Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facts and detail, but never dry!, June 2 2002
By 
This review is from: Homeopathic Psychology: Personality Profiles of the Major Constitutional Remedies (Paperback)
A brilliant book! Every pupil should be given their own copy as a Rite of Passage at around 14 years of age and have to study one or two "types" per week such that the whole book would be covered in a year, and then this should be done every year whilst still at school. They don't have to learn anything about Homeopathy per se, only about people, and in so doing would develop more compassion and understanding of both themselves and others. This would beat any grounding in some of the modern subjects attempting to teach ethics/social behaviour/civics; half an hour a week in the curriculum and a couple of hours reading for a better balanced society! And it would be fun. The teenage pupils would realise that what's going on in their own minds is normal and would be able to understand their peers and elders far better for knowing what makes them tick! But this would probably be too threatening, especially for bureaucratic elders in politics and teaching, and here I'm thinking especially of kali-carbs amongst others! It would also teach the consequences of different behaviours, particularly of bad parenting and expose some dubious management practices for the perverted strategies they really are!
This book is extremely well written and accessible to everyone, while still being of enormous help to the professional. The standard repertories are great for the material body, but now we are entering a different age and there is a dire need for the mental and emotional sides of man to be categorised, understood and, where necessary, healed. Catherine Coulter helped significantly to illuminate the path with her outstanding "Portraits of Homoeopathic Medicines" which I wouldn't be without, Whitmont has written some very interesting books, now I have another brilliant, practical perspective. Here is a practitioner who has studied people's behaviour and homeopathy and really understands it as a living science, based firmly on empirical evidence.
A lovely book, a useful book, an accurate book, a fascinating book.
Well done, sir! Thank you.
Now let me get back to reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting!, Jan. 7 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Homeopathic Psychology: Personality Profiles of the Major Constitutional Remedies (Paperback)
When I first bought this book (on recommendation from my classical homeopath), I couldn't stop reading it! It gave me a wonderful perspective on the various remedies, as well as a new view of my own constitutional remedy. It was also very interesting to speculate on my family and friends' constitutional remedies based on what I read here. Further, I especially enjoyed reading the numerous amusing anecdotes from the author's own practice.
My only quibble is that the author frequently divides the remedies into male/female manifestations, and the descriptions of the gender less often represented by the remedy can be terse (as a Tuberculinum woman, I was naturally hoping for more info on my type :).
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the essences, Oct. 10 2001
By 
"kaska6" (Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homeopathic Psychology: Personality Profiles of the Major Constitutional Remedies (Paperback)
After being trained in Greece by the master himself, Bailey has expanded on Vithoulkas's essences, giving a thematic overview of the mentality of each type-a useful project considering the mass of particuliars the practioner must know. It does not, as the title suggests, relate these mental states to the entirety of a person's being. Perhaps the closest comparison would be to Coulter and many of his descriptions differ from hers in a useful way, particulary with syphilinum. I guess this will have to do until Vit...'s publication of his entire materia medica vivus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very interesting book, worth reading., July 11 2000
By 
seeker "tink-im" (cincinnati, ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homeopathic Psychology: Personality Profiles of the Major Constitutional Remedies (Paperback)
Because my husband is a Homeopath, I came across this book and couldn't put it down. It really shows the different constitutional types, in the thinking and feeling processes. It's farely easy to find your own through reading the book, and shows how much of how we act in in our typing. I really enjoyed this information, and shared it with friends who also found great value in it. In the book "The Complete Guide to Homeopathy", there is a good test for quickly finding out your consitutional type also. Its a good combination book to go with this book. Thanks :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In-depth, esoteric look at homeopathic consitutional types.., April 30 2000
By 
Laura Haggarty (Northern KY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homeopathic Psychology: Personality Profiles of the Major Constitutional Remedies (Paperback)
This book is primarily intended for the trained homeopath, not the layperson. It is an in-depth look at the more common homeopathic constitutional types. That being said, it's a fabulous book, filled with excellent information that the author gleaned from years of work as a homepath.
Bailey provides detailed information on 35 major types, giving insight on diagnosis, mental and emotional traits, and physical characteristics. This book should really only be used by a trained and certified homeopath, but it does provide fascinating reading for us laypersons. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well done, May 24 2000
By 
Luc De Jaeger (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homeopathic Psychology: Personality Profiles of the Major Constitutional Remedies (Paperback)
This is a most interesting book that combines psychology with homeopathy. Philip Bailey describes indepth the personality profiles of some 35 polychrests. The last pages of the book cover a mix of psychological astrology and homeopathy when Philip Bailey explores the elements and some polychrests. This book is abolutely basic reading, together with the books by Catherine R. Coulter (that I still find better). You will be astonished how much can be said about 1 remedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Memorize A Million Details - Buy this Book, April 28 2000
This review is from: Homeopathic Psychology: Personality Profiles of the Major Constitutional Remedies (Paperback)
His broad profiles of major constitutional remedies give the reader a good overall picture of the personality type and therefore ways of remembering facts about the archetype, by having a unifying theory for each remedy. This was extremely helpful as a student of homeopathy! And someone who seems to have lost the ability to memorize around the age of 25.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful and Informative!, Oct. 19 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Homeopathic Psychology: Personality Profiles of the Major Constitutional Remedies (Paperback)
As a patient of a classical homeopath, I've found this book to be invaluable. As I move through the different constitional remedies in my healing process, I refer to the book often for a greater understanding of my process and the complexity of this type of healing. A must have for homeopathic patients!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The remedy pictures 'IN COLOR', June 24 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Homeopathic Psychology: Personality Profiles of the Major Constitutional Remedies (Paperback)
Very glad to have bought this great book. It is well written and provides vividly and in-depth the psychological pictures of major constitutional remedies. Complimentary reading to the Kent's Lectures on Materia Medica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and very interesting, Sept. 9 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Homeopathic Psychology: Personality Profiles of the Major Constitutional Remedies (Paperback)
This book is not geared for someone just learning about homeopathy. It is extremely well-written and keeps one peeled to the book. Definitely worth having for the practicing homeopath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Homeopathic Psychology: Personality Profiles of the Major Constitutional Remedies
CDN$ 31.50 CDN$ 19.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews