Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic
Out of the dozens of books I've read revolving around technical analysis this is still the one I recommend to people who show an interest in learning TA. I first read this book in 1989 and it's still as valid today as it was then.
Weinstein writes in a very accessible style. And he includes just the topics that are necessary to be successful with TA. No complex...
Published on Nov. 21 2003

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars record of newsletter hurts confidence in book
While this book is well-written, the fact that the author's much-ballyhooed newlsetter, "The Professional Tape Reader," consistently is graded as one of the worst stock newsletters for bull market investing, is disappointing. A quick search of the Internet will confirm this for you; it is worth noting that the newsletter gets much higher marks for bear...
Published on July 5 2000 by Eric Martin


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, Nov. 21 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Stan Weinstein's Secrets For Profiting in Bull and Bear Markets (Paperback)
Out of the dozens of books I've read revolving around technical analysis this is still the one I recommend to people who show an interest in learning TA. I first read this book in 1989 and it's still as valid today as it was then.
Weinstein writes in a very accessible style. And he includes just the topics that are necessary to be successful with TA. No complex techniques that may or may not add anything to your trading results. Just the solid and steady core techniques that will let you pick out profits from the trend. Any techniques I've adopted since 1989 have just been additions to what I learned in this book, not replacements.
This book is more for the position trader than the swing trader. It's all about riding Stage 1 (stock going up) and Stage 4 (shorting or avoiding stock going down). If you've read Nicholas Darvas' How I Made $2,000,000 In The Stock Market you'll notice that Darvas basically stumbled on some of the core principles that Weinstein describes.
This book really doesn't have any secrets. It's just that Weinstein kind of follows the 80/20 rule. 20% of TA techniques give you 80% of the profit. Most other books confuse people by jamming in the other 80% that only gives you 20% extra and losing the core principles in the process. With Weistein the core principles stick out like a sore thumb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for technical analysts, March 6 2004
By 
This review is from: Stan Weinstein's Secrets For Profiting in Bull and Bear Markets (Paperback)
"The Tape Tells All" The Professional Tape Reader published by Stain Weinstein (the author of this book) As the title of Weinstein's suggests he analyzes stocks via technical analysis.
I believe this book and CAN SLIM can work together or you can use them separately. In fact I was surprised at the number of things that were similar in Secrets for Profiting... compared to How to make money in stocks. Things such as "Buy high, sell higher," ignoring P/E ratios, Relative strength, cutting losses etc... it was a very good book to confirm that the CAN SLIM methodology works.
There was one glaring difference between CAN SLIM and Weinstein's methods. Weinstein doesn't care if a stock is making money or not, in fact he just buys and sells based on the technical analysis of stock charts.
This book is full of quizzes charts, practical examples and easy to read definitions. And I believe this is a great addition to our bookshelves. I know it is a book I will refer back to.
Reed Floren
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars record of newsletter hurts confidence in book, July 5 2000
By 
Eric Martin (Mundelein, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stan Weinstein's Secrets For Profiting in Bull and Bear Markets (Paperback)
While this book is well-written, the fact that the author's much-ballyhooed newlsetter, "The Professional Tape Reader," consistently is graded as one of the worst stock newsletters for bull market investing, is disappointing. A quick search of the Internet will confirm this for you; it is worth noting that the newsletter gets much higher marks for bear markets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pulls it all together, Oct. 15 1999
This review is from: Stan Weinstein's Secrets For Profiting in Bull and Bear Markets (Paperback)
What is kinda unique and special about this trading book is how it makes you feel it addresses the whole ball of wax and yet does not shy away from given very particular recommendations. I mean, you can tell the author is very knowledgeable so you can rely more on him than the average stock apostle, and at the same time, he has boiled it down to clear quantitative trading rules. I like that courage. Many authors are either very narrow and passionate (and wrong!) or so wide and general as to be useless. Come to think of it, if you were allowed only one trading book to read in a lifetime, this one would probably be the right choice. What a service to the reader. Thank you Stan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this book will change ur life, July 28 2003
By 
wei C. Liu (Santa Clara, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stan Weinstein's Secrets For Profiting in Bull and Bear Markets (Paperback)
my dad gave me this book as a birthday present years ago. it's the best present i could ever get. it has helped my dad make some money and I am following the step in the book to become a successful trader. so far, i have been successful. This book doesn't have too much theory [garbage]. it only has a simple model and handful of rules. and the most important thing is his model makes sense. it's all about people's psychology, which is displayed in stock charts. yeah, so give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent ......., Sept. 27 2003
By 
T Newby (Dallas, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stan Weinstein's Secrets For Profiting in Bull and Bear Markets (Paperback)
Have about ten books on trading / investing,
If I had to throw nine of them away and keep one, I would keep this one. Well written by a great Author
and still ranks 5 stars almost everytime someone reads
it and takes time to review it.
The book expains the stages of all markets, support
and resistance, importance of volume and much, much more.
Very inexpensive and packed with knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!, July 18 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Stan Weinstein's Secrets For Profiting in Bull and Bear Markets (Paperback)
In the past 6 months, I have bought and read over 15 books on trading and investment (Van Tharp, LeBeau, Nison, Oz, O'Neill, Murphy) and this is by far one of the best books out there. At first, I was reluctant to purchase this book based on the date of publication (Pre 1990). But, as other great trading books, this one is a classic that should be in every library of technical investors/traders at an extremely affordable price.
Key points:
- Very practical, systematic and clear. Excellent communication. You don't get bored reading it.
- Sound trading system.
- Stan's stage analysis is a tremendous help to separate the stock price movement in stages. Very valuable insight.
- His stop loss explanation on both and long are extremely valuable and clear. He explained it in a step-by-step fashion. This alone can save you $$$ by locking-in your profit.
- Other excellent explanation: important chart patterns to be considered (he only selects the best ones), volume analysis, importance of Relative Strength and moving averages. What to buy, When to Buy, When to Sell, How to Short....And he separated those key processes between Traders and Investors. So, you will have a clear understanding of what to do. A step by step explanation on how you can find the A+ stocks using his "Forest to Trees" approach.
- Excellent Quiz & Answers and the end of each chapter that tremendously re-test you understanding of the important concepts.
If you're a beginner or intermediate, this book will certainly give you a huge boost in mastering chart reading as well as execution. Unlike any books that sort of short in explaining one critical area, I find Stan's book very clear and entertaining as well. It opens your eyes on what to look for in a chart.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK; POOR RESULTS, Jan. 24 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Stan Weinstein's Secrets For Profiting in Bull and Bear Markets (Paperback)
This is a great book and explains a lot of potentially profitable
concepts exceptionally well with clarity and insight. Much of
the commentary and chart results would have you believe that Stan the Man has provided himself and his clients with exceptional returns. The Huge contradiction is that the "professional Tape Reader" service has returned a mere 8.34% average total net return in last 10 years (Source Business Week March 9 1998) Clearly Stan is not an exceptional trader or am I missing something big time here. I fully appreciate that Profitable trading techniques are only potentials, and require the input of appropriate trading psychology, but I would expect a lot more from a pro least of all Trading Author, especially when you consider the nature and content of the prose. Maybe I am living in a fairy tale World. In any case, there are some
real gems to be appreciated in this text. Just ignore the results. This guy also does not seem to be very active at the
moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A big profit maker, March 3 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Stan Weinstein's Secrets For Profiting in Bull and Bear Markets (Paperback)
To anyone who wants to beat the market and improve their success rate by learning and using Technical Analysis this book is a gauranteed way to get started. Its written in simple terms, has excelent examples and offers advice based on time-proven methods.

Compared to other similar tomes on this subject it uses no math or formulas but relies on actual charts of stocks. The method teaches how to view price, volume and trend data so that stock picks yield winners 60 to 80% of the time and with gains (for me) 2x to 10x!

It also provides lessons on the how to cut losses and how to learn the discipline of selling for maximum profit.

This is a book which can (and must) be reread over and over as one gains expertise at Technical Analysis. The methods learned provide logical procedures which eliminate the hype of the stock market and turns the hype into profits.

Weinstein's motto of the "Tape Tells All" is the foundation
for success because it places stock action as the primary source of information over OPINION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very effective methodology to trading or investing, Jan. 22 2000
By 
Vince F "Vince F" (SF Bay Area, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stan Weinstein's Secrets For Profiting in Bull and Bear Markets (Paperback)
This book has completely changed by perspective on trading or investing (there's a difference). With either one, I believe you will find this book VERY helpful and practical (recognizing breakouts, when to buy, when to sell, cycles of a stock's life, market timing, shorting stocks, establishing safeguards, various order types, etc.).
The book has a heavy emphasis on analyzing charts. This is a major plus, but it's very practical, not numbingly theoretical.
Weinstein is often compared to O'Neil in (momentum) investment style, but I find Weinstein's book much more systematic and well organized than anything I've read by O'Neil. I own 8 books about investing. This is the best, and the only one I go back to continually.
Bottom line: my portfolio has grown 30% in two months using his methodology, and it's kept me from making a LOT of bad decisions.
Don't let the date influence you. Start reading, and you will think he published it this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stan Weinstein's Secrets For Profiting in Bull and Bear Markets
Stan Weinstein's Secrets For Profiting in Bull and Bear Markets by Stan Weinstein (Paperback - Jan. 22 1988)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 15.64
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews