march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars23
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$28.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on July 24, 2010
I got this book from the library, read a lot of it, like half, and got excited that I bought it on amazon. Now I have my own. it covers everything,from what you can see with your two eyes and what you can see with binculars and different types of telescopes. Some history and where we are going with the hobby,.Most important is advice, the dos and donts, this will save you thousands of dollars, and most important, what you can expect to see from a dark site or the city .It also covers a bit of astro photography,which is important to you in real life cameras,and lots more info you may need
Yes ,the people that put this book together, were great at explaining how it all works, it is a masterpiece an should be in your home library, and you may use it a lot and the links it recommends
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2009
The Backyard Astronomers guide is an excellent book on all aspects of Astronomy . From selecting a telescope, eyepieces, & filters to advanced Astronomy and deep sky observing. A must have book for beginners and veterns alike. From choosing equipment to observing to advanced tips and techniques,Astrophotography and care and mantainence of your telescope and equipment.Terrence Dickinson & Alan Dyer do a master job of covering all aspects and questions in this , wonderful world of Astronomy. Highly reccomended! 5 stars all around!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2015
I bought it for my adult son who has long wanted to buy a really good telescope plus related equipment. He says this is precisely what he needed
and is busy now, reading the book which is filled with information regarding the purchase. When he gets organized, I'll order him a book more on sky exploration.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2014
This is one of the best books for budding amateur astronomers or even seasoned vets. Terrance Dickinson covers everything you can possibly want from starting out, to astrophotography, and gets it right. A must read that you won't want to put down and one you will reference for a long time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2014
Mr Dickinson has compiled a reference for anyone wanting to get into this hobby.He covers all aspects in being an amateur astronomer in an easy to read book that will definitely satisfy all.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2009
This is an absolute must for every beginner in Astronomy. Dickinson's book is the standard for beginning astronomers, and is well worth the price.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2010
I own more than 20 astronomy books, this one is the best. Even experienced amateurs will find it interesting and will learn from it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2015
Wonderful astronomy book. It's like a bible for astronomy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2014
Great resource, well laid out, fast delivery, a keeper.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2016
Very comprehensive. Great for the novice.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse