Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect toolbox to make sleeping through the night easy for your baby!
To all the desperately sleep-deprived parents out there: read this book before you start trying to encourage your baby to sleep through the night, give up night feedings, or change other difficult patterns! Me. my partner and our son benefitted hugely from the guidelines and insights provided by the authors of this book.

The foundation of the book is that all...
Published on April 3 2009 by Second Mom

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not helpful advice if you've already started sleep training
This book advises different approaches towards sleep training, depending on the baby's age. This book provides an important perspective on what your child might feel about sleep/rest/alone time. If you haven't already started sleep training, this book might be useful because it will suggest what sleep training method is appropriate to start with- depending on your...
Published on April 28 2009 by J. Geyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect toolbox to make sleeping through the night easy for your baby!, April 3 2009
By 
This review is from: Bed Timing: The "when-to" guide to helping your child to sleep (Paperback)
To all the desperately sleep-deprived parents out there: read this book before you start trying to encourage your baby to sleep through the night, give up night feedings, or change other difficult patterns! Me. my partner and our son benefitted hugely from the guidelines and insights provided by the authors of this book.

The foundation of the book is that all children go through predictable developmental stages, some of which are more ideal for changing a baby's schedule. Their basic premise is that parents will have the greatest success with big changes - including sleep "training" - if they manage to time it right according to these accepted developmental milestones. The idea is to pick the periods when the baby/toddler is at their most stable, so that they will accept change more easily.

I can personally say that this idea of timing is absolutely critical, and that regardless of what your sleep philosophy is (no-cry sleep solution, Ferber, Weissbluth, baby whisperer, etc.), the information in this book will make yours and your baby's life SO much easier. For example, friends of ours who did not have the benefit of this book tried to "train" their child to sleep through the night/give up night feedings at 9 months -- which is one of the times, the authors of this books say, when parents should NOT make any changes as it is the first big peak of separation anxiety --well, it was a complete disaster! Save yourself and your baby a great deal of anxiety, stress and desperation by following the timing guidelines in this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sleep Book EVER!!!, April 1 2009
This review is from: Bed Timing: The "when-to" guide to helping your child to sleep (Paperback)
This is truly an AMAZING resource for all parents and caregivers. I am the mother of a two and a half year old and a five month old. I really wish I had this book when my first was wee. I have read almost all of the sleep books out there and this one is the most useful and informative. It tells you what is going emotionally and cognitively for your 0-4 year old. So in addition to answering many of your sleep questions, it will also tell you how your babes think, develop and feel about life in general at each particular stage/age.
I can't get over how fascinating the information is and how helpful it is. I learned so much about my five month old and even more about my two year old. I will always buy this book for any of my friends who are about to become parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Effective Book, March 30 2009
By 
Daniel Balter (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bed Timing: The "when-to" guide to helping your child to sleep (Paperback)
I bought this book for my daughter to use with her 12-month old. I just
heard back from her that she's thrilled to have all this great information
about what's going on in her little girl's head (and heart). This is the
first book that I've come across that is completely non-judgmental about
WHAT sleep-training technique a parent chooses for their child -- the
authors just give objective advice about the best ages and stages to start
ANY sleep training technique (and they summarize the top 5 or so, which is
nice). It's well-written, easy to follow, but also doesn't dumb down the
science. I highly recommend it to new and experienced parents alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for parents of babies and young children, March 25 2009
By 
M. Seto (Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bed Timing: The "when-to" guide to helping your child to sleep (Paperback)
This is the best book on sleep training I've read, and as the father of an 18-mo-old, I've read quite a few already! Lots of practical and helpful advice about sleep training. The authors are developmental psychologists and parents of twin boys and focus on WHEN, not just how, to sleep train.

I jumped right to the handy chart at the back to see where we are with our son and to learn about the stage he's in and the stages that are coming. One of the things I really enjoyed about this book is that the authors explain how sleep fits with the many cognitive, emotional and social developments that are going on in our little boy's brain. Fascinating information, and it helped explained so much of what we see going on every day. The authors are academics but they write in clear, accessible language. Their enthusiasm for the topic and empathy for other parents is clear; I heard them on an Ontario Today show recently as they took calls from sleep-deprived parents looking for good advice.

I would highly recommend this book to all parents. Other sleep training books will be helpful in finding the right techniques for you and your family, but this book will tell you about the best (and challenging) times to use those techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best sleep book on the market, andthen some, March 20 2009
By 
M. Chivers (Kingston, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bed Timing: The "when-to" guide to helping your child to sleep (Paperback)
Finally, a book that tells you WHEN to sleep train. We read so many others that talk about techniques but no discussion of timing, leaving us frustrated when the techniques didn't work. This is the first that actually tells you when the best times are to try sleep training and backs it up with sound research. The authors clearly know their stuff -- they are both developmental psychologists and parents of twins --plus they know how to communicate the important stuff to sleep-deprived parents. Can't say enough good things about the table in the back of the book that outlines when to and not to attempt sleep training. Heard the authors on CBC radio last week and their advice to callers was fantastic.

Also, this is the first book I've come across that tells you, in an easily accessible and engaging way, what is going on with your kid's emotional, cognitive, and social development at every stage. I really enjoyed reading about our 17 month-old's inner world. Now so much of what he is up to these days makes sense.

As for the sleep, well, our son is no longer doing the 3-4-5 am wake-ups for milk and he's sleeping 7 to 7, thanks to their awesome tips. We are finally ALL getting a good night's sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars missing piece of the sleep puzzle, March 30 2009
This review is from: Bed Timing: The "when-to" guide to helping your child to sleep (Paperback)
Finally, a book that fills in the missing piece of the child sleep puzzle. The really nice thing about this book is that it does not judge whatever method you choose to "train" your child to sleep. Instead, the authors provide valuable information about your child's development to help you target periods that might be optimal for getting a return on your sleep "training" efforts. It's the lack of judgement and the digestible to the lay person prose that really makes this book work for me. Highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must read" for any parent, March 27 2009
This review is from: Bed Timing: The "when-to" guide to helping your child to sleep (Paperback)
This book reflects a century of developmental research that has documented a regular, stage-like progression from infancy through childhood. Finally this knowledge has been applied to one of the most distressing and confusing parts of parenting infants and toddlers: sleep. Written in a friendly and down-to-earth tone, the authors provide a fascinating overview of the developmental science as well as a highly practical how-to guide. This book should be required reading for every parent of a newborn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not really a sleep training book, but interesting, Dec 31 2010
This review is from: Bed Timing: The "when-to" guide to helping your child to sleep (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book; lots of very interesting information on child development during different periods, and then how that might tie in to sleeping and sleep training. But just a note of caution: this is not, in itself, a sleep training book or guide. It tells you about development and when to work on sleep skills, but not much info on HOW. I would suggest to parents to buy this book first. It will provide helpful info and is very readable. It discusses a bit about each of the various sleep training methods out there. Once you've read it, then I think you'd be in a really good position to decide which sleep training book or books you might want to purchase, and when. For example, I've decided to wait until my baby is 5.5 months to do any sleep training. Overall, I would certainly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you need your sleep...this is the book, Sept. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bed Timing: The "when-to" guide to helping your child to sleep (Paperback)
Love it! Clear and easy to read. This book charts baby development and recommends when to try sleep training. It works and it makes sense. I now buy it for all new parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must have in any new parents library, Aug. 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bed Timing: The "when-to" guide to helping your child to sleep (Paperback)
I am so glad I stumbled on this book at Chapters before the delivery of my son. Sleep training is not only one of the most important milestone to achieve with your baby but the method type becomes one of the most personal (i.e. cry it out or not). What this book does is put into context the TIMING of it all and why certain ages no sleep training would work and/or serve frustrating for both you and your child and when the best window of opportunity would be to achieve successful results. We as parents are already sleep deprived, why add on extra sleep deprivation and frustration in trying to implement sleep training during developmental milestones that make it very challenging. This book (out of all sleep books) explains the best and not so best times to begin sleep training. GREAT BOOK! MUST HAVE doesn't matter the method you choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bed Timing: The "when-to" guide to helping your child to sleep
Bed Timing: The "when-to" guide to helping your child to sleep by Isabela Granic (Paperback - Feb. 13 2009)
CDN$ 16.50 CDN$ 11.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews