Auto SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle boutiques-francophones SGG Tools Simple and secure cloud storage Music Deals Store

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars27
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$14.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2003
I am 21 years old now and stumbled upon this page looking for "our bodies, ourselves". When I was about 10 years old my mother gave me this book as a way to help bridge our inability to communicate well on personal topics. It helped me immensly, as well as a few of my girl friends who's mothers (gasp!) never said a word to them about anything they were going through. I had one friend who didn't understand when her mother told her their were "napkins" in the hall closet when she needed them, and that's all she ever said to her daughter. I reccomend that ALL mothers (and fathers, too) give their daughter at least one book like this, in addition to open, frank conversations. There is nothing pornographic about the pictures in this book. They are NOT photographs - they are drawings that are informative, rather than specific examples. Madaras is careful to explain that her illustrations are not what every girl's body looks like - and explains how things can vary. I read this book over and over again when I needed it, and was able to easy navigate to the information I was looking for. One of the most important aspects of this particular book for girls is that is has information about what is going on with their male counterparts, which helps girls feel less insecure when they read about how embarrassing things can be for the boys. I highly reccomend this book to girls 9 and up, but if your daughter is immature for her age, 10 or 11 might be a better age to introduce her to some of the information, as the book deals touches on topics such as sex and AIDS - which are better left to the parents' disgression at that age.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 7, 2003
This book is a complete, up-to-date book about all the changes a girl goes through during puberty. It is an extremely helpful resource covering topics such as breasts, body hair and odor, getting your period, acne and skin care, romantic and sexual feelings, taking care of your body during puberty, and much more. The book helps you make guesses on things like when you will start puberty or get your period. Also, this book features over 50 drawings to explain nearly all the topics. Not only that, but the book is filled with qoutes from real girls and women who explain what it was like for them to go through all these changes and how they felt about it. You'll also get advice and info. on what type of pads or tampons are right for you, different diseases such as AIDS, eating disorders, signs that you will get your period soon, and much more. Included in the back of the book are resources, websites, and phone numbers for girls going through puberty and other changes. This book is a must-have for all girls going through puberty, and one of the only guides that explains EVERYTHING you need to know. (If you're a boy, or a parent of one, you'll probably like "The What's Happening To My Body: Book for Boys, also written by the same authors.)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on March 24, 2003
I was given a early copy of this book when I was 8 years old by my mother, a registered nurse. She read the book before she gave it to me, cover to cover, and though it was very striaght forward, was not biased by politcs or religion, and told facts, straight up. So she gave it to me. I am now 22 and I thank my mother *so* much for having the insight to provide me with this book (when my brother was the same age she got him the "boys" book). That book helped me thru my pre-teen and teenage years so very much. I never has to ask the kids at school about stuff, I already knew it! Mom's gesture of giving it to me also let me know that, if I had a question the book didnt answer, I could just ask her cause she was not afraid to talk about it. That helped quell the nervousness that a kid feels on this topic.
I highly suggest this book to all parents of girls and the boys book to the boys. It was a great addition for easing the transition for me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on December 11, 2003
I was given this book whe I was 9, and although I do not feel that my parents were involved enough in my life as a child the fact that I was given this book at the proper age, for ME, warms my heart.
This book is good for the girl that is very curious about her body and the world, whether you as parents agree with this or not, please pay attention to your daughters and where they are in their development. With this book I was able to dispell a lot of the misconseptions that my peers had. It also gave me the power that I needed to make the proper decisions when the time came.
Parent's do not underestimate your children for a second!
All in all I think this book did it's job well, but I think it is the parents position to decide when their child is ready for the information, not the publisher.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 23, 2001
I have to agree somewhat (not completely) with one of the reviewers... This book is not well suited for girls who are nine or ten (my daughter is nine and a half). It's got a lot of good information, but some of the illustrations are too graphic (my daughter found the ones of male genitalia very disturbing, and she is not immature for her age). The age span on this book should be adjusted upwards to more like 12 and up, not 9 to 13.
That being said, this book covers a lot of ground, and for the most part does so well. It has a lot of important information found in books of this type: stages of puberty, signs to look for, the female reproductive cycle, bras, getting one's period, and so on. All these things are presented clearly, although again, I feel they're geared more towards older girls, rather than pre-teens.
All in all this is an ok book, but not excellent, and is not appropriate for the age range it's listed for. Buy this book for a 12 year-old or up, but don't push the envelope with younger girls, they don't need the pressure that such graphically displayed information provides, which can overwhelm them.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 12, 2004
This book has draeings and diagrams and honest language about body changes and sexuality and it answers many questions that most 9-14 year old girls are thinking. (Many don't ask because they are either too shy or too afraid). Warning, if you think giving children information is going to cause them to be sexually active, don't buy this book. Because it has all the information a preteen could want.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 28, 2015
As a father to a 9 year old girl and 6 year old boy, I bought these books to give to my kids in a few years to help them prepare for what lies ahead, and to gain an understanding of their bodies and the changes they'll see and experience. My mom gave my sister and me these books when we were pre-teens back in the early 80s, and I still think of them as some of the most important books I've read. There is so much bad information out there on the internet for kids to get their hands on, and their peers are just as bad a source. I would recommend these books to any parent as a great support tool for any conversations you might want or need to have with your kids. Great books!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 26, 2013
I think the book is an easy to understand read that will give girls a comfortable view of their body and understand what is happening. I purchased this because some of my daughters friends were having some changes and wanted my daughter to understand that her turn would come. She is still young and I will have to supervise the sections that are read for now as it does discuss sex and we are not at the stage where that is appropriate.

Overall it is what I wanted and I am happy with the purchase!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2001
My mother gave me this book when I was 10. I am now 14 and STILL refer to it for information every day. It gives girls a positive attitude about their changing bodies and other taboo subjects. While alot of moms have said it was too graphic and talked to much about sex, you have to look at a girl's point of view! At 10, I was very curious about sex, and this book was a lot more reliable than some sources I could have gone to...such as my friends. As I chat on girl to girl advice message boards today, I'm amazed and proud of how much more I know than other girls. I highly recommend this book to any contemporary mom who wants to open her pre-teen or teen's eyes to a whole new world of information. The book is very up-beat and easy to read and includes real girl's thoughts. The book is to a pre-teen or teen girl what a thesarus is to a writer...a necsesity!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 9, 2002
I received this book when I turned 9 from my Aunt and Uncle, I had so many questions at that time and my Mom wasn't the type of person to go to, so my Aunt sent me this book, it was certainly helpful. I'm now 22 and have passed this book on to my 13 y/o sister, whose also afraid to ask my Mom questions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Care and Keeping of You (Revised): The Body Book for Younger Girls
The Care and Keeping of You (Revised): The Body Book for Younger Girls by Valorie Schaefer (Paperback - March 26 2013)
CDN$ 12.99

The Care and Keeping of You 2: The Body Book for Older Girls
The Care and Keeping of You 2: The Body Book for Older Girls by Dr. Cara Natterson (Paperback - March 27 2013)
CDN$ 13.13