Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly simple recipes that taste great
I've been a fan of Michael Smith's show on the Food Network for years but this is the first of his cookbooks that I've ever used. I wasn't sure what to expect from it, but it was love at first sight. This book is beautifully laid out - uncluttered, simple formatting of recipes and gorgeous photos of each dish. Even if you don't make a single one of the recipes in here, it...
Published on Dec 5 2009 by Andrea

versus
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, simple recipes
I love Michael Smith and I was really excited for this new book, hoping for a stellar follow-up to his last Chef at Home book. I was disappointed to find that many of the recipes were reprints or slight variations of recipes from that book (i.e. orange ginger beef, chocolate chip cookies) and I laughed out loud when I saw the recipe for a grilled cheese sandwich. However,...
Published on Jan. 24 2010 by Erin321


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection Simplified, June 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
Always the first cookbook that I grab. Simple to understand, no extra jargon, just great, down-home recipes and ideas. Writing this review is making me hungry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book of culinary ideas more than a book of recipes, March 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
This is not a traditional recipe book. Although it is written in the style of a recipe book, Chef Michael Smith encourages you to not do exactly what is written. I find that the best way to use this book is to read the recipe to get the general idea of ingredients, proportions and preparation, put the book aside, then prepare the dish from memory changing it as I see fit. Doing so actually makes cooking more interesting and enjoyable as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, Feb. 5 2013
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
It's wonderful and straight forward. He encourages you to keep tasting, testing, and adjusting the flavours to get what you want. Pretty much all of the ingredients can be found in a typical Canadian grocery store which is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cookbook, Dec 29 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
Love Chef Michael Smith and this cookbook has beautiful pictures and great simple recipes. Comfort food as you would expect from Michael.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Chef at Home, Dec 29 2012
By 
Dianne Marie Devereux (Courtenay, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
Great imaginative recipes. I bought three of Michel's cookbooks at once and they all get use often but this might be my favorite. Personal "taste" comes into that estimation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liberated cook, Aug. 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
Michael Smith has brought a whole new world of cooking into my kitchen.
Have been cooking for almost 70 years, and have always been considered a really good cook.
Well, now I'm also inventive and liberated.
Love this book and recommend it highly to cooks young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but not all recipes are homeruns, Feb. 17 2011
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
I really wanted to love Chef Michael Smith's cookbook. Visually, it is quite perfect, the layout, the quality of the paper as well as the photographs illustrating each recipe... but! Not all recipes are winners. I found the chicken and beef stews to be bland and boring, the miso soup was OK but not fantastic... that said the no-knead country bread was wonderful and easy and the butterscotch recipe perfect.

As a result, I found the quality of the recipes all over the map. This has created a lack of confidence in the recipes which makes choosing one challenging. If you are a fan of the show and have loved everything you have tried by Michael Smith, this will be a winner for you and your kitchen. The recipes are very simple and straightforward, perfect for the new cook.

But! If you enjoy complicated flavours with fascinating and innovative cooking techniques like me, you will probably be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
Book is in very good condition. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo, Dec 30 2009
By 
Gisèle Chartier "Épicurienne" (Québec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
Recettes simples mais délicieuses. Belles illustrations. Je l'aime tellement que je l'ai offert aussi en cadeau.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I certainly didn't need or want another cookbook BUT..., Dec 15 2009
By 
Wendy (Summerside, PEI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
My cupboard is full of unused cookbooks and then I got this cookbook and LOVE IT! I actually use this one. The recipe's are absolutely delicious and so easy to make and with ingredients found in most kitchens. A joy to cook with, THANK YOU Michael Smith! This is THE cookbook to have and a great gift for the person who has everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen
The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen by Michael Smith (Paperback - March 10 2011)
CDN$ 29.95 CDN$ 18.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews