Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All girls should be as lucky as I was...
I am 21 years old now and stumbled upon this page looking for "our bodies, ourselves". When I was about 10 years old my mother gave me this book as a way to help bridge our inability to communicate well on personal topics. It helped me immensly, as well as a few of my girl friends who's mothers (gasp!) never said a word to them about anything they were going through. I...
Published on Dec 10 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good info, but better for older readers...
I have to agree somewhat (not completely) with one of the reviewers... This book is not well suited for girls who are nine or ten (my daughter is nine and a half). It's got a lot of good information, but some of the illustrations are too graphic (my daughter found the ones of male genitalia very disturbing, and she is not immature for her age). The age span on this book...
Published on Feb. 23 2001 by Laura Haggarty


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All girls should be as lucky as I was..., Dec 10 2003
By A Customer
I am 21 years old now and stumbled upon this page looking for "our bodies, ourselves". When I was about 10 years old my mother gave me this book as a way to help bridge our inability to communicate well on personal topics. It helped me immensly, as well as a few of my girl friends who's mothers (gasp!) never said a word to them about anything they were going through. I had one friend who didn't understand when her mother told her their were "napkins" in the hall closet when she needed them, and that's all she ever said to her daughter. I reccomend that ALL mothers (and fathers, too) give their daughter at least one book like this, in addition to open, frank conversations. There is nothing pornographic about the pictures in this book. They are NOT photographs - they are drawings that are informative, rather than specific examples. Madaras is careful to explain that her illustrations are not what every girl's body looks like - and explains how things can vary. I read this book over and over again when I needed it, and was able to easy navigate to the information I was looking for. One of the most important aspects of this particular book for girls is that is has information about what is going on with their male counterparts, which helps girls feel less insecure when they read about how embarrassing things can be for the boys. I highly reccomend this book to girls 9 and up, but if your daughter is immature for her age, 10 or 11 might be a better age to introduce her to some of the information, as the book deals touches on topics such as sex and AIDS - which are better left to the parents' disgression at that age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best guide about puberty ever!, June 7 2003
By 
StarGymnast (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This book is a complete, up-to-date book about all the changes a girl goes through during puberty. It is an extremely helpful resource covering topics such as breasts, body hair and odor, getting your period, acne and skin care, romantic and sexual feelings, taking care of your body during puberty, and much more. The book helps you make guesses on things like when you will start puberty or get your period. Also, this book features over 50 drawings to explain nearly all the topics. Not only that, but the book is filled with qoutes from real girls and women who explain what it was like for them to go through all these changes and how they felt about it. You'll also get advice and info. on what type of pads or tampons are right for you, different diseases such as AIDS, eating disorders, signs that you will get your period soon, and much more. Included in the back of the book are resources, websites, and phone numbers for girls going through puberty and other changes. This book is a must-have for all girls going through puberty, and one of the only guides that explains EVERYTHING you need to know. (If you're a boy, or a parent of one, you'll probably like "The What's Happening To My Body: Book for Boys, also written by the same authors.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good info, but better for older readers..., Feb. 23 2001
By 
Laura Haggarty (Northern KY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to agree somewhat (not completely) with one of the reviewers... This book is not well suited for girls who are nine or ten (my daughter is nine and a half). It's got a lot of good information, but some of the illustrations are too graphic (my daughter found the ones of male genitalia very disturbing, and she is not immature for her age). The age span on this book should be adjusted upwards to more like 12 and up, not 9 to 13.
That being said, this book covers a lot of ground, and for the most part does so well. It has a lot of important information found in books of this type: stages of puberty, signs to look for, the female reproductive cycle, bras, getting one's period, and so on. All these things are presented clearly, although again, I feel they're geared more towards older girls, rather than pre-teens.
All in all this is an ok book, but not excellent, and is not appropriate for the age range it's listed for. Buy this book for a 12 year-old or up, but don't push the envelope with younger girls, they don't need the pressure that such graphically displayed information provides, which can overwhelm them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, March 24 2003
By 
Jennifer Harrell (Kingsport, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was given a early copy of this book when I was 8 years old by my mother, a registered nurse. She read the book before she gave it to me, cover to cover, and though it was very striaght forward, was not biased by politcs or religion, and told facts, straight up. So she gave it to me. I am now 22 and I thank my mother *so* much for having the insight to provide me with this book (when my brother was the same age she got him the "boys" book). That book helped me thru my pre-teen and teenage years so very much. I never has to ask the kids at school about stuff, I already knew it! Mom's gesture of giving it to me also let me know that, if I had a question the book didnt answer, I could just ask her cause she was not afraid to talk about it. That helped quell the nervousness that a kid feels on this topic.
I highly suggest this book to all parents of girls and the boys book to the boys. It was a great addition for easing the transition for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Read, July 17 2001
By A Customer
My mother gave me this book when I was 10. I am now 14 and STILL refer to it for information every day. It gives girls a positive attitude about their changing bodies and other taboo subjects. While alot of moms have said it was too graphic and talked to much about sex, you have to look at a girl's point of view! At 10, I was very curious about sex, and this book was a lot more reliable than some sources I could have gone to...such as my friends. As I chat on girl to girl advice message boards today, I'm amazed and proud of how much more I know than other girls. I highly recommend this book to any contemporary mom who wants to open her pre-teen or teen's eyes to a whole new world of information. The book is very up-beat and easy to read and includes real girl's thoughts. The book is to a pre-teen or teen girl what a thesarus is to a writer...a necsesity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Starter Book, July 9 2002
By A Customer
I received this book when I turned 9 from my Aunt and Uncle, I had so many questions at that time and my Mom wasn't the type of person to go to, so my Aunt sent me this book, it was certainly helpful. I'm now 22 and have passed this book on to my 13 y/o sister, whose also afraid to ask my Mom questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough, thoughtful, and age appropriate, Nov. 20 2000
By A Customer
I purchased this book and read it cover to cover before giving it to my 10.5 year old daughter. I found it to be very direct, clear, and comprehensive. It has many drawings which are informative but not salacious. It is reassuring throughout on many topics and encourages a girl to seek help from parents or other trusted adults. The authors focus on common issues but offer hints of many complex problems with further contacts for those points. What I appreciated most was that this new edition was directed in particular to younger girls and their curiosity and fears about the changes coming to them, and the author said she removed or reduced her chapters (from earlier editions) about actual sexual issues. There are practical discussions about what we used to call 'feminine hygeine products' that I know will be helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful information for growing girls in a fast paced world, Dec 11 2003
By A Customer
I was given this book whe I was 9, and although I do not feel that my parents were involved enough in my life as a child the fact that I was given this book at the proper age, for ME, warms my heart.
This book is good for the girl that is very curious about her body and the world, whether you as parents agree with this or not, please pay attention to your daughters and where they are in their development. With this book I was able to dispell a lot of the misconseptions that my peers had. It also gave me the power that I needed to make the proper decisions when the time came.
Parent's do not underestimate your children for a second!
All in all I think this book did it's job well, but I think it is the parents position to decide when their child is ready for the information, not the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful guide., Sept. 1 2002
By A Customer
Someone suggested this book to me when my daughter was about eight. I bought it and read it. It was important for me to get comfortable with the subject matter before I could introduce it to my child. The scariest thing was what do I (or should I) say to her? When she started asking questions, we would pull out "the book". After reading about a particular subject, we would then talk about it and share our thoughts. It was just the sections that involved her questions. At first, I held on to the book and when I thought she was ready, I handed it over to her. Reading this book was as valuable to me as it was to my daughter. She is almost 14 and SHE tells people about this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Read For ALL Girls ages 9 and up!, Dec 24 2002
By A Customer
Are you a girl who is worried, wondering, scared, curious, or scared about the changes your body is going through? Well, look no further. This is a fantastic book for girls who are entering or are in puberty, and a terrific guide for parents to read if they want to help their child. The information is very clear, accurate and easy to understand. A well-drawn picture illustrates the change easily. Also, for girls who want to know, there is even a chapter about puberty in boys! Topics included are periods, breasts, hair, caring for your body during puberty, and so much more. I read this book from cover to cover and I just LOVED it. Read it1 You will not be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What's Happening To My Body? Book For Girls: Revised Edition
What's Happening To My Body? Book For Girls: Revised Edition by Lynda Madaras (Paperback - Nov. 15 2011)
CDN$ 18.50 CDN$ 13.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews