring a smile to your face, because there are funny parts and parts where you are cheering for him. I recommend this but to any one from ages eight and older. I at first thought I would not like this book but once I started reading it I could not put it down. J.K Rowling is a fantastic writer. She makes it so clear, and the words are not hard to read at all. I give it five-stars because it has such a wide-range of an audience. It can appeal to an eight year old and then appeal to a thirty year old and they will both get the same enjoyment out of it. There is a reason why J.K Rowling is a ward-winning writer she knows what will appeal to more than one group of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Caitlyn from Ricjhview Middle School, March 10 2004
By 
Caitlyn (Clarksville, Tennessee) - See all my reviews
This story is about a prison called Azkaban whch held an infamous prisoner named Sirius Black. He was caught for supposedly killed thirteen people with one single curse. People said that he was the heir apparent to the Dark Lord, Voldemort. Now that he has escaped Harry Potter is in grave danger. On top of that Sirius Black could change into a dog. Lupin is the new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher. Hermoine and Ron try to figure out how to find a way to keep Harry safe. Come to find out that it was not Sirius instead it was his former friend Peter well known as "Wormtail." Wormtail disguised himself as a rat named Scabbers. Then Harry and Hermoine had to go back and restart the day in der to save Buckbeak, who was well known as a hippocrite. They had to save him in order to save Sirius, so he could get away. The most exciting part was when Sirius suggested that Harry could come live with him, when his name was cleared. Then during the end Harry threatened his Uncle Vernon. He said that he could tell his godfather, Sirius Black, that he was being mistreated and will be in touch with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sequel to Chamber of Secrets!, March 6 2004
By A Customer
The trouble starts for Harry with a weeklong visit from cruel Aunt Marge who goads and torments Harry until he snaps! The visit ends with a bloated Aunt Marge floating near the ceiling and Harry fleeing from the Dursley's home. Fearing that he is in trouble for using magic outside of school and he will be reprimanded by the Ministry of Magic, Harry makes his way that night to Diagon Alley on the Knight Bus. At the Leaky Caldron, Harry accidentally runs into Cornelius Fudge and finds out that he isn't expelled from Hogwarts or even in trouble at all for the magic he used on Aunt Marge! Two weeks later, Harry meets up with his best friends, Ron Weasley, Hermione Granger, and Ron's family. However, the night before Harry returns to Hogwarts, he overhears Mr. and Mrs. Weasley talking about Sirius Black who is rumored to be a Servant of Lord Voldemort and who murdered thirteen people with one curse. Black escaped from Azkaban and the only hint he left behind were the words, "He's at Hogwarts...he's at Hogwarts." The next day on the Hogwarts Express, several dementors enter the train and search for Black. One of the dementors severely affects Harry with its dark power until the new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher, Professor R. J. Lupin, makes it leave. When the students arrive at Hogwarts, Dumbledore announces that Hagrid will be the new "Care of Magical Creatures" teacher. During Harry's first lesson with Hagrid, Hagrid warns the class that the hippogriffs they are working with (creatures half horse, half eagle) are proud and will attack if insulted. Harry successfully flies on the back of a hippogriff called Buckbeak but when Malfoy takes his turn, he insults the hippogriff and gets a deep slash down his arm. When the Gryffindors return to their tower after the Halloween Night feast, they find that the Fat Lady's portrait has been torn. The students and staff then learn from the school poltergeist, Peeves, that Black had tried to enter the tower but couldn't without the password so he attacked. During the first Quidditch match of the season, Harry sees a large black dog that he thinks is a Grim, an omen of death for anyone who sees it. Then dementors swarm the field and Harry falls from his broomstick. The broomstick is blown away and hits the Whomping Willow. At Christmas, while the other students third year and above are at Hogsmeade, Fred and George give Harry the Marauder's Map written by Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot, and Prongs which shows Harry a side of Hogwarts he has never seen before. Mysteriously, at Christmas, an anonymous person sends Harry the best broom in the world, a Firebolt! Right after Harry finishes his Divination exam, on the day that Buckbeak is to be executed, Professor Trelawney goes into a trance and predicts that Voldemort will return with his Servant's help. All your questions will be answered and mysteries solved, along with exciting plot twists and turns in Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. It's a must-read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A whole new adventure with Harry Potter, Oct. 21 2003
By 
The third book for Harry Potter, written by J.K. Rowling series I think is one of best books.
Harry once again has to escape from the Dursleys, because he accidentally lifted his fat aunt Marge who was staying for a visit into the air. Harry found himself traveling on a bus called the knight Bus. Harry stays at a hotel for a little while until he can return back to school. Harry is aware that there a man named black on the loose. He is said to have helped lord Voldemort. Harry is also aware that he could be after him.
When Harry gets to Hogwarts he goes though many adventures to try to find out who Sirius black is and why do many dementors were after him.
With a little help from Hagrid, Ron, Hermione, the new Dark arts professor Lupin, and the Hippogriff, which is a large mix between a horse and an eagle, named Buckbeak. Harry survives another adventure at Hogwarts and finds out more about his past. Like Harry's parents were not killed by Black, but Peter Pettigrew, who has been presumed dead but really hidden all these years disguised as Scabbers. Black is actually a good guy and ends up helping saving Harry in the end.
Another character who has a big influence on Harry (again) is Dumbledore, who has been helping Harry ever since he was born.
I think that the theme in this book is the same theme that J.K. Rowling has been writing since the first Harry Potter book. Appreciate what you have. Harry had to live with his evil aunt and Uncle, after the death of his parents who only wanted to protect Harry. Now he makes the best of his aunt and uncles house while he waits to go back to Hogwarts for another adventurous school year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Harry is in SIRRUS Trouble, Oct. 6 2003
By A Customer
...It´¿s the Harry Potter books that everyone is raving about. These
magical books are so inspiring to everyone who reads them. These books by J.K.
Rowling take you into a world you´¿ve never been in before. I´¿m not just talking
about all the books I´¿m talking about one particular book of the great series. I´¿m
talking about book number 3, The Prisoner of Azkaban.
This is a great story. Its adventurous, mysterious, and so much
more. J.K. Rowling puts this story in a way that nobody else can. She shows you a
side of reality and a side of fantasy. Her accomplishments are amazing.
In this story Harry Potters life is threatened by the notorious Sirrus
Black. Black has escaped from Azkaban Prison after being there for twelve years
for killing 13 people with one curse. He is rumored to be the heir of the ´¿Evil Lord
Voldemort´¿. At night when Black was asleep in Azkaban Prison the guards would
hear him say, ´¿He´¿s at Hogwarts ´¿he´¿s at Hogwarts´¿. Harry Potters life is in great
danger but he can´¿t do anything about it.
This book has so many strengths. The story line, the adventure, and
everything else you can think of. For this book there is only 1 weakness. The only
weakness is that the book is 435 pages. Even though the book is long it captures you
attention from beginning to end.
Almost every person I know has at least read one of the Harry Potter
books. The author is an excellent author. The books are top notch and they have
won the *#1 New York Times Bestsellers*. This book is for any reader young and
old. This one particular book is the one I rave about and recommend it to anyone that
loves to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2203 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Book 3)
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Book 3) by J. K. Rowling (Paperback - May 20 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews