Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flubber Review
This movie is brand new. No issues what so ever. It works perfectly and the case is completely in tact.
Published 13 months ago by Megan Duarte

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute But Absentmindedly Twisted
Recently I went to a theater showing the Disney remake, Flubber, starring Robin Williams. Although I still prefer the original The Absent Minded Professor, Flubber was a whole lot of fun.
Robin Williams plays a science professor looking for a new form of energy. As the film opens, Williams is already in danger of missing his own wedding for the third time. But...
Published on April 22 2004 by Joshua Koppel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute But Absentmindedly Twisted, April 22 2004
By 
Joshua Koppel (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flubber (Bilingual) (DVD)
Recently I went to a theater showing the Disney remake, Flubber, starring Robin Williams. Although I still prefer the original The Absent Minded Professor, Flubber was a whole lot of fun.
Robin Williams plays a science professor looking for a new form of energy. As the film opens, Williams is already in danger of missing his own wedding for the third time. But while guests wait patiently Williams discovers the semi-intelligent Flubber. Much of the rest of the film is spent trying to win back the heart of his fiance and subsequently save the collage from bankruptcy and closure. Williams is aided in his endeavors by two robots. The first is an exceptionally capable housekeeping robot. The second is a levitating, self-aware intelligence with full emotions. While fun companions movie-wise, the technical aspects of these robots would be more than enough for Williams to save the college. In the End Williams wins back his fiancé, defeats the bad guys trying to close the college and finds a future for Flubber.
While Flubber is very enjoyable it seems like the writers added details for the sake of cuteness without thinking about the implications. Williams is looking for a new energy source yet he has a robot that can defy gravity and powered by simple electricity. He needs a discovery worth money yet he has two very successful and useful robots, one of them alive. Flubber itself has been made into some kind of life form. This may be good for merchandising but one can only wonder about the source of powdered Flubber or the implications of flight resulting from intentionally causing the organism's decay. Selling the rights to flying cars to Ford made for a funny scene but now there can potentially be millions of semi-responsible drivers flying through the country's airlanes while carrying radioactive materials. Additionally, a few scenes were changed from the original and are now less plausible. For instance, in the original, the fiancé calls the professor when he is late for the wedding again.
So if you are looking for fun then this is your movie. However, if you tend to rebel at inconsistencies and like your plots to make sense, then you might want to avoid this one. It's up to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flubber Review, June 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flubber (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie is brand new. No issues what so ever. It works perfectly and the case is completely in tact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Job, Sept. 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flubber (Bilingual) (DVD)
Really fast and the right movie!!!!Really good job!!! I will talk to my friends about your amazing shop guys!!! See you soon!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SO MUCH ENTERTAINMENT--AWESOME REMAKE!!, March 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flubber (Bilingual) (DVD)
This was a movie I had seen years ago, but it was still as funny, and sweet as I remembered! Great movie for the whole family! (except the kids all want a Flubber of their own!) Robin Williams always rocks! I can't wait to watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flubber, Aug. 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Flubber (Bilingual) (DVD)
A Great Movie!!!! I laughed alot! I like the way the flubber entered the Villian's mouth and went thru his system and came out of his Butt was extremely funny. The crooks getting hit in the head with the golf ball and bowling ball was funny and the crooks saying it sure gives you a headache. The only bad thing about the movie is some cussing that should have been left out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dancing Globs make me wozzy, June 21 2003
By 
JediMack (VALRICO, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flubber (Bilingual) (DVD)
Wow this was disappointing. The stupid parts outweight the good stuff. What a waste. With all the potential to make a real interesting story, and with all the high tech capabilities now vs when the original was made this should have been a real fun movie to watch. It is not. Most of my kids had left the room before the end. definitely rent before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flubber, June 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Flubber (Bilingual) (DVD)
I specifically searched for this movie. I had watched it at th emovie theater and wanted a DVD copy. I enjoy Robin Williams' performance and the comedy in this movie. It is a "good, clean" movie that children can watch without nightmares (except the poor boy in the movie that saw the flying men and car) and isn't filled with profanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good family fun and inspiring for inventive types, June 17 2003
By 
Vince Deegan (Irving, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flubber 97 (VHS Tape)
The movie is a great escape, with some good humor and energy. After seeing the cool flying robotic assistant and the flying car, it made me enjoy dreaming and innovating. Some of those negative reviews were apparently given by those with the sense of humor of a piece of wood. Robin Williams is great at playing an absent minded professor, with some hillarious statements and events. His fiance was a great companion in the movie, with her sweet disposition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good family fun and inspiring for inventive types, June 17 2003
By 
Vince Deegan (Irving, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flubber 97 (VHS Tape)
The movie is a great escape, with some good humor and energy. After seeing the cool flying robotic assistant and the flying car, it made me enjoy dreaming and innovating. Some of those negative reviews were apparently given by those with the sense of humor of a piece of wood. Robin Williams is great at playing an absent minded professor, with some hillarious statements and events. His fiance was a great companion in the movie, with her sweet disposition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The car saves the film from the scrap heap!, May 24 2003
By 
Reginald D. Garrard "the G-man" (Camilla, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flubber (Bilingual) (DVD)
Robin Williams soaring in the heavens in his cool T-bird is the only thing worthwhile in this remake of the classic "The Absent-Minded Professor". The robot assistant is cute and the dancing flubber shows off the prowess of the special effects technicians, but, as a film, "Flubber" insults even the intellect of a three-year-old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flubber (Bilingual)
Flubber (Bilingual) by Les Mayfield (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 11.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews