biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars23
3.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 29, 2011
In Driven, Herjavec tells a classic immigrant success story. He arrived as a boy in Canada with his poor parents. Struggled to fit in at school. Worked a series of jobs (debt collector, waiter, retail menswear salesman) that provided valuable business lessons. Started a company, worked hard to grow it and then sold it to an industry giant for more money than he ever imagined having. Continued to have success in business, raised a family and to top it all off, became a television celebrity in Canada and the United States.

The book is written as a series of lessons drawn from this experience and his appearances on Dragon's Den and Shark Tank. He tells an account of how and why he became involved with both shows, some lessons that we can learn from the pitches, and a behind the scenes look at some of the program's best moments.

Unfortunately, Herjavec's anecdotes are interrupted with generic business management advice that is all too common. Consider these two samples: "...a constant shortage of cash to pay all bills in full is a serious symptom of trouble for your business." "How you fix things with clients is as important as what you fix." There is nothing wrong with this type of advice, but it could come from anyone running any type of business. There are no intriguing insights here about entrepreneurship in Canada or the unique challenges of building an internet security business. There are scant details about his current business (The Herjavec Group), the company that he sold to AT&T, BRAK Systems, (the proceeds of the sale being the base of his wealth), or any of his other business investments.

If you are a fan of Robert Herjavec on Dragon's Den or Shark Tank, you will enjoy the book. His success story is inspirational, he comes across as a generous and warm person, and the lessons serve as an entertaining reminder of the business truisms that apply across all industries. However, if you are looking for thought provoking writing about entrepreneurship or high-tech business success, you need to look elsewhere.
0Comment25 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
I'm a huge fan of both Dragon's Den and Shark Tank and on TV Robert is one of my favourites. But this book is AWEFUL! It's a classic narcissistic puff piece that keeps hammering home this general point:

"I've achieved a lot of success because I'm obsessive, other people (like you) might be content with having less but I'm not and that's why I'm better than you".

He comes off sounding like such a self-rightous douchebag.

You would think that his immigrant background and coming to Canada with $20 would make him more humble and grateful and honestly want to help others succeed. Turns out, inside he's the classic insecure narcissistic millionaire that will likely be sad, lonely and full of regret in his old age.

Too bad.

Maybe I'm wrong, but it sure comes off this way in the book which is not very well written at all. You would think that if someone is going to yammer on about giving the customers quality for 200 pages that they would have higher standards for what they write. If he wasn't a TV star nobody would care about this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2015
I have to say I am sorry I spent about $30 CAD at Chapters for this book. It was not money well spent and I had a hard time finishing it because of the seemingly boastful statements and claims by the author. I have to say the poor reviews listed here are correct for the most part in their comments and I wish would have read some before investing time and money in this book. If you are looking for inspiration and good detailed advice it doesn't deliver. For the record I appreciate Robert is a Canadian success story and that's great. I wish him continued success. I just won't be buying any more of his books. I'll gladly sell you my copy if you are still interested!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2011
Robert Herjavec shares his advice on how to be successful in business (and in life). Although the book sometimes lacks cohesion and he does spend a bit too much time talking about Dragon's Den, it is nonetheless a really good (and easy) book to read.

The advice and stories he gives help give you the right mindset for entering the business world.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2010
BillW-AZ from Tempe, Arizona may have his own reasons for dismissing Robert Herjavec's book and is of course entitled to his opinion. But he is not entitled to distort facts. In response to specific errors in his review as the ghost-writer for the book, permit me to correct him on a point or two:

1. For several years before becoming a full-time writer I owned and operated a marketing services firm with several talented and well-paid employees. I indeed knew what it was like to make a payroll and function as an entrepreneur. BillW would not know this, of course, but it did not prevent him from making an erroneous statement and assume it would be accepted as gospel. It should not.

2. I have written several books on behalf of CEOs and entrepreneurs of major corporations, providing me with deep insight into their challenges and achievements - if this qualification means anything to BillW.

3. I have also written several books on my own on financial and investment topics, and will be pleased to submit their titles. Perhaps BillW will indicate if he prefers them in alphabetical or chronological order.

4. Of course, the role of ghostwriter is not to tell his/her story; it is to relate the subject's story in a true and compelling manner. So what's the point of even raising the ghostwriter's background anyway? (Points 1, 2 and 3 above are here simply to refute BillW's errors.)

5. The value of Robert Herjavec's comments and advice is best judged by independent readers, not by someone with an apparent hidden agenda in mind (mine is open and transparent).

Finally - likely to BillW's surprise - DRIVEN has been on a number of best-seller lists since its publication in September 2010. He may derive from this fact whatever he wishes, but it remains a fact, not a mean-spirited fancy.
0Comment19 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2013
This is without the best self help, motivational, tell it like it is book for entreprenuers that I have ever read. I have pre ordered Mr. Herjavec's next book and will read DRIVEN at least a second time for sure. This is EXCELLENT++++++
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2016
Perfect quality - plan to read it at some point!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
Good read but nothing startling in there. He says several times that you need to be born with the drive to succeed - you can't develop it. I totally disagree, or at least think that people slip into not being motivated but this doesn't mean they don't have it. He also thinks you need to get by on 4-5 hours sleep a night which is ok if you can but almost everybody can't!!
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2013
A young Croatian comes to Canada, starts with little and does very well. This book is less a description of how he built and sold a series of successful businesses and more an anthology of business advice collected through the years. Very enjoyable , but not concise. I would advise young business people to read this book.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2012
I admire the author's way of doing business and his accomplishments but would have appreciated more examples of his life/business experiences than the constant referrals to Dragon's Den. There are better business books out there but the price is right.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse