Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A serious reference manual., Nov. 23 2008
By 
Jamieren (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
For good reason, I purchased this after reading "Nightwatch" by the same author, which I would highly recommend as a first book. After getting a primer from the above mentioned book, I was thirsty for more depth. Through reading this book I've been granted a greater understanding of the workings of our solar system, a solid foundation from which to choose eyepieces (if you're familiar with the potential costs on these items, that alone is worth the cover price!), and a launching pad towards other books & materials in accordance with the opinions of the authors. I own the latest revision (2008?) and can say it looks completely up to date in terms of products & information covered. This book has more information than I'll probably ever need but it's been a blast reading it through. It takes the framework established in Nightwatch and expands on it several times over. I especially liked small touches such as the infrequent blurbs about Charles Messier or the 'Leviathan of Parsonstown' -little snippets of astronomy history any enthusiast would find enthralling. The photographs and illustrations are top-notch, nicely complementing the text. I will concede that much of the info offered by the book is readily available on the internet, but it is all neatly organized and conveniently waiting for you at the flip of a fingertip here.

In summary, I would not recommend you consider this an introduction to astronomy, but would rather suggest 'Nightwatch' as better reading for the beginner. Those who are ready to make a serious investment (of time &/or money) into the hobby of astronomy need look no further for an exhaustive reference on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, July 24 2010
By 
Michael Olden "starcrazy" (calgary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
I got this book from the library, read a lot of it, like half, and got excited that I bought it on amazon. Now I have my own. it covers everything,from what you can see with your two eyes and what you can see with binculars and different types of telescopes. Some history and where we are going with the hobby,.Most important is advice, the dos and donts, this will save you thousands of dollars, and most important, what you can expect to see from a dark site or the city .It also covers a bit of astro photography,which is important to you in real life cameras,and lots more info you may need
Yes ,the people that put this book together, were great at explaining how it all works, it is a masterpiece an should be in your home library, and you may use it a lot and the links it recommends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, June 5 2009
By 
Jim Schaefer (Winnipeg ,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
The Backyard Astronomers guide is an excellent book on all aspects of Astronomy . From selecting a telescope, eyepieces, & filters to advanced Astronomy and deep sky observing. A must have book for beginners and veterns alike. From choosing equipment to observing to advanced tips and techniques,Astrophotography and care and mantainence of your telescope and equipment.Terrence Dickinson & Alan Dyer do a master job of covering all aspects and questions in this , wonderful world of Astronomy. Highly reccomended! 5 stars all around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of the best books for budding amateur astronomers or even seasoned vets, Sept. 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
This is one of the best books for budding amateur astronomers or even seasoned vets. Terrance Dickinson covers everything you can possibly want from starting out, to astrophotography, and gets it right. A must read that you won't want to put down and one you will reference for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, May 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
Mr Dickinson has compiled a reference for anyone wanting to get into this hobby.He covers all aspects in being an amateur astronomer in an easy to read book that will definitely satisfy all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A "Gotta Have", May 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
Excellent resource and value. This will be a book the amateur astronomer will wear out. High quality printing, layout, design and graphics. Very concise and up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An essential..., March 7 2012
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
I think to begin in astronomy the first step to do is get this book ... Well written, nice layout, great pictures. An essential...The best book on amateur astronomy that I read... all there. It's really a reference, only downside, no French translation available ... But written with a highly technical vocabulary, so readable even for an idiot like me.

Le meilleur livre sur L'astronomie amateur que j'ai lue...tout y est. C'est vraiment une référence seul bémol, aucune traduction française de disponible...Mais écrit avec un vocabulaire très technique donc déchiffrable même pour un poche en anglais comme moi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Guide, Oct. 20 2009
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
This is an absolute must for every beginner in Astronomy. Dickinson's book is the standard for beginning astronomers, and is well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best astronomy book I own, Jan. 13 2010
By 
Etienne Rollin (Gatineau, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
I own more than 20 astronomy books, this one is the best. Even experienced amateurs will find it interesting and will learn from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
Great resource, well laid out, fast delivery, a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Backyard Astronomer's Guide
The Backyard Astronomer's Guide by Alan Dyer (Hardcover - Sept. 12 2008)
CDN$ 49.95 CDN$ 31.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews