Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Still a solid methodology for Web Project Management
It has been about four years since this book's last edition came out, and it continues to top the list of Web Project Management references, and with reason for it. Its proven methodology provides a solid framework that you can relate to once and again, with confidence and permanently reminding of potential pitfalls and obstacles. In short, Friedlein's book provides the...
Published on Feb. 14 2004 by Manny Hernandez

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A worthless piece of writing...
We were made to buy this book for a class in "Document Design & Information Management" and we were using this book as a reference for the class about making and maintaining a portal page. This book was full of org. charts, Dilbert cartoons, case studies and nice graphics and that is about it. It lacks real information and misses information about the actual...
Published on April 12 2001 by A. G. You


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Still a solid methodology for Web Project Management, Feb. 14 2004
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
It has been about four years since this book's last edition came out, and it continues to top the list of Web Project Management references, and with reason for it. Its proven methodology provides a solid framework that you can relate to once and again, with confidence and permanently reminding of potential pitfalls and obstacles. In short, Friedlein's book provides the closest thing to a recipe for success with managing web projects: of course, you can always put in a little too much salt yourself, can't you? ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, Sept. 11 2003
By 
Byron Giles (APO, AP United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
I find myself picking up this book often to incorporate into business or for a refressher.
Byron Giles
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Please read the full review., June 30 2003
By 
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
Intro
"There is no one book that is best for every person. There couldn't be one. People are too different in the way they learn, in what they already know, in what they need, in what they want, and in what kind of effort they are willing to make." Bjarne Stroustrup (The creator of the C++ programming language.)
I always try to remember this whenever I have to judge a writing effort.
Whom is this book for?
This book is for anybody interested in managing a web project or being part of a well managed one. (Need to be more specific read my conclusion?)
What does this Book offer?
The book seems to offer tips more than any thing else, some guidelines about the roles of personals in a web team, a "Web project method", and a case study.
The part regarding web teams seems to be good and gives a lot of insight.
The case study is full of tips.
The method, (Here where my good feeling change) a high level view, full with tips but no real details, never the less seems to be good.
What I liked?
This book is very well written, tips every where (even in the acknowledgments), the graphics are nice, and is good for the right people.
What I didn't?
If you didn't, go read the Stroustrup quote I wrote in order not to miss understand me, the book didn't help me a lot, I m a web developer searching for an all around web process to follow in my projects, and this book simply doesn't offer. The writers seem to ignore that there are software systems behind those web sites. More details wouldn't have harmed.
Conclusion
I feel that the most people that would benefit reading this book are already practicing web project managers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Halfway into my first major commercial website redesign....., June 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
I could not be more impressed! My dog-eared, highlighted, underlined copy of this awesome roadmap to managing major web projects goes everywhere with me. The downloadable project plan from the author's website served as a good starting point for me to build a very usable project management outline. My level of experience in both project management and web development is mid level, and the book has given me the tools to manage through a fortune500 website relaunch, as well as food for thought on how to optimize all components of my site. It's not a technical book, it's a very detailed guide for project managers to manage launching a site, from planning to content development to technical specifications to launch. It's ideal for business (read marketing) sponsors who have been agitating for a redesign for years who suddenly get their budget minus the project manager to keep their heads above water. Definitely recommend for when you're tossed into that situation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Sound, June 10 2003
By 
"seasquawks" (Boise, Idaho USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
Ashley Friedlein provides a very sound methodology for web development. Kelly Goto's Web Redesign is another fine book for managing web projects. However, Friedlein's book is not cute or sweet. Rather, this book is professional and solid (Goto's is professional and solid as well, it's just an easier read). The book reads similar to a college textbook (hint: dry). The content is serious and impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Sound, June 10 2003
By 
"seasquawks" (Boise, Idaho USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
Ashley Friedlein provides a very sound methodology for web development. Kelly Goto's Web Redesign is another fine book for managing web projects. However, Friedlein's book is not cute or sweet. Rather, this book is professional and solid (Goto's is professional and solid as well, it's just an easier read). The book reads similar to a college textbook (hint: dry). The content is serious and impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is an answer to all your questions., April 6 2002
By 
Jenifer Harrison (Central Point, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
I use this as a reference all the time. A great help in writing documentation and organizing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Made Life Easier for Me, Nov. 2 2001
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
This is a great book. It's making my life a lot easier. It presents sound methodology if you are going to develop and build a commercial Web site. I am using it in school right now. It really defines terms in such a way that they are not just words that you toss around. By defining, describing and giving examples the terms become second nature and you actually understand in a logical fashion the integrated elements of designing and maintaining a commercial Web site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Destined to Become a Project Management Classic, Oct. 5 2001
By 
Craig L. Howe (Darien, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
I should have read this book three years ago. Web Project Management presents a solid Web project management method for building commercial web sites.
The book reads as if Ashley Friedlein, the author made many of the same mistakes I made. The wisdom encapsulated between the covers of this well written, easy-to-understand volume will serve web site project managers for years to come.
The author breaks web site construction into 4 distinct phases: Pre-production, Production, Maintenance and Evaluation. Pre-production is broken into 3 stages: Project Clarification, Solution Definition, and Project Specification. Pre-production ranks as the most important stage; it represents the time when you work out what is to be achieved and plan how you will do it.
Production consists of the following stages: Content, Design and Construction, Testing, Launch and Handover. I found the author's attention to content complications particularly interesting. In my experience, content is the area where web site designers and builders are the weakest, yet plays one of the most critical roles in the users' return.
Maintenance plays a critical role in the updating and evolution of the site, so that it can retain and grow its user base.
The final phase, Evaluation, is something of great importance to site builders and clients. Clients are demanding their web sites provide a return on investment. Sites must perform a commercial as well as a branding and marketing function to justify continued investment. If a financial benefit can be established, it is much easier to receive continued funding for existing projects or to undertake new ones.
If you are involved-however tangentially-with web site development and support, you owe it to yourself to have a well-worn copy of this book gracing your bookshelves. Friedlein writes from experience - and that experience will save you time, money and quite a few headaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Add This Book to Your Must Have List!!, July 10 2001
By 
H. Dawson "V." (Los Angeles, CA.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
Excellent, excellent, excellent! If your a Project Manager who delivers web-based projects, then this book should definetly be in your collection. If your new to the world of Project Management for the internet, then this is the FIRST book you should read. Forget whatever negative comments you may read on this rating list, because those who dare to be critical have probably never delivered a web-based project. This book gives you a good base from which to start your research; giving you a good overview of the most important concepts, along with a reference section to help you along the way. If your trying to decide between this book and another...then take it from an experience PM when I tell you that you should choose this one first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites
Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites by Ashley Friedlein (Paperback - Oct. 17 2000)
CDN$ 74.95 CDN$ 68.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews