Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Advice
Robert Herjavec shares his advice on how to be successful in business (and in life). Although the book sometimes lacks cohesion and he does spend a bit too much time talking about Dragon's Den, it is nonetheless a really good (and easy) book to read.

The advice and stories he gives help give you the right mindset for entering the business world.
Published on Dec 14 2011 by DH

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Part autobiography, part business advice
In Driven, Herjavec tells a classic immigrant success story. He arrived as a boy in Canada with his poor parents. Struggled to fit in at school. Worked a series of jobs (debt collector, waiter, retail menswear salesman) that provided valuable business lessons. Started a company, worked hard to grow it and then sold it to an industry giant for more money than he ever...
Published on Jan. 29 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Part autobiography, part business advice, Jan. 29 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Gatineau, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Driven: How To Succeed In Business And In Life (Hardcover)
In Driven, Herjavec tells a classic immigrant success story. He arrived as a boy in Canada with his poor parents. Struggled to fit in at school. Worked a series of jobs (debt collector, waiter, retail menswear salesman) that provided valuable business lessons. Started a company, worked hard to grow it and then sold it to an industry giant for more money than he ever imagined having. Continued to have success in business, raised a family and to top it all off, became a television celebrity in Canada and the United States.

The book is written as a series of lessons drawn from this experience and his appearances on Dragon's Den and Shark Tank. He tells an account of how and why he became involved with both shows, some lessons that we can learn from the pitches, and a behind the scenes look at some of the program's best moments.

Unfortunately, Herjavec's anecdotes are interrupted with generic business management advice that is all too common. Consider these two samples: "...a constant shortage of cash to pay all bills in full is a serious symptom of trouble for your business." "How you fix things with clients is as important as what you fix." There is nothing wrong with this type of advice, but it could come from anyone running any type of business. There are no intriguing insights here about entrepreneurship in Canada or the unique challenges of building an internet security business. There are scant details about his current business (The Herjavec Group), the company that he sold to AT&T, BRAK Systems, (the proceeds of the sale being the base of his wealth), or any of his other business investments.

If you are a fan of Robert Herjavec on Dragon's Den or Shark Tank, you will enjoy the book. His success story is inspirational, he comes across as a generous and warm person, and the lessons serve as an entertaining reminder of the business truisms that apply across all industries. However, if you are looking for thought provoking writing about entrepreneurship or high-tech business success, you need to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Advice, Dec 14 2011
Robert Herjavec shares his advice on how to be successful in business (and in life). Although the book sometimes lacks cohesion and he does spend a bit too much time talking about Dragon's Den, it is nonetheless a really good (and easy) book to read.

The advice and stories he gives help give you the right mindset for entering the business world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book of Its Kind, March 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is without the best self help, motivational, tell it like it is book for entreprenuers that I have ever read. I have pre ordered Mr. Herjavec's next book and will read DRIVEN at least a second time for sure. This is EXCELLENT++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Notes from a very practical and successful man about how to approach the subject of business/life., Sept. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mr. Herjavec's notes implicitly draw parallels between business and life. It's easy to read if you have a mind and taste for organizing your thoughts and habits in order to improve your chances at success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I would advise young business people to read this book., Feb. 25 2013
By 
Reg Nordman "(K)nights on the Road" (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A young Croatian comes to Canada, starts with little and does very well. This book is less a description of how he built and sold a series of successful businesses and more an anthology of business advice collected through the years. Very enjoyable , but not concise. I would advise young business people to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's set the record straight, Oct. 14 2010
By 
This review is from: Driven: How To Succeed In Business And In Life (Hardcover)
BillW-AZ from Tempe, Arizona may have his own reasons for dismissing Robert Herjavec's book and is of course entitled to his opinion. But he is not entitled to distort facts. In response to specific errors in his review as the ghost-writer for the book, permit me to correct him on a point or two:

1. For several years before becoming a full-time writer I owned and operated a marketing services firm with several talented and well-paid employees. I indeed knew what it was like to make a payroll and function as an entrepreneur. BillW would not know this, of course, but it did not prevent him from making an erroneous statement and assume it would be accepted as gospel. It should not.

2. I have written several books on behalf of CEOs and entrepreneurs of major corporations, providing me with deep insight into their challenges and achievements - if this qualification means anything to BillW.

3. I have also written several books on my own on financial and investment topics, and will be pleased to submit their titles. Perhaps BillW will indicate if he prefers them in alphabetical or chronological order.

4. Of course, the role of ghostwriter is not to tell his/her story; it is to relate the subject's story in a true and compelling manner. So what's the point of even raising the ghostwriter's background anyway? (Points 1, 2 and 3 above are here simply to refute BillW's errors.)

5. The value of Robert Herjavec's comments and advice is best judged by independent readers, not by someone with an apparent hidden agenda in mind (mine is open and transparent).

Finally - likely to BillW's surprise - DRIVEN has been on a number of best-seller lists since its publication in September 2010. He may derive from this fact whatever he wishes, but it remains a fact, not a mean-spirited fancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great Canadian entrepreneur, June 5 2014
I took away some great insights and points from this book and it was great to learn about Robert Herjavec's history and learn from his stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad book, May 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read the book and it didn't have anything in there that was "Ground Breaking" I like Robert on Shark Tank and Dragons Den and I hope I get a chance to see more of him in previous episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very boastful, self-applauding, and vainglorious, Nov. 29 2012
By 
Lou (Edmonton, AB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Driven: How To Succeed In Business And In Life (Hardcover)
I was pretty open at the start of the book, but as I read on, it felt very boastful, self-applauding, and vainglorious. He did great by selling his company, and I feel positive encouragment, however he is not as unique as he proclaims. For every successful Robert Herjavec, there are likely 10,000 people who had the same drive, cunning, and smarts. He was in the right place, right time, that's it. Bad read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 29 2014
Good info
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Driven: How To Succeed In Business And In Life
Driven: How To Succeed In Business And In Life by Robert Herjavec (Hardcover - Sept. 21 2010)
Used & New from: CDN$ 11.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews