Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A look at things through the eyes of an economist
This book is a general interest book- and it certainly is interesting. The book, for anyone looking for an entertaining read, will like it. In a nutshell, the book takes a look at all sorts of things in society, from crack gangs to parenting, and then attempts to make sense of them by applying econonmic principles. According to the book, economics is really the study of...
Published on Nov. 23 2010 by mechanic9

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but padded
Like Margaret Mead seemed to explain everything through anthropology, Dubner and Levitt seem able to winnow out the real story behind whatever happens, mostly by the power of number crunching economics. At least they can if they get the right troves of data, like all the student test scores in Chicago, or all the kids names in California. The writing is excellent, and the...
Published on Oct. 3 2012 by Brian Griffith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A look at things through the eyes of an economist, Nov. 23 2010
This review is from: Freakonomics (Paperback)
This book is a general interest book- and it certainly is interesting. The book, for anyone looking for an entertaining read, will like it. In a nutshell, the book takes a look at all sorts of things in society, from crack gangs to parenting, and then attempts to make sense of them by applying econonmic principles. According to the book, economics is really the study of incentives, and so using this kind of angle, the book comes up with answers to why things work the way they do.

A book that's hard to put down, I'm sure many readers will enjoy it. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for a more simplistic explanation of what motivates people and gives them incentives to do what they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting examples of hidden incentives in a popular-level book, Dec 9 2014
This review is from: Freakonomics (Paperback)
In Freakonomics, economist Steven Levitt and journalist Stephen Dubner "explore the hidden side of everything"—in a series of mostly unconnected chapters based primarily on Levitt's diverse body of work, the book covers, broadly, hidden incentives and their economic and social consequences. Examples include the link between legalized abortion and falling crime rates, the effect of a child's first name on future success, and the case of teachers—yes, teachers—cheating on high school standardized tests.

Much of the research is presented informally (this is a popular-level book, after all) which makes Freakonomics very easy to read. Given my vast inexperience in the field of economics, this is a welcome style; as I complain about popular-level physics books, however, I imagine Freakonomics suffers at the hands of graduate students across the social sciences for playing to such a wide audience. Speaking of wide audiences, I also found that nearly all the material in Freakonomics was covered by their early podcast episodes, which again are quite popular.

Overall, I give Freakonomics four stars. It's a good read for its particular examples, but anyone with even a basic versing in statistics will find many of the behind-the-scenes explanations (correlation != causation, who knew?) unsurprising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but padded, Oct. 3 2012
By 
Brian Griffith (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Freakonomics (Paperback)
Like Margaret Mead seemed to explain everything through anthropology, Dubner and Levitt seem able to winnow out the real story behind whatever happens, mostly by the power of number crunching economics. At least they can if they get the right troves of data, like all the student test scores in Chicago, or all the kids names in California. The writing is excellent, and the discoveries are usually fascinating. But my favorite chapter concerns how Stetson Kennedy helped make the Klu Klux Klan look silly rather than fearsome, and this is "just" a fine piece of historical journalism. Also, some stories, like the examination of declining American crime rates, are discussed twice. The last section of the book is composed of reprinted articles about the same issues previously covered in the book. It seems a bit padded. Still, I expect this duo will tackle ever bigger questions, and eventually get the goods on corporate corruption, offshore tax havens, and even the global markets in arms, diamonds, and petro dollars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but take heed: contains fiction, Dec 19 2014
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Freakonomics (Paperback)
This book is very interesting and engaging, however it masquerades as authoritative and non-fictitious which is misleading. This is in fact narrative journalism with economic credibility stapled on. The reader is led to believe through non-detailed citations of studies that he is getting deep insights into the hidden side of everything. In some cases, this may indeed be the case. However we are not given enough information to really know if the authors understand or know as much as they pretend. Indeed, we would do well to take the authors' warnings about experts and apply it to the authors. Much of what they cite here has been challenged or refuted by later studies. So, knowledge is perhaps not as tantalizingly close at hand as we thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible Explorations of Real World Phenomena, July 29 2014
By 
G. Poirier (Orleans, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freakonomics (Paperback)
As of this writing, there have been well over one thousand reviews of this book. I doubt very much that I can add anything new or significant that has not already been mentioned. So, I will simply state my own personal experience in reading it. I found the prose/writing style to be clear, very friendly, quite witty, authoritative, highly accessible and most captivating. The pages just flew by, making it a rather quick read (and I am a slow reader). I have also learned a few interesting and worthwhile facts that I intend to use to my advantage. I am certain that there is something here for one and all. As such, I do believe that this is a book that everyone can enjoy. (I have now started to read the sequel: Superfreakonomics)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, July 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freakonomics (Paperback)
Was an interesting read. If you enjoy statistical analysis of stuff, you will enjoy it too. If not, then this book is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Dec 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freakonomics (Paperback)
Opened my eyes to another world out their, finaces and the simple connections economic has with their your daily life. Amazing book. Worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best beck ever, April 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freakonomics (Paperback)
Great read! As soon as I finished i became a walrus and ruled the motion of the ocean. . ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dinner party conversation-starter, March 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freakonomics (Paperback)
One of my favorite books. I found so many chapters fascinating, and it was my first exposure to economics in a way that I could understand. The chapter on names is particularly interesting (and hilarious!) I can't remember the number of times some of the stories from this book have come up at dinner or cocktail parties - from politics to drug dealers, there is something everyone can relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read!, June 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freakonomics (Paperback)
It's actually pretty easy to read.I had heard a lot about this book and so I was curious. Its interesting the way that he pulls apart data to come to in depth, completely logical conclusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freakonomics
Freakonomics by Stephen J. Dubner (Paperback - Aug. 17 2009)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews