Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review by ND of The Death of Bunny Munro
As far as the product is concerned, the book arrived on time & in perfect condition. The book itself: a crazy, funny & also kind of sad story worth your time. If you like Nick Cave's lyrics and melodies, you will enjoy this book
Published on Oct. 26 2009 by N. Dumont

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Road story...
Bunny Munro, the hero of this somewhat strange novel, is a traveling salesman promoting his samples of beauty products to women in small towns around Brighton in Southern England. Visiting an oddly disparate collection of women he does much more than selling his wares. In his self-assessment he is the irresistible charmer and seducer, thanks in part to his "lovelock",...
Published on Jan. 26 2010 by Friederike Knabe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Road story..., Jan. 26 2010
By 
Friederike Knabe "Books are funny little port... (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Death Of Bunny Munro (Hardcover)
Bunny Munro, the hero of this somewhat strange novel, is a traveling salesman promoting his samples of beauty products to women in small towns around Brighton in Southern England. Visiting an oddly disparate collection of women he does much more than selling his wares. In his self-assessment he is the irresistible charmer and seducer, thanks in part to his "lovelock", that, heavily pomaded, winks enticingly at any woman he encounters. Since the suicide of his "beloved" wife Libby, his stable framework is crumbling. He feels constantly observed by somebody and suffers from premonitions of death... In desperation he hits the road to escape and to do the only thing he knows well...

Seen as a farce and satire on human, in particular male, behaviour, one might get some enjoyment out of reading the travails of Bunny and his women. The lurid descriptions, however, become predictable and repetitive... No doubt, he is a sex addict of a certain kind more than anything else; if no suitable object for his almost constant availability is in his field of vision, he gets himself into the mood for the next encounter by imagining Avril Lavigne's "mother of all" private parts.

I have to admit that this is not my kind of book. Still, I have to respect Cave's writing excellence when it comes to evoking the seedy to depressing atmosphere of the apartments, houses or restaurants and their neighbourhoods that Bunny visits. With a few deft strokes he also captures the essence of the people the salesman meets. When later on in the story he recalls images of his characters, and in particular the women's more or less attractive body parts, the reader will also remember the individuals and the encounters the hero had with them.

But, life is more complicated, exemplified by Bunny junior, Bunny's nine-year old quiet, encyclopedia-reading son who misses his mum terribly. He has to "learn the ropes" and travel with Bunny from one appointment to another, of course, sitting in the car outside. The father-son relationship, or the more or less successful efforts by both to have such a relationship, adds a more serious aspect to Cave's novel. Does it work? For me the relationship between the two did not salvage the book. Without giving away developments towards the end, one can say that roles between the two will change over time. A quote on the back book flap mentions Cormac McCarthy (and Franz Kafka!). Anybody who has read The Road where the father-son relationship is central and also carries the novel beautifully, will find any such comparison here out of place. [Friederike Knabe]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review by ND of The Death of Bunny Munro, Oct. 26 2009
By 
N. Dumont "book lover" (Victoria, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Death Of Bunny Munro (Hardcover)
As far as the product is concerned, the book arrived on time & in perfect condition. The book itself: a crazy, funny & also kind of sad story worth your time. If you like Nick Cave's lyrics and melodies, you will enjoy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Ach!, Jan. 3 2012
I've actually never felt I needed to burn a book before. I really needed to cleanse myself of this one - it's the story, the content - it provoked me. Not recommended (and I really do like Nick Cave the musician)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY name is Bunny Munro. I sell beauty products. I ask you for one minute of your time., Feb. 13 2011
This book really takes you in the depths of the digusting brains of some men out there (not all men). This book follows the downward spiral of Bunny's life after the death of his wife, Libby. As soon as this book started i was absolutely digusted with Bunny, yet couldn't put the book down. you immediatly fall for the character of Bunny, and his son Bunny Jr. This book shows the struggle of some families out there, and the struggle of some men (again, not all men) being able to commit to one woman.
i personally loved this book and thank Nick Cave for such an interesting and deep book. For once i feel satified with a book, which i havent in a while. I am happy with the story line, what happens in between, and the ending! i strongly reccomend this book to anyone, really. if you're looking for a good read, this is a GREAT choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real bloke., Nov. 5 2010
By 
vnyl247 (Winnipeg, MB Canada) - See all my reviews
Perverse, dark, abnormal, shocking, strange and blunt. Perfect fun.

Staged in the dark depths of white collar british cities, Bunny is f*cking his way to virginity...and death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I Liked Nick Cave's Black Comedy But I Can See How It Won't Be For Everyone, June 18 2010
This review is from: The Death Of Bunny Munro (Hardcover)
Stars: 3.5

Australian rock star Nick Cave (of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds) is an interesting, eclectic artist who writes fantastic lyrics so it is for this reason that I let HarperCollins know that I wanted to read and review his book, The Death of Bunny Munro. I have not read his previous book so had nothing to compare, but this was every bit as remarkable and unusual a black comedy as I expected it would be and once I started it, I couldn't put it down.

Set in modern day England, this soft-porn tale of the seriously disturbed anti-hero, Bunny Munro, is a tragic one that unfolds with the fascinating curiosity of a train wreck. If this book was ever made into a movie it should be directed by David Lynch and star Vincent Gallo as Bunny.

Bunny Munro is a vagina-obsessed, social misfit who suffers from a major personality disorder but just happens to make his living as a door-to-door salesman of beauty products for the shadowy, enigmatic Eternity Enterprises. Bunny also happens to be a perverted man-whore who never ceases to look for a way to seduce the women he sells his beauty lotions to, much to the utter despair of his poor, long-suffering wife Libby, who is the mother of his 9-year-old prodigious son, Bunny Jr.

When Libby commits suicide, an inept Bunny finds himself having to figure out a way to look after his son. After a haunting by his dead wife in their apartment, he decides that he can't live there anymore and packs up a few belongings, instructing Jr. to do the same (all he takes is a few clothes and his beloved encyclopedia that his mum gave him), and they head out on the road where Bunny embarks on a father/son bonding experience unlike any you have witnessed. He teaches him the tricks of his trade, like Bunny's father did before him, all the while ignoring the fact that he is slowing sliding into Hell - where he rightfully belongs - face first.

Bunny Munro is not a character that you will have much empathy for and you know from the title of the book as well as its first sentence, how it will end. He's a narcissistic, alcoholic, depraved mess of a human being who somehow manages to use his tiny bit of charm and twisted sense of humor to prey on lonely women with self-esteem issues. This explicit story, while challenging at times because you despise him so much, is also one in which you find yourself rooting for Munro's precocious, innocent son, and wondering what kind of desperate women he'll meet next, so you just have to read it until the end.

In one scene, Bunny sneaks out of the church where his wife is being eulogized, to enter a public toilet so he can masturbate (something which he does often throughout the book, constantly referring to the exquisite private parts of Kylie Minogue and Avril Lavigne who are the objects of his fantasies) and try to get his head around what is happening in his life.

"With eyes downcast, he stands before the reflective square of stainless steel screwed to the wall above the sink. After a while Bunny finds the courage to raise his head and look at himself. He half expects some drooling, slack-jawed ogre to greet him there in the smeared mirror and is pleasantly surprised to see that he recognizes the face that stares back at him - warm, loveable, and dimpled. He pats at his pomaded forelock and smiles at himself. He leans in closer. Yeah, there it is - that irresistible and unnameable allure - a little bashed and battered, to be sure, but who wouldn't be?

Then, on closer inspection, he sees something else there, looking back at him. He leans in nearer still. Something grievous has resided in his face that he is amazed to see adds to his general magnetism. There is an intensity to his eyes that was not there before - a tragic light - that he feels has untold potential and he shoots the mirror a sad, emotive smile and is aghast at his new-found pulling power."

Written in third person narrative, The Death of Bunny Munro is shockingly different and definitely not the kind of novel that would normally scream bestseller. It's peculiar and peppered with grim details of each character's surroundings, with an ending that is anti-climactic and somewhat predictable, but I enjoyed the ride nevertheless. Nick Cave's writing is dramatic and unforgettable and the moral scope that he explores within the characters of this book makes for a courageous author who should be celebrated with Dionysian fervor.

If you don't want to read about a sex-addicted, self-obsessed misogynist, skip this book. If you can't help but be curious, and you like dark, surreal stories like The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus for instance, you will probably enjoy this at least as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Death Of Bunny Munro
The Death Of Bunny Munro by Nick Cave (Hardcover - Aug. 31 2009)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 18.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews