Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly simple recipes that taste great
I've been a fan of Michael Smith's show on the Food Network for years but this is the first of his cookbooks that I've ever used. I wasn't sure what to expect from it, but it was love at first sight. This book is beautifully laid out - uncluttered, simple formatting of recipes and gorgeous photos of each dish. Even if you don't make a single one of the recipes in here, it...
Published on Dec 5 2009 by Andrea

versus
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, simple recipes
I love Michael Smith and I was really excited for this new book, hoping for a stellar follow-up to his last Chef at Home book. I was disappointed to find that many of the recipes were reprints or slight variations of recipes from that book (i.e. orange ginger beef, chocolate chip cookies) and I laughed out loud when I saw the recipe for a grilled cheese sandwich. However,...
Published on Jan. 24 2010 by Erin321


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo, Dec 30 2009
By 
Gisèle Chartier "Épicurienne" (Québec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
Recettes simples mais délicieuses. Belles illustrations. Je l'aime tellement que je l'ai offert aussi en cadeau.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing ... Too Basic, Jan. 16 2010
By 
Dia (West Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
Sorry, but to me this book is way too basic. I am a Michael Smith fan, but I got his basics from his first book. From the price and size, I expected more than a recipe for a basic grilled cheese sandwich, a basic hamburger, broth, chocolate chip cookies or a banana with peanut butter rolled in a wrap. While the book is very pretty with great photos(thus one of the stars,)I was really hoping for more. A few sections -- such as 10 ways to vary a basic salad dressing, or 10 different glazes for ham -- are helpful, but otherwise, pretty boring and not much that is new. I'm an experienced and adventurous cook so maybe this wasn't aimed at me. Too bad. Probably better for a starter cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You won't be disappointed with this cookbook., Dec 22 2009
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
My husband and I both love to cook from this book. I own several of Michael Smith's cookbooks and this one is by far our favourite when we don't have much time for lots of preparation or hard to find ingredients. The ingredients are easy to find and the recipes are relatively easy to prepare. The food is always delicious and we have recommended it to everyone who has eaten and admired the food cooked from this book. I have all ready given one as a gift and will be giving it to others in the future. Some of my favourite recipes from this book are the Braised Short ribs, and the Molten Chocolate cakes... which I made over and over again for a couple weeks straight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best cookbook ever, Jan. 28 2010
By 
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
This is a great cookbook for everyone as in most recipes almost all ingrediants are in your cupboard. The cookbook has easy to follow instructions and delicious recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Cookbook, Jan. 6 2010
By 
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
Simple easy to follow recipes that don't require too many ingredients and the best part is they taste great. Can't go wrong with Michael Smith in the kitchen with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!!, Jan. 18 2010
By 
N. Foran (Gatineau, QC CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
Great tasty recipes but what was best was how easy they all were to put together!!! Whole family loved it!! Thanks Michael
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best of chef at home, March 17 2010
By 
Ravenswood (Vernon British Columbia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
This book is so easy to follow the dishes practically cook themselves.You don't have to send out for rare ingredients because he uses what most people have in their home already.So far the dishes I've made are very flavourful.I would recommend this cook book to go with any person starting out on their own and has not cooked much . Have already bragged about it to family and friends.Five Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever, April 24 2010
By 
C. Fynn "FINN" (East Kootenays. B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
My husband bought this cook book for me for Christmas as he had seen Chef Michael on TV. I liked it so much I bought three and gave one to my sisterinlaw for her birthday. She was equally impressed-freestyle cooking is what I do best and it's so easy with his encouragement-not to mention great results! Plus lots of mouth watering photos that entice you to give it a try.Hats off to Chef at Home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My absolute favourite!!, Nov. 19 2010
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
This is my absolute favourite cookbook! All of the recipes are simple and delicious. I have made a lot of the items in the book and everything has turned out wonderfully. The biscuit, fruit crisp and chocolate cookie recipes are my favourites and they have all received rave reviews from my family and friends. I highly recommend this cookbook for cooks of all levels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Confidence Builder, Sept. 11 2010
This review is from: The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen (Paperback)
My wife has been intimidated by any food preperation other than the basic heating. Chef Michael's recipes and variations have moved her to take charge in the kitchen (and free me from it!!!). He provides guides and principles rather than ironclad rules. A great book for the aspiring gourmet, or anyone who wants to eat healthier and tastier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen
The Best of Chef at Home: Essential Recipes for Today's Kitchen by Michael Smith (Paperback - March 10 2011)
CDN$ 29.95 CDN$ 18.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews