Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For a whirlwird of emotions...This book has it all!
"Playing With Fire" written by Theoren Fleury, far exceeded my expectations. Once I picked it up it was very hard to put back down. Whether you are a sports fan or not, you will enjoy this book. It provides a detailed look into Theo's life and both the positive and negative experiences that he encountered. It also outlines his experiences with sex, drugs, alcohol and...
Published on Oct. 24 2009 by Chantelle Lemieux

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars still bitter
I am not a real fan of professional hockey so Fleury's book was an eye opener. The reader gets a behind the scenes look at the world that many hockey players live as a result of having too much success and too much money at such a young age.
Fleury comes across as New Year's fireworks: new, dramatic, awesome, colourful, and wasted.
The abuse that he...
Published on Jan. 7 2010 by H. W. Cole


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book., Nov. 30 2009
By 
This review is from: Playing With Fire (Hardcover)
My husband really enjoyed the book and I even read a bit and wanted to read more. It's interesting to read about his life and how it was so hard for him. TO hear it through his own words is interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Nov. 21 2009
By 
Gary Bridger (Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Playing With Fire (Hardcover)
This is a great book ,it will blow your mind what this guy went through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiration For Those Who Have A Dream, Feb. 23 2011
This review is from: Playing With Fire (Hardcover)
Theo Fleury is a paradox in the world of pro sports.
A guy who physically beat the odds and climbed to the apex in professional hockey, not only making the NHL when he was discounted and discouraged, but to go on to represent his country to win Olympic Gold, the World Championships and a Stanley Cup with the Calgary Flames.
Few players if any, in professional hockey can profess to have risen to his level of accomplishment.
This is the real story here.
In as much as he lived in anarchy with too much money, booze, drugs, gambling and women, Fleury was a by-product of the free access which is the marker of an elite player in professional sports.
His navigation of his vices while playing at the highest competitive levels was remarkable as he continued to rise as one of the NHL's top paid, high quality players.
As a player, he knew no boundaries on ice, and the same went for his personal life.
His story is an inspiration for those who are told "you can't". He not only "did", but he conquered his off ice battles with as much bravado as he did on the ice.
This book is as raw as you get. From a little boy growing up on the frozen prairie of Manitoba, surrounded by family dysfunction and addiction, he talks openly and honestly about his rise to fame.
Fleury pulls no punches, and didn't appear to sugar-coat any of his suffering and off-ice troubles. He talks about those who helped him, those like Wayne Gretzky who still recognized Fleury's talent during his darkest hours and those who outright shunned him because of his addictions.
This is an unadulterated inside view of pro hockey through the lens of an addict who participates in it, and is as close as you are going to get to the inner workings and hypocrisy of NHL teams, the league and the players themselves.
Fleury and Kirstie McLellan Day do a wonderful job of bringing his agony to life, as well as inspiring those who desire to play professional hockey or simply to rid themselves of similar demons which he successfully has accomplished.
A great easy read, and a wonderful way to really understand Theo Fleury's story, first hand.
Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best hockey book EVER!, Jan. 11 2010
By 
Susan E. Shaw (PEI, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Playing With Fire (Hardcover)
When I started reading this, I couldn't put it down. It grabs you from page one. He is very candid and the language is very vivid, but it is REAL. This story made me cry, laugh and much more. You don't have to be a hockey fan as well to enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Playing with Fire, Dec 15 2010
This review is from: Playing With Fire (Hardcover)
Although Theo is not a literary great by any means, (the contrary maybe) this book is an exceptional read. I recommend this book to anyone who has been privy to difficulties in life. Whether your own adversity or that of loved one within your circle of relatives and friends. It's NOT just for hockey fans. A very entertaining, interesting, thought provoking and emotional story. It's as I mentioned "exceptional"...........Darrell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great hockey story, Nov. 20 2009
This review is from: Playing With Fire (Hardcover)
Great man, great book!

Here is another winner you will love & someone who played against Theo:

Snowboarding, ice hockey, survival + much more; this book will blow your minds... just read the prologue & you will not put this book down until your final sigh as you close the cover! It is amazing, this inspirational book that will forever change you. The National Library of Congress has purchased this book for all returning veterans from the war it is so good & will be a feature film in the next year.

[[Crystal Clear: The Inspiring True World Record Survival Story of How a Professional, Olympic and World Champion Ice Hockey Player Lost His Legs Due to Frostbite and an Addiction to Crystal Meth Only to Find a Better Life]]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book you CANT put down - and I'm a woman!, Dec 31 2010
This review is from: Playing With Fire: The Highest Highs And Lowest Lows Of Theo Fleury (Paperback)
It was an unbelievable story written extremely well. It was so close to home. I wanted to keep reading it and was disappointed when I had completed the book. What will I read next - will be hard to measure up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars TIME MACHINE!!, April 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Playing With Fire (Kindle Edition)
I wanted to read this book after seeing Theo figure skating in a pairs competition on CBC, it is where I think he and his partner skated to a song he wrote and sang. The story took me back to my drink rat days, figure skating practices, buying extra ice time, then coming back to watch my brother playing hockey, in another small town like Russel Manitoba. I grew up just 100 miles from the Saskatchewan/Manitoba border, and there were very similar things I was into, just like Theo and friends in the small town. The only thing I did not like was the frequent use of the "f-word", but it is part of his personality, so let it go near the front of the book. All in all it was a memory stirring, very interesting book, learned a lot of NHL tidbits I had always wondered about, since hockey was important in our life. Nice to see Trent Yawney mentioned, as he grew up across the street from my family, and I babysat him a few times. Yes, read this book, an honest story from rags to riches, then riches of a heart, how anyone can go home again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New perspective, Jan. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Playing With Fire (Kindle Edition)
This book certainly gave a new perspective on the junior and NHL hockey Structure. The author's honesty in sharing his experiences and perspectives made this book a very good read. The language had a raw appeal reflecting the author's voice as personal history unfolded. His ultimate willingness to step forward and reveal through this book and public forums just how wrong things can go when a vulnerable teen leaves home to play hockey provided some riveting reading. A book which is a must read for anyone with children, hockey family or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scary scary, Dec 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Some people may take Mr. Fluery as being arrogant. I take it as being confident and now free.
Very good read very insightful.
One of the few athletes willing to speak his mind.
Glad to see an athlete speak out against the old guard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Playing With Fire: The Highest Highs And Lowest Lows Of Theo Fleury
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews