Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars bad case of beingnearsighted.
Mr Magoo is funny on just the fact of being nearsighted.Driving his car around town,without glasses, makes it more funny,but not for anyone in the street.With the trusty help of Mr Magoos pet bulldog,life becomes more entertaining.When Mr Magoos nephew steps in to help with a prescription windshield, life changes when someone steals Mr Magoos car for a few minutes.A funny...
Published on April 8 2012 by hollowseve

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not necessarily excellent
This was basically your average comedy movie. First half wasn't very funny; second have was hilarious. First of all, Leslie Nielsen plays a great Quincy Magoo, acting like he is blind, and all. Angus, the dog, is a pretty good part, too, though some of the gags near the beginning with Angus didn't really hit the spot. Some jokes hilarious, for example, the chicken...
Published on Feb. 19 2003 by Kyle Bolme


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars bad case of beingnearsighted., April 8 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Magoo (DVD)
Mr Magoo is funny on just the fact of being nearsighted.Driving his car around town,without glasses, makes it more funny,but not for anyone in the street.With the trusty help of Mr Magoos pet bulldog,life becomes more entertaining.When Mr Magoos nephew steps in to help with a prescription windshield, life changes when someone steals Mr Magoos car for a few minutes.A funny movie for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Light and funny, Jan. 23 2012
By 
Cassie (Montreal, canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr. Magoo (DVD)
Depending on my mood, I've laughed out loud at certain points of this movie. I can say that I truly enjoy this one, it's one of me and my son's favorites. We put it on whenever we're in the mood for a few lighthearted laughs with no yucky kissing scenes! Big plus far as my boy is concerened!;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars vastly entertaining and downright funny at times (4.2), Aug. 31 2007
This review is from: Mr. Magoo (DVD)
I'll admit this movie is no masterpiece,but it is vastly entertaining.to
me,Leslie Nielson is perfectly cast as Mr.Magoo.if you don't know the
character of Mr.Magoo,he was originally a cartoon character who is
absurdly near sighted,leading him into all kinds of trouble,yet he is
generally oblivious to most of what's going on.oh yeah,he is also very
wealthy.the live action movie portrays the character pretty much
exactly the same.he always seems to come out of any potential trouble
with virtually no signs of any problem.in the movie,Magoo,helps solve a
crime and help put the baddies in jail,with a lot of help,from both his
nephew and his dog.yes,i said dog.this dog is is very intelligent and
saves Magoo from many mishaps,both minor and major.Kelly Lynch portrays
one of the criminals and she does a very fine job in her role.not to
mention she is hot,hot,hot.anyway,like i said earlier,the movie is
certainly very amusing,and contains an absolutely hysterical sequence
with Magoo in the kitchen.there's also some great action and some great
martial arts moves,courtesy of Lynch's character.for the most part,this
is a great family movie,with maybe a bit of mild language.for me,the
live action version of Mr.Magoo is a 4.2/5 based simply on how
entertaining it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not necessarily excellent, Feb. 19 2003
This review is from: Mr. Magoo 97 (VHS Tape)
This was basically your average comedy movie. First half wasn't very funny; second have was hilarious. First of all, Leslie Nielsen plays a great Quincy Magoo, acting like he is blind, and all. Angus, the dog, is a pretty good part, too, though some of the gags near the beginning with Angus didn't really hit the spot. Some jokes hilarious, for example, the chicken scene. Only poor Mr. Magoo could end up sandpapering a boiling chicken!
The other acting wasn't that great, unfortunately. If the other actors hadn't acted like it was so much of a drama, and treated it more like a comedy, it could've turned out a little better. I would recommend this for lovers of comedy.
Recommended for ages 6 and up. Rated PG for mild language (hardly noticeable) and some action sequences.
This movie may be a bit scary for younger children, because of some of the gun fighting, but this is lightened up by the near-sightedness (or is it pure stupidity?) of Magoo. Younger children will enjoy the silly slapstick comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, entertaining, Dec 1 2002
By 
This review is from: Mr. Magoo (DVD)
We really liked the movie, the kids all love it, they find it very funny. We have seen the original Mr. Magoo cartoons and enjoyed them. This movie is as funny as the cartoons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny!!!, Nov. 4 2002
By 
This review is from: Mr. Magoo (DVD)
It is indeed very interesting and amusing to see the cartoon Mr. Magoo 'come to life' acted out by non other than the great comedian Leslie Nielsen. I burst out laughing a few times watching this movie, for example, the part when Mr. Magoo was trying to prepare the 'chicken dish' for the lovely but fatal Prunela (Kelly Lynch). He was watching a 'cooking' program when it was changed to an 'aerobics' program and next to a 'carpentary' program. Mr. Magoo as usual being visually impaired, went through all the 'rituals' with his chicken. It was hilarious! Get this movie and laugh your way through with Mr. Magoo from the beginning when the jewel was stolen to the end when he restored it to its rightful place, all the while not realizing the dangers he was in. This is because as in the cartoon, he always walks away smoothly from all harm despite his bad eyesight. This is a wonderful movie for 'tired, sore' eyes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE "CITIZEN KANE" OF MOVIE COMEDIES!, Aug. 26 2002
This review is from: Mr. Magoo (DVD)
Simply one of the ten greatest comedies ever made! Where's the sequel???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Jan. 1 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr. Magoo 97 (VHS Tape)
Excellent movie! Leslie Nielson does a terrific job paying Mr. Magoo. The movie is a little kidddish but adults will still like it. The dog also does a terrific job. The only bad part of the movie is that it is very unrealistic, but thats Hollywood for yall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing extremely great or terrible.....2.5 stars from me, Dec 7 2001
This review is from: Mr. Magoo 97 (VHS Tape)
I haven't ever watched the cartoon of Mr. Magoo, but I always heard what it was about. I don't know why, but when I heard about Leslie Nielsen (one of the best comedy actors there is) starring in "Mr. Magoo," I wanted to see it.
Mr. Magoo is a VERY visually impaired and wealthy man. He unfortunately gets involved in the middle of a plot that deals with thieves stealing extremely valuable jewels. Whether Mr. Magoo successfully gets out of the middle of the action or not, one thing's for sure, he sure needs a new eye doctor.
Unlike what I've read from some of the other reviews, I didn't think that Leslie Nielsen did a bad job at all in "Mr. Magoo." I do agree that the movie seems generic and that it is somewhat pointless, but I still moderately liked it. Mr. Magoo isn't trying to be funny, but he is, since he is nearly blind. You will see him do such things such as go fishing and catch a man, but think that he has a lunker of a fish, take what he thinks is a skiing detour, but that is actually the edge of a cliff, and a lot more.
I thought Leslie Nielsen did a great job of acting like he was nearly blind, and the rest of the people in the film did ok, but not great, with the exception of the dog, who was brilliant.
As for the movie itself, "Mr. Magoo" isn't one of the best comedies and it's not one of the funniest, but I did think parts were hilarious. But there were also many parts that tried to be funny, that didn't even make me grin. All in all, it's a mixed bag of laughs and failed grins. If you're a fan of comedy movies and Leslie Nielsen films, I would recommend renting "Mr. Magoo" before buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars oh Leslie, June 15 2001
By 
Adam Hunnicutt "A.H." (Remember to vote!! Click my name to read more reviews. Send me an E-Mail to review your product.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr. Magoo (DVD)
First off, for those of you that like my reviews, you have probably noticed that I either totally like a movie, or totally despise it for killing brain cells. This, to those of you, is the latter. Mr Magoo, a retired idea from a retired cartoon, that neither should have made it past phase one. After you laugh at one thing (As Ebert said about Money Pit) you have nothing more to laugh at. The jokes are neither funny nor inspiring. New material is essential to the survival of a comedy. Unless, that is, you enjoy redundancy. Leslie Nielson, is one of my favorite comedians, (With the exception of the unnecessary Wrongfully accused, in which I laughed twice) and I have to say he was the best for the job. But, how unfortunate for him, that the material was plucked from an animated floozy. I am mr magoo, here is my chicken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Magoo
Mr. Magoo by Stanley Tong (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews