Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift
I think this was useful. It was a give some time again. How to books are always useful and Mike Holmes is one smart man.
Published 6 months ago by Patricia Eastwood

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed no details
I gotta admit, I was excited that this book would lay out the major backbone for me to act on a project to finish my 800 sq ft basement. Not so.

He talks a lot about insulation and doing it right, but no specific resources for self-learning. Instead, seems to spend a lot of energy on his method, then tells you to get a contractor. I don't get it. Also,...
Published on Nov. 20 2011 by Johnny Than


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed no details, Nov. 20 2011
This review is from: Make It Right Attics And Basements (Paperback)
I gotta admit, I was excited that this book would lay out the major backbone for me to act on a project to finish my 800 sq ft basement. Not so.

He talks a lot about insulation and doing it right, but no specific resources for self-learning. Instead, seems to spend a lot of energy on his method, then tells you to get a contractor. I don't get it. Also, little to no information on framing, finishing, dry walling, and plumbing.

Further, after checking with some contractors, the foam board methodology he promotes has potential issues with health, same with the foam filler for the joist headers.

I just felt this book overpromised. I was looking for a significant manual on how-to or at least on 'what to read/learn about' and i didn't get that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for the do-it-yourselfer, Dec 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make It Right Attics And Basements (Paperback)
This book is definitely NOT for the person looking to finish their basement themselves. While there are a few good pointers for designing and planning the project, there are very few details, and for virtually every stage he recommends hiring a professional to do it; even for painting and trim work. If you are planning on hiring a contractor for the entire project, this book might be for you, if not, pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too high level, Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make It Right Attics And Basements (Paperback)
Too high level. The bookmismfull of good general advices but there is no technical details.
This is not for the DIY type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift, Feb. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make It Right Attics And Basements (Paperback)
I think this was useful. It was a give some time again. How to books are always useful and Mike Holmes is one smart man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, April 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make It Right Attics And Basements (Paperback)
lots of help with our renovation project. Book was in good shape and arrived on time. Would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Advice, March 22 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Make It Right Attics And Basements (Paperback)
What a great book. I've been looking for something like this where solid advice is given from a neutral and experienced source. Highly recommended for anyone considering a basement or attic reno
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Make It Right Attics And Basements
Make It Right Attics And Basements by Mike Holmes (Paperback - Feb. 18 2011)
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 16.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews