Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Middle Age Spread - Living in The Country at 50 - Sonia Day
I absolutely loved this book, and was a little sad when it was over. Great read. Very funny, and Sonia has a great sense of humor. I highly recommend this book! If you've ever romantically though about giving it all up, and moving to the country, you have to read this book first!

Peter S.
Published on Oct. 1 2009 by Peter Somerville

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun read for quiet evenings
Having recently fallen in love with an older home in the country,and feeling that the houses in this cottage community actually picked their owners - I lived through every episode of this adventure. The author delightfully captures the essence of acquiring an older home, the heart-warming differences betweeen the city and the country, the joy of taking a risk in life...
Published on Oct. 15 2009 by Sharon Clements


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun read for quiet evenings, Oct. 15 2009
By 
Sharon Clements (Kitchener, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Middle Aged Spread: Moving to the Country at 50 (Hardcover)
Having recently fallen in love with an older home in the country,and feeling that the houses in this cottage community actually picked their owners - I lived through every episode of this adventure. The author delightfully captures the essence of acquiring an older home, the heart-warming differences betweeen the city and the country, the joy of taking a risk in life when "others" say this is the time to play it safe and the captivating journey of meeting neighbours in the country who challenge your values and extend an open invitation to open your mind to other values and expectations. A fun read to unwind at the end of a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Middle Age Spread - Living in The Country at 50 - Sonia Day, Oct. 1 2009
By 
This review is from: Middle Aged Spread: Moving to the Country at 50 (Hardcover)
I absolutely loved this book, and was a little sad when it was over. Great read. Very funny, and Sonia has a great sense of humor. I highly recommend this book! If you've ever romantically though about giving it all up, and moving to the country, you have to read this book first!

Peter S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great pleasure !!!, March 9 2010
By 
Robert Talbot (Québec, Québec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Middle Aged Spread: Moving to the Country at 50 (Hardcover)
A discover for me,brillant author just like Peter Mayle but the action is here in Canada.

A great delight.Give me more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Middle-Aged Spread, Feb. 17 2010
This review is from: Middle Aged Spread: Moving to the Country at 50 (Hardcover)
I purchased this book as I am now in my 50's and moving to the country was something that appeals to me.
This book is written in such a way as to enlighten you as to all that the country is once you move there, including your possible neighbours and new friends, but is also funny and realistic at the same time.
I thoroughly enjoyed it and her writing style.
If you are thinking of moving to a rural area I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sarcastic humour and stereotypical prejudices, June 3 2010
By 
Judy McMullan (Waterloo, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Middle Aged Spread: Moving to the Country at 50 (Hardcover)
I received this book as a gift and thought it would be an interesting read, as I live in the same area. While I can't fault Sonia Day as a writer, I found her biting observations were sometimes cruel. Her observations and experiences of the country were similar to my own so I would say her stories are true to life. However, she seems to have come to the country with a pile of stereotypical prejudices. Then, she is amazed when her neighbours don't fall into these stereotypes. I couldn't get past being annoyed at her superior attitude to her country neighbours, which lasted for most of the book. I think this book would be most enjoyable for those who DON'T live in the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Middle Aged Spread: Moving to the Country at 50
Middle Aged Spread: Moving to the Country at 50 by Sonia Day (Hardcover - Aug. 15 2009)
Used & New from: CDN$ 17.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews