Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `We're like people in a book, and he won't let anybody else read it.'
Jack is the narrator of `Room'. Jack is excited by his fifth birthday, is curious about the world and full of energy. But Jack's physical world is contained within an 11 by 11 foot space called Room where he and his Ma live. This is Jack's world: the room and its contents, and his mother. Because we are viewing this world through Jack's eyes, we are protected in part...
Published on Sept. 2 2010 by Jennifer Cameron-Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the story is a good one.
Inconsistent use of language that is supposedly the child's story from that perspective. If you are not put off by the writer's lack of knowledge on 4 - 5 year old speech and thought processes, the story is a good one.
Published 14 days ago by Deanie L. Kolybabi


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars ROOM, April 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room (Kindle Edition)
A strange book, But you can see it happening.. To not be able to have fresh air and trapped in a box . What if you were claustrophobic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Room, March 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room (Paperback)
Heartrending and heartwarming tale written from the boys perspective. I love how his mother made the best of their hostage situation for her son. It broke my heart but also inspires courage. I couldn't put it down. It will make you cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book - very real, March 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room (Kindle Edition)
This book was very touching - could very well be a true story. Great read kept me turning the pages! I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another perspective, March 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book! Definitely was easy to get emotionally connected to the narrator. Didn't want the book to end. Great perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A twist in narrative, March 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room (Paperback)
I really liked the idea of telling the story from the boy's outlook. To have told it from the mother's view would lost the engaging element of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars emotional and eye opening, Jan. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room (Kindle Edition)
Good read, well worth it.

I didn't love the ending but it didn't ruin the book for me. A quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Dec 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room (Hardcover)
Couldn't put it down - gripping. Well written and believable, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!!, Nov. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was recommended to me by a family member. One of the best books I've read in a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book-French translation beware!, July 25 2013
By 
Kim O'Connor (Montreal, Quebec, Ca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Room (Kindle Edition)
This book is very good. I was on the edge of my seat all along! Devoured it! Worth every penny!
Only for bilingual english/ french people out there. DO NOT get this book in french.
It 's completely pipi-caca and the translator obviously did not get the feeling of the book, and the meaning of the boy's way of speech.
So if you can, read this in english, you will enjoy it a thousand times more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, April 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room (Paperback)
This book is very nice and increase my knowledge. And In future I will order more books like this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Room
Room by Emma Donoghue (Paperback - June 24 2011)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews