Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring story of a different way of life
My Maasai Life tells the story of Robin, a young woman who left behind all of her belongings, friends, and family and entered a world and culture so removed from anything she ever experienced. Robin spends a year living in a mud hut with a Maasai family. She learns Swahili and performs daily chores like collecting water and firewood, cooking, and cleaning. This memoir is...
Published on Aug. 24 2009 by D. Claflin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It was not too bad. Not as good as White Maasai
It was not too bad. Not as good as White Maasai, but fairly interesting.
Published 28 days ago by Animal Lover


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring story of a different way of life, Aug. 24 2009
By 
D. Claflin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Maasai Life: From Suburbia to Savannah (Paperback)
My Maasai Life tells the story of Robin, a young woman who left behind all of her belongings, friends, and family and entered a world and culture so removed from anything she ever experienced. Robin spends a year living in a mud hut with a Maasai family. She learns Swahili and performs daily chores like collecting water and firewood, cooking, and cleaning. This memoir is beautifully written and provides readers a glimpse into the culture and way of life of the Maasai community/people in Africa. For anyone who ever wished to, or is planning on, a similar sort of adventure, this book is the perfect preview into the life you should expect to encounter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure leads to satisfaction and helping others, Dec 1 2009
By 
This review is from: My Maasai Life: From Suburbia to Savannah (Paperback)
This book should be available to every intermediate school classroom, as it demonstrates how one young woman who admits she was "not an ideal adolescent" and had a "rebellious urge" found the direction for her life in Kenya. Robin's book should also appeal to adult book clubs as it incorporates further discussion questions at the end. The telling of Robin's story weaves in the family values and the closeness and caring that is so powerful, and strength of Maasai rural society! A piece of my heart remains there.
Dr. Sandra Reid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Recollection, Nov. 12 2009
This review is from: My Maasai Life: From Suburbia to Savannah (Paperback)
Insightful story that really makes you consider what you are doing and why you are doing it. Reading this first-hand account helps bring the Maasai culture to life. I learned many new things and gained a new appreciation for problems facing many in Kenya as well as other parts of the world. Wiszowaty embarked on an incredible journey that most people like myself could never do. Her experience really should be read by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully moving and educational...beautifully written., Dec 25 2009
By 
Lorraine G (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Maasai Life: From Suburbia to Savannah (Paperback)
This is a lovely book with an inspirational message. Gives a stunning look into the life of a young woman searching for meaning in her life. She finds it...and wow!! what a story! I would recommend this book for anyone. I have had the pleasure of meeting this author recently, and she is even more inspiring in real life. This is, without doubt, a five-star book. Good for any age group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars poignant story, March 15 2010
By 
N. Straub "book lover" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Maasai Life: From Suburbia to Savannah (Paperback)
After climbing Mount Kilimanjaro and visiting an authentic Maasai village, this helped gain an understanding of what life was really like in the life of a maasai woman or man despite modernisms in the world around them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful & inspiring, Oct. 10 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Maasai Life: From Suburbia to Savannah (Paperback)
This book should be mandatory reading for all high school students. Perfect for teenagers and adults. Robin introduces us to a different culture in a way that makes you envious not to be part of the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, Sept. 16 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Interesting author and fascinating story, as well as a shoutout to help make the world a better place. Good for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you go girl, Feb. 1 2010
By 
Anne L. Lumley (ontario, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Maasai Life: From Suburbia to Savannah (Paperback)
an easy, entertaining read. adventure and personally transforming. satisfied my curiosity about africa. sweetly romantic, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful story of a personal journey, Sept. 11 2014
By 
J. (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm not incredibly eloquent in reviews but to me this is a must read. An honest story from Robin of her journey to being a remarkable woman. I have been on a Me to We trip and have seen the differences first hand that Free the Children are making. This makes me fall in love more with the Kenyan people and the work they are doing. Assante sana, Robin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING novel. So well written, Nov. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Maasai Life: From Suburbia to Savannah (Paperback)
AMAZING novel. So well written, insightful, beautiful, and captivating. A necessary read for anyone who has thirsted for something beyond suburbia and the Western way of life. It completely took me back to my own adventure in Kenya this past summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Maasai Life: From Suburbia to Savannah
My Maasai Life: From Suburbia to Savannah by Robin Wiszowaty (Paperback - July 31 2009)
CDN$ 22.95 CDN$ 16.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews