Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literary non-fiction at its best
I read this a few months ago, when it first came out. Like a lot of Canadians, I tree-planted for one summer, 20 years ago. So I'm not a die-hard tree-planter or anything, but I was curious to read the author's take on a quintessentially Canadian rite of passage. It ended up being a very pleasant surprise -- it's absolutely beautifully written, an incredible portrait of a...
Published on Dec 19 2011 by Alex H

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars merg
not that great. It seems she condensed all her adventures into the tale of just 1 summer. The concept is great but it didn't feel as good of a read as you think it should be. Fascinating first hand information though about the toll of a 'renewable resource' and the cost on the environment.
Published 7 months ago by Heather


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literary non-fiction at its best, Dec 19 2011
This review is from: Eating Dirt: Deep Forests, Big Timber, and Life with the Tree-Planting Tribe (Hardcover)
I read this a few months ago, when it first came out. Like a lot of Canadians, I tree-planted for one summer, 20 years ago. So I'm not a die-hard tree-planter or anything, but I was curious to read the author's take on a quintessentially Canadian rite of passage. It ended up being a very pleasant surprise -- it's absolutely beautifully written, an incredible portrait of a region, an occupation, and a tribe of people. Gill is better known as a fiction writer, and it shows: she tells us an engaging story, instead of just listing a bunch of facts.

Anyway, I noticed over the past week that the book has just been short-listed for the BC prize and long-listed for the Charles Taylor Prize, so I figured I'd put a review up. The nominations are well-deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One that you'll pass around, Dec 27 2011
By 
Jonathan Clark "DJ Bolivia" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eating Dirt: Deep Forests, Big Timber, and Life with the Tree-Planting Tribe (Hardcover)
As a tree planter myself of over twenty years (see the Replant website), I loved this book. But even if I wasn't a planter, I think I would have really enjoyed it. Despite my own lengthy time in silviculture, I actually learned a lot about the logging side of the industry by reading this one. I think this is a book that you'll share ... my parents have both read it now too, and they also enjoyed it. As has been said already, this one is very well-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insiders perspective, Dec 12 2011
This review is from: Eating Dirt: Deep Forests, Big Timber, and Life with the Tree-Planting Tribe (Hardcover)
Being someone who has worked with the Author and most of the characters in the book. I found this book to be a very well written, accurate, account of life as a professional treeplanter. Couldn't put it down.
It is like having a memoir of my experiences working the coast of B.C. and I will cherish this book forever. Thanks Charolette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eating Dirt, April 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eating Dirt: Deep Forests, Big Timber, and Life with the Tree-Planting Tribe (Hardcover)
Excellent read -- entertaining and funny but lots of important information shared as well. A must read for all Canadians interested in the forests of our country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars merg, Jan. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eating Dirt: Deep Forests, Big Timber, and Life with the Tree-Planting Tribe (Hardcover)
not that great. It seems she condensed all her adventures into the tale of just 1 summer. The concept is great but it didn't feel as good of a read as you think it should be. Fascinating first hand information though about the toll of a 'renewable resource' and the cost on the environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eating Dirt: Deep Forests, Big Timber, and Life with the Tree-Planting Tribe
CDN$ 22.95 CDN$ 16.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews