Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All girls should be as lucky as I was...
I am 21 years old now and stumbled upon this page looking for "our bodies, ourselves". When I was about 10 years old my mother gave me this book as a way to help bridge our inability to communicate well on personal topics. It helped me immensly, as well as a few of my girl friends who's mothers (gasp!) never said a word to them about anything they were going through. I...
Published on Dec 10 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Starter Book
I received this book when I turned 9 from my Aunt and Uncle, I had so many questions at that time and my Mom wasn't the type of person to go to, so my Aunt sent me this book, it was certainly helpful. I'm now 22 and have passed this book on to my 13 y/o sister, whose also afraid to ask my Mom questions.
Published on July 9 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All girls should be as lucky as I was..., Dec 10 2003
By A Customer
I am 21 years old now and stumbled upon this page looking for "our bodies, ourselves". When I was about 10 years old my mother gave me this book as a way to help bridge our inability to communicate well on personal topics. It helped me immensly, as well as a few of my girl friends who's mothers (gasp!) never said a word to them about anything they were going through. I had one friend who didn't understand when her mother told her their were "napkins" in the hall closet when she needed them, and that's all she ever said to her daughter. I reccomend that ALL mothers (and fathers, too) give their daughter at least one book like this, in addition to open, frank conversations. There is nothing pornographic about the pictures in this book. They are NOT photographs - they are drawings that are informative, rather than specific examples. Madaras is careful to explain that her illustrations are not what every girl's body looks like - and explains how things can vary. I read this book over and over again when I needed it, and was able to easy navigate to the information I was looking for. One of the most important aspects of this particular book for girls is that is has information about what is going on with their male counterparts, which helps girls feel less insecure when they read about how embarrassing things can be for the boys. I highly reccomend this book to girls 9 and up, but if your daughter is immature for her age, 10 or 11 might be a better age to introduce her to some of the information, as the book deals touches on topics such as sex and AIDS - which are better left to the parents' disgression at that age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In Sections...., Sept. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 'What's Happening to My Body?' Book for Girls (Paperback)
I think the book is an easy to understand read that will give girls a comfortable view of their body and understand what is happening. I purchased this because some of my daughters friends were having some changes and wanted my daughter to understand that her turn would come. She is still young and I will have to supervise the sections that are read for now as it does discuss sex and we are not at the stage where that is appropriate.

Overall it is what I wanted and I am happy with the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Starter Book, July 9 2002
By A Customer
I received this book when I turned 9 from my Aunt and Uncle, I had so many questions at that time and my Mom wasn't the type of person to go to, so my Aunt sent me this book, it was certainly helpful. I'm now 22 and have passed this book on to my 13 y/o sister, whose also afraid to ask my Mom questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative for my daughter, Dec 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 'What's Happening to My Body?' Book for Girls (Paperback)
My daughter referred to this book many times and it helped us to have a good dialogue. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best guide about puberty ever!, June 7 2003
By 
StarGymnast (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This book is a complete, up-to-date book about all the changes a girl goes through during puberty. It is an extremely helpful resource covering topics such as breasts, body hair and odor, getting your period, acne and skin care, romantic and sexual feelings, taking care of your body during puberty, and much more. The book helps you make guesses on things like when you will start puberty or get your period. Also, this book features over 50 drawings to explain nearly all the topics. Not only that, but the book is filled with qoutes from real girls and women who explain what it was like for them to go through all these changes and how they felt about it. You'll also get advice and info. on what type of pads or tampons are right for you, different diseases such as AIDS, eating disorders, signs that you will get your period soon, and much more. Included in the back of the book are resources, websites, and phone numbers for girls going through puberty and other changes. This book is a must-have for all girls going through puberty, and one of the only guides that explains EVERYTHING you need to know. (If you're a boy, or a parent of one, you'll probably like "The What's Happening To My Body: Book for Boys, also written by the same authors.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, May 28 2004
My Mom bought this book for me when i was 12 and it really helped. It answered all of the questions that i wanted to know but was too embarrassed to ask. Plus it had things that other girls my age had writen in. I recomend it to girls 12 and +
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALL A YOUNG GIRL NEEDS IN A BOOK ABOUT BECOMING A WOMAN, April 15 2004
This book covers every topic a girl is curious about as she enters puberty, (a few she might not be curious about yet, but will need to know about BEFORE she is twelve. With children becoming sexually active at 13 and not knowing how easily a girl become pregnant and teen AIDS on the rise--this is information that every girl needs to have. Buit are parents ready to let them have it before they need it, so they can be prepared to make informed choices and know why NO is the correct answer???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONLY FOR PARENTS WHO WANT THEIR DAUGHTERS WELL INFORMED, April 12 2004
By 
"sammyjazz" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This book has draeings and diagrams and honest language about body changes and sexuality and it answers many questions that most 9-14 year old girls are thinking. (Many don't ask because they are either too shy or too afraid). Warning, if you think giving children information is going to cause them to be sexually active, don't buy this book. Because it has all the information a preteen could want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful information for growing girls in a fast paced world, Dec 11 2003
By A Customer
I was given this book whe I was 9, and although I do not feel that my parents were involved enough in my life as a child the fact that I was given this book at the proper age, for ME, warms my heart.
This book is good for the girl that is very curious about her body and the world, whether you as parents agree with this or not, please pay attention to your daughters and where they are in their development. With this book I was able to dispell a lot of the misconseptions that my peers had. It also gave me the power that I needed to make the proper decisions when the time came.
Parent's do not underestimate your children for a second!
All in all I think this book did it's job well, but I think it is the parents position to decide when their child is ready for the information, not the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, March 24 2003
By 
Jennifer Harrell (Kingsport, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was given a early copy of this book when I was 8 years old by my mother, a registered nurse. She read the book before she gave it to me, cover to cover, and though it was very striaght forward, was not biased by politcs or religion, and told facts, straight up. So she gave it to me. I am now 22 and I thank my mother *so* much for having the insight to provide me with this book (when my brother was the same age she got him the "boys" book). That book helped me thru my pre-teen and teenage years so very much. I never has to ask the kids at school about stuff, I already knew it! Mom's gesture of giving it to me also let me know that, if I had a question the book didnt answer, I could just ask her cause she was not afraid to talk about it. That helped quell the nervousness that a kid feels on this topic.
I highly suggest this book to all parents of girls and the boys book to the boys. It was a great addition for easing the transition for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 'What's Happening to My Body?' Book for Girls
The 'What's Happening to My Body?' Book for Girls by Area Madaras (Paperback - June 6 2007)
CDN$ 17.50 CDN$ 12.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews