Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, funny, and unexpected
Writer Michael Vlessides, who used to live in Yellowknife, heads back up north and spends time with the Buffalo Airways pilots and crew, including Mikey McBryan and Buffalo Joe, telling behind-the-scenes stories and weaving in anecdotes about Native people in the north, dog sledding, bush pilots, and aviation history. His determination to crack the hot-tempered Joe...
Published on Feb. 2 2012 by Kathy Parks

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What has happened to proofreading
Light and entertaining. But man, what has become of proofreading? Even as I skimmed along, I found spelling errors and this statement.

If you asked Mikey if it's easier to get mechanics or pilots and you answered pilots, your wrong. Pilots are a dime a dozen. Or something like that. Wait. What? Pilots are..huh?
Published on April 2 2012 by Gord


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, funny, and unexpected, Feb. 2 2012
This review is from: Ice Pilots (Paperback)
Writer Michael Vlessides, who used to live in Yellowknife, heads back up north and spends time with the Buffalo Airways pilots and crew, including Mikey McBryan and Buffalo Joe, telling behind-the-scenes stories and weaving in anecdotes about Native people in the north, dog sledding, bush pilots, and aviation history. His determination to crack the hot-tempered Joe becomes part of the story, with Joe occasionally softening up and sharing stories about his childhood in a mining camp and about his early days of flying, and being taught by his mentor, famous bush pilot Chuck McAvoy. There's tons of information in it that you don't get to see on the show, and it's fast-paced and funny. Recommended for fans of Ice Pilots NWT, Arctic Air, the north and aviation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What has happened to proofreading, April 2 2012
This review is from: Ice Pilots (Paperback)
Light and entertaining. But man, what has become of proofreading? Even as I skimmed along, I found spelling errors and this statement.

If you asked Mikey if it's easier to get mechanics or pilots and you answered pilots, your wrong. Pilots are a dime a dozen. Or something like that. Wait. What? Pilots are..huh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Request and Comments, July 27 2013
By 
P. Pawsey "Phil" (Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Pilots (Paperback)
I thought the book was great, easy to read and has made the TV series more interesting. Would like to contact the author because before joining the RCAF in 1942, I drove a gravel truck with about five 45 gallon barrells of aviation gas to Alexandra Falls. We dumped them at an emergency landing strip.
Phil Pawsey
Retired RCAF TCA/AirCanada
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book!, April 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Pilots (Paperback)
More on the lives and loves of the McBryan family
and the people who work for Buffalo Airways.
A Canadian business and it's struggles to survive
in our Canadian north.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For fans of Ice Pilots NWT television show, Jan. 2 2013
By 
Lamar Bevil (Greenwell Springs, LA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Pilots (Paperback)
An excellent companion volume to the TV series gives background and details not seen on the show. Very informative and well written. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ice Pilots
Ice Pilots by Michael Vlessides (Paperback - Jan. 6 2012)
CDN$ 21.95 CDN$ 15.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews