Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital for every pet owner/guardian., Aug. 15 2002
This review is from: Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs: Small Doses for Small Animals (Paperback)
This is probably the best homeopathic veterinary book for pet owners/guardians in the market.
In the first part, Dr. Hamilton explains the basics of homeopathy and how the rules apply to home caring for a sick animal. He even gives instructions on how to medicate your animal, since the administration of homeopathic remedies differs from allopathic ones.
The second part is a detailed and easy to follow Repertory, meaning that conditions by system are presented and remedies are suggested according to symptoms. This is followed by special conditions, such as pre surgery and after surgery care, heat-stroke etc. The section ends with a Materia Medica adapted to the animal symptoms.
This book has been a great resource for my cats. It does not replace the veterinary care of a trained homeopath, but it can be vital in cases of emergency. I used it at least on two occasions with my younger cats, and the both recovered in a matter of hours. One of them, my younger kitty had been ill for months, and both my homeopath and my allo vet had not been able to help him. Fed up by the failed attempts, I went through the pages of this book, until I stumbled on a remedy that seemed to fit perfectly. And it worked! My boy has been healthy ever since.
Now I keep it close to my bed for easy access.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small doses=Big medicine, July 6 2002
By 
lonebeaut (land of enchantment) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs: Small Doses for Small Animals (Paperback)
Before I read "Small Doses," as far as I was concerned, the jury was still out on homeopathy. It seemed a little too "out there" to accept. But Dr. Hamilton's book, with his explanation of why and how he thinks it works, along with case histories, a materia medica, and a review of body systems, convinced me that there's something very powerful going on in a homeopathic cure. And his argument against vaccinations is cogent and convincing.
Dr. Hamilton uses a combination of allopathic (modern) and homeopathic as well as other modalities like herbs in his treatment. I admire his willingness to go the extra mile with his clients. He is someone I would trust with my animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on homeopathic care for our furry friends, Jan. 4 2002
This review is from: Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs: Small Doses for Small Animals (Paperback)
I had been looking for a detailed guide to homeopathy for help for the itching one of our dogs had. Wow - talk about excellent guide. The introductory chapters on homeopathy are excellent.
The real help came when my same baby started having serious liver problems and I didn't know why. With an ALT of over 500, it wasn't looking good. I wasn't comfortable with giving her the special dog food containing Ethoxyquin(pesticide in dog food?? - don't think so). The book recommended Milk Thistle. After talking to the vet, my husband and I began a natural diet and milk thistle immediately. Within a month the ALT was down and in another 2 weeks she was back to normal. Mind you, my little girl is 14 so I can say this book has been a lifesaver. This book along with consulting your vet is definitely worthwhile. You can't go wrong getting this book for your furry friends.
It's now April 2003 and now she has a bad heart murmur. After consulting the book and doing more research, found that CoQ10 has been very helpful in alleviating (and in some cases reversing) heart disease in humans. I've given her 1 10Mg CoQ10 tablet a day and after a week, she is showing improvement. One sign of a heart murmur is a hacking cough. Her coughs are not as frequent now. This book was certainly worth buying :-).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed book - explores homeopathic care in-depth ..., June 18 2001
By 
Yeoh Siok Kee (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs: Small Doses for Small Animals (Paperback)
A good sized book, with good binding & paper. The printing is clear, font type & size well selected & adequate.
Dr. Hamilton begins by explaining how as a veterinarian, he grew he grew increasingly frustrated with the limitations 'modern' veterinary care; of how he was often only able to provide temporary relief, with ailments returning time and time again. He tells of his exploration into alternative veterinary medicine and how by the mid/late 90's, he had become convinced of the benefits of natural/homeopathic sustenance, prevention & treatment.
The book is essentially divided into 2 sections:
a) The 1st Section contains a reasonably detailed summary of the history of homeopathic care & sustenance, its nature, philosophy and development. Dr. Hamilton carefully explains the theories and principles behind homeopathic care, of how it deals with the entire being (pet or human), seeking always to identify and treat root causes of ailments and diseases. He expresses his concerned that 'modern' medicine is too often symptom oriented, and drugs are prescribed to suppress symptoms without curing the ailment itself. With symptom suppressing medication, relief is temporary and over time, ailments often reappear in even more virulent forms.
Dr. Hamilton cautions the reader of common pitfalls faced by beginners and emphasises that proper homeopathic care requires much careful & systematic observation.
He tells how homeopathic care is deeply rooted in human civilisation and quickly dispels any notion that homeopathic remedies are 'quack' remedies based on old wives' tales.
(b) The 2nd Section consists of a series of chapters which carefully details common disorders and diseases afflicting our dogs and pets. From skin disorders to bloat, from cuts & scratches to death-causing diseases (and practically everything else in between). The author explores causes and effects, and suggests homeopathic preventive care and remedies. Potencies & dosages of homeopathic medicines are explained.
The chapter on vaccination is particularly interesting. This issue is dealt with in some detail and Dr. Hamilton is openly critical of the current vaccination practice.
An extensive list of further reading & references is provided.
This book requires careful reading & concentration. This is definitely not the book for a quick introduction on how to use aromatic scents & oils ... but, I suspect will be invaluable reference for anyone seriously wishing to learn homeopathic care, diagnosis and treatment.
I know I'm going to have to re-read this book several times ... The book leaves no illusion about me being ready to prescribe any but the most simple of homeopathic remedies ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hamilton has made a huge contribution to animal health, Dec 16 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs: Small Doses for Small Animals (Paperback)
I've read dozens of animal care books, and this particular book--which was highly recommended to me by a holistic vet--is among the finest. Hamilton's explanation of the concept of homeopathy is one of the most cogent and understandable that I've ever seen, yet his prose is sufficiently infused with detail so that the reader walks away with more than just a surface understanding of this beautiful practice. Hamilton shows great responsibility and care with ensuring the reader is adequately informed on when it's critical to consult with a holistic vet and not try figuring it out on one's own. Finally, his detailed discussion of the risks of vaccination and the consequences of a poor-quality diet raise the level of the usual "zealot versus non-zealot" debate over these crucial issues to animal health. If nothing else, any loving animal guardian would do well to read even just those chapters in his book to gain a greater appreciation for the relationship between diet/vaccinations and overall health. I might have been skeptical of these concepts before I had switched my own cat over to a totally fresh, raw diet and seen first-hand the remarkable change for the better that ensued. Hamilton deserves high praise for this work, which I suspect will remain a staple "must-read" for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Understandable Guide to Homeopathy, Nov. 13 2000
By 
Shannon Wilkinson (Portland, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs: Small Doses for Small Animals (Paperback)
This book is an understandable introduction to veterinary homeopathy for the beginner. Dr. Hamilton explains the history and theory of homeopathy in such a way that virtually anyone can grasp the basic principles. However, this is not just an introductory text. It is also a great reference tool for the more experienced animal guardian.
Part One covers Homeopathic Principles, including an introduction, the nature of disease and the nature of cure. Very important tenets of this modality, and very different from allopathic medicine.
Part Two provides step-by-step guidance on treating animals with homeopathy. It also explains when NOT to treat your animal without the guidance of an experienced homeopathic practitioner. While Part Three discusses vaccinations and the role they play in the health and illness in our companion animals. Part Four is the Materia Medica, which describes the individual remedies.
Finally in the appendix there is a helpful glossary and lists of additional resources. Homeopathic Care is a valuable addition to any alternative animal care library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've been searching for a book like this for some time, Sept. 29 2000
By 
Unique ViewPoint (Gaithersburg, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs: Small Doses for Small Animals (Paperback)
My family's first means of addressing medical problems is with homeopathy. For some time now, I've been looking for a text book I can use to treat my own pets acute conditions using homeopathy. This book is the one! If you are not familiar with homeopathy, you'll like the first chapters which give an overview. I especially appreciated the chapter on how to administer the remedies to pets. With humans, it's a simple matter of placing the pellets, untouch by hands, under the tongue to disolve. With pets, I really needed this chapter. With homeopathy, it's important to differentiate under what conditions a remedy is chosen. The book has a substantial portion devoted to this critical aspect of homeopathy. Finally, I did not want to purchase a book that addressed all animals, so I appreciate the focus (as does my dog) on cats and dogs. I noticed a lot of the reviewers were highlighting the sections on why not to vaccinate. I rescued my dog from the shelter, so vaccination was a done deed. I have used homeopathy to keep my dog much healthier than the average 15 year old senior dog citizen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The section on vaccination alone makes the book worthwhile!, March 27 2000
This review is from: Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs: Small Doses for Small Animals (Paperback)
Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs is a comprehensive overview of homeopathic treatment of acute conditions that affect cats and dogs. Much more detailed than other such titles on my shelf, this book addresses each aspect of homeopathy, from its philsophical underpinnings to how to administer a dose.
Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs is a must-have resource, if only for the section on vaccination, an issue that ought to concern all pet-owners, whether or not they have an interest in homeopathy. The study of vaccinations often leads to interest in alternative healing modalities, in which case, the buyer will have a great resource already to hand!
The Materia Medica provides a less-detailed overview of remedies than a does true MM, but this hardly limits the book's value as a homeopathic resource. Most readers interested in homeopathy no doubt already own one or MMs. No one book on homeopathy can address in-depth every aspect of this fascinating healing modality; Don Hamilton covers well those areas defined by the title of his book
Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs clearly delineates the divide between the opposing philosphies that drive conventional and homeopathic approaches to health.
I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST Book on Veterinary Homeopathy, Jan. 19 2000
This review is from: Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs: Small Doses for Small Animals (Paperback)
I have read just about every book on veterinary homeopathy and this one is the best! In fact, because of the excellent chapters on the nature of disease and vaccinations, I recommend this book even for dog and cat lovers who have no interest in homeopathy.
This book is an absolute must-read for anyone interested in treating their dog or cat with homeopathic remedies. Unfortunately too many people, being unaccustomed to a holistic concept of health, use homeopathic remedies in a decidedly allopathic manner; i.e., they choose a homeopathic remedy the way they would choose a drug, without taking into account the totality of the patient's symptoms and conditions. Dr. Hamilton tells you what you need to know to treat acute and minor health problems homeopathically (chronic illness needs to be treated by an experienced veterinary homeopath): how to take a case, choose a remedy, handle and administer remedies, select potency and repetitions, and recognize signs of a cure or partial cure as well as the signs of suppression or a noncurative aggravation (contrary to popular belief, not every aggravation signals a positive healing crisis). He also covers the very important subject of eliminating obstacles to a cure (e.g., low-quality processed foods, vaccinations, unnecessary stress).
Dr. Hamilton also includes a Materia Medica that, while brief, is very accurate. Those with a serious interest in homeopathy will probably want to invest in at least one comprehensive materia medica and repertory though.
Like the previous reviewer, I disagree with Dr. Hamilton's views on purebred dogs. IME, it's simply a myth that mixed breeds today are inherently healthier than purebred dogs. Our German Wirehaired Pointers are naturally reared and in excellent health!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a GREAT homeopathic & holistic health book, March 7 2000
This review is from: Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs: Small Doses for Small Animals (Paperback)
My hat's off to Don Hamilton. His book does an excellent job explaining the problems with vaccinations and the reasons not to give them. He successfully walks the line between suggesting remedies for specific conditions and clearly teaching people that it is much better to work with an experienced homeopath. He explains the underlying philosophy and principles of homeopathy clearly and interestingly. Don's deep respect for animals and his integrity shine forth in every chapter. Finally, there is a book on homeopathy for animals that is a geat introduction and also corrects common misconceptions. Kudos to Don.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs: Small Doses for Small Animals
Homeopathic Care for Cats and Dogs: Small Doses for Small Animals by Don Hamilton D.V.M. (Paperback - Oct. 20 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews