Customer Reviews


2,022 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,830)
4 star:
 (116)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!
This has got to be my favourite series ever! I can't wait to read the next one. Two thumbs up.
Published 14 days ago by Karla Kamerman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars About Harry Potter 3
I thought I was going to get the Scholastic Edition but I got something different. Not bad but not what I was expecting. Sorry about that.
Published on Aug. 1 2011 by Jesus Velasco


‹ Previous | 1 2203 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, July 7 2014
This has got to be my favourite series ever! I can't wait to read the next one. Two thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best one!, June 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is my favourite book out of them all!! I never get tired of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book with a lot of meat and keeps you begging for more!, March 28 2014
Harry and his friends go to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry for the third year. Just before they get back to school, a prisoner – Sirius Black – escapes the wizard prison, Askaban. He is supposed to be a crazy murderer and from Lord Voldemort’s side. Is that the truth?

Then there is Buckbeak, the hippogriff – yet another fantastical creature brought to the school by Hagrid. While Hagrid is absolutely fascinated by such beasts, the school students – especially those belonging to Slytherin – Malfoy, Crabbe and Goyle – don’t agree. Black and Buckbeak are both in danger of being killed by the Ministry Of Magic officials. Will Harry and his friends be able to save them?

For the first time, the students have a good – no, great – defense against the dark arts teacher in the form of Professor Lupin. But, what they don’t know is that he is a werewolf. While Snape helps Lupin with the perfectly made potion so that the latter feels better, the former can’t wait to let everyone know that Lupin is a werewolf.

Ron and Harry also take up the new subject, Divination, much to their regret. Professor Trelawney keeps predicting Harry’s death during every class. If she had had her way, Harry would have died a few hundred times during his third year.

Dementor – another magical being introduced in this book. But unlike most others, Dementors are horrid creatures that suck the happiness out of souls and if allowed the souls themselves. Harry learns to make a ‘patronus’ to chase away the dementors. There is no witch or wizard his age who could produce a full-fledged patronus.

Hermione takes up three times as many subjects as the rest of the other students. While Ron and Harry wonder how she manages to get to all her classes, they realize towards the end of the year that she uses a time-turner that takes her back in time to attend all the classes. Amazing bit of magic! I am sure all of us would love to own this one.

Fred and George gift Harry a special parchment – a secret marauder’s map – that helps him know where everyone is within Hogwarts. Another fascinating object that had been created by Harry’s own father and his best friends.

Coping with his lessons, dementors, Quiddich and more, read the book to see how Harry and his friends manage through this year.

Over and above, they are set a special task by Professor Dumbledore and the threesome do manage to complete that successfully too.

Fascinating book with a lot of meat and keeps you begging for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read!, Feb. 8 2014
Excellent read, I enjoyed every earth shattering moment and I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoyed Harry Potter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, Oct. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Book was in excellent condition just like the poster said. I couldnt find anything wrong with it and the price was really cheap for it. Fast shipping too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present for Grandaughter, Sept. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You'll see that we bought a few books and the entire CD collection. Our Granddaughter just loved them. You just can't fail with a classic. The quality of the book's paper and binding was also good for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great service!, Sept. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book was enjoyable and it was in great condition. I was very impressed with the quality! Great job and great service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, April 4 2013
By 
K. Sheppard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved the Potter series. It is worth reading even if you have seen the movies. It gives you more insight into the charaters and also includes thoughts, ideas and extras that were not in the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban: He Grows Up, Sept. 28 2012
By 
Scoopriches (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As Harry and friends enter the emotionally charged teen world, this third volume in the series has become one of my favourites. From tormented family memories to gruesome mass murder to infernal government corruption, our heroes face many problems beyond the typical for thirteen year olds. And they find ways to conquer these trials and emerge triumphant. Harry, Ron and Hermione fight the power!

So many topics and themes to cover in what could be described as the first truly adult book in the series. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling starts with our first real taste of the corruption inside the Ministry of Magic, since it is not spelled out in the text, but I firmly believe they are aware of Sirius Black's innocence. Just a feeling, a vibe so to speak, I pick up from J.K. all along the way. But this is kept top level secret, hence even the Hogwart's Professors not knowing the truth. Harry is treated like a child (to prevent him from finding the truth), lied to (once he starts getting pieces of the truth), and not listened to (when he speaks the truth). All these experience give him the courage and knowledge to speak back to the know nothing adults throughout the other tales to come. Sometimes it feels like Harry in the only honest man in a room full of liars. Good for him!

The central issue the Ministry of Magic is trying to scrub clean is another decidedly mature concept. Never shown, even by Pensieve, is the mass murder slash terrorist attack which Sirius Black was imprisoned for. Death has been apart of J.K.'s writings straight from the start, and the subject of parental demise is a common trope, but the destruction of so many unnamed innocents is slightly more rattling then the norm for a book aimed at young adults. And I give J.K. enormous credit for this. Once again, she redefines the genre.

Which brings me to the aforementioned parents, James and Lily. Previous books have had to deal with Harry's grief, and learning more about them. But now, with the secret truth of the betrayal brought to life, Harry's hatred of his parents murderer is far more tangible. While Voldemort may have zapped the spell, he is simply formless either floating around unfound, the wretched Black on the other hand is very real and very physical. Someone who could be wrought vengeance upon. The interesting twist is how, when the ultimate truth is finally known, Harry shows mercy on the real killer. Let the courts decide. It may not work out well is this book, but this decision proves fruitful much later.

This entrance to maturity is great and much welcome. J.K. is not artificially holding her characters in some strange time loop, but letting them and the stories move forward. This first taste brings happiness galore. And with the promise of Voldemort's return, this glee should last awhile.

Scoopriches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3 words: Blew me away., July 28 2001
By 
This book is the best in the series and I can bet my life on the fact that it will remain that way until the end of these books. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is nothing short of brilliant, and I can´¿t explain the feeling you get when you are reading it. It is endlessly entertaining and amazingly original, you wonder where J.K. Rowling could ever get these ideas. It also brings up some new facts in the characters and some brand new magical creatures that I won´¿t give away just in case you haven´¿t read it. I doubt you haven´¿t read it, though, because basically the whole world is in love with these books and could finish them in a couple of days. The games of Quidditch are still fabulously entertaining. The characters are now pubescent which makes them able to feel new emotions ´¿ it keeps you awake at night wondering what will happen next. The finale is totally grand, mixing totally shocking ideas into magically nice descriptive language that truly brings to life a whole new revolution. I haven´¿t met one person who hasn´¿t claimed that this book is just great, flawless and spectacular. It seems everyone nowadays has good taste in books! Hooray for Harry Potter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2203 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Book 3)
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Book 3) by J. K. Rowling (Paperback - May 20 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews