Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars good intro
its a good book to get introduce to the usability standard. Lots of example are covered in the book. a+
Published 15 months ago by Vedge

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but seriously needs a second edition
This book came out in 1999 and you have to be prepared for that. It's still about 80% useful, which is amazing considering how fast web technology is moving. I love the way the author uses lots of actual pictures of websites to illustrate every point. If he would bring it into the third millenium, I'd probably give it five stars instead of three.
Published on May 23 2004 by Matthew T. Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars good intro, Jan. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
its a good book to get introduce to the usability standard. Lots of example are covered in the book. a+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good base, April 7 2006
By 
Nelson Therrien (Drummondville, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
This is a good book if you've never heard about usability. I agree with the review saying it would be time for a review though...
I find it too extremist on some points. A designer would look at this (and surely his website) and say he'll never want to do another website if it has to be that way...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the bible, March 7 2005
By 
Blair (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
You may not follow all of Jacob Neilson's guidelines, but you can't start any website construction or redesign project without reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Reference, but a bit outdated, July 18 2004
By 
Michael Lugassy (Ra'anana, Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
This book is a must for every web developer, although I think it's time for a newer version, as some of the examples and theories are based on pre-2000 studies.
Overall you can expect a great insight on correct web-design, colors matching, liquid pages, use of navigation and quick respond to user needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book and easy to use and understand!, June 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
Another excellent source of information from the INTERNET guru of them all! This book is a definite MUST HAVE for any website designer, newbie to web design and anyone and everyone who has an online business. Simple, easy to understand visuals compliment the text, which is written in a very simplistic manner. This book is wonderful - magnificent - excellent, and will help you greatly understand the elements of successful web design. I've used it to consistently update my own website, at:
[...]
If you don't have this book, you're missing out on your single-most-important investment in your professional life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but seriously needs a second edition, May 23 2004
By 
Matthew T. Nelson (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
This book came out in 1999 and you have to be prepared for that. It's still about 80% useful, which is amazing considering how fast web technology is moving. I love the way the author uses lots of actual pictures of websites to illustrate every point. If he would bring it into the third millenium, I'd probably give it five stars instead of three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Common sense reasoning, March 17 2004
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
I'm a designer and I design web sites for a living, and this book didn't click with me. The topics in the book are repeated over and over and over and over again--simplicity and usability.
A better theme would've been "achieving beauty from simplicity".
While this is a good lesson to learn, unfortunately this makes for boring reading, and Nielson isn't even witty when compared to Edward Tufte.
Pros: Great academic reading, pages are in full color, great for
web designers who can't design and need to conform to
common everyday looking web sites.
Cons: Expensive for the little insights of do's and don'ts,
too much of the insights are really just common sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good conecpts, BAD DESIGN, March 17 2004
By 
G. Brown "gabosgab" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
This man can really tell you how to design a website that will satisify user well. He has researched the field of web design and usability stats and knows his stuff. But don't let the man design a webpage by himself. He's a good usability guy, not a good designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What the WWW needed was a stylebook - Nielsen delivers, Jan. 12 2004
By 
Marcus Abundus (Los Altos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
This book is primarily a stylebook. The web is often mistaken for an electronic book and this is probably one of the reasons it has taken a while to find a guide aimed at web usability. Jakob Nielsen does a great job in creating a style manual for a medium, which has different aims and limitations from printed material. What made Tim Berners-Lee¡s innovation successful; the delivery of digital media on all manner of computer platforms; is also its drawback. Not every platform treats HTML tags in the same manner.
Nielsen¡s main point is that the web is primarily a communications tool, although an interactive one. He states, ¡§the main goal of most web projects should be to make it easy for customers to perform useful tasks.¡ In addition Nielsen points out that your display terminal is not a book. This means a screen that although interactive is harder to read than a book. The prime advantage is the ability to link to other current and active links or content in an immediate manner. The biggest mistake a site author makes is in creating slow, confusing, or cumbersome sites.
Make no mistake, the author knows is stuff and is consistent in his tone. This is the first part of a two-book set. By the time you have read both books some of the more obvious points are a bit overdone, but his main goal; to get web designers to change some of their bad habits worked with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Give this book to anyone involved with the web., Dec 7 2003
By 
Patrick M. Byers (Issaquah, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
Another Outsource Marketing favorite! We have given at least a dozen copies of this book to clients and friends of the firm.
If you like Jakob Nielsen's columns, this book is the full meal deal. It covers the principles of usability and includes dozens of illustrated examples.
Excerpt: "With about 10 million sites on the Web...and about 25 million by the end of the year...users have more choices than ever. Why should they waste their time on anything that is confusing, slow, or that doesn't satisfy their needs? ...As a result of this overwhelming choice and the ease of going elsewhere, web users exhibit a remarkable impatience and insistence on instant gratification. If they can't figure out how to use a website in a minute or so, they conclude that it won't be worth their time. And they leave."
To view Nielsen's excellent website on usability, visit [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa3f348c)

This product

Designing Web Usability
Designing Web Usability by Jakob Nielsen (Paperback - Dec 20 1999)
CDN$ 57.99 CDN$ 36.53
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews