Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars good intro
its a good book to get introduce to the usability standard. Lots of example are covered in the book. a+
Published 18 months ago by Vedge

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but seriously needs a second edition
This book came out in 1999 and you have to be prepared for that. It's still about 80% useful, which is amazing considering how fast web technology is moving. I love the way the author uses lots of actual pictures of websites to illustrate every point. If he would bring it into the third millenium, I'd probably give it five stars instead of three.
Published on May 23 2004 by Matthew T. Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 423 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fascinating!, Feb. 13 2003
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
This book covers it all. It answered 99 percent of the questions and concerns I had about designing a usable site. Whether you agree or disagree with Jakob, you have to admire the body of work he's given the Internet. And you have to respect his opinions. They are very credible.
If one cares about usability, this is a page turner. I could hardly put it down. And I'm sure this is one of the few books I own that I will use daily and keep handy and probably well marked. To me, that's the sign of a very good, very important book. One you live with.
When you've read this book, you'll know more about usability than probably 90 percent or more of the people on the web. And you'll be able to create a site that will be useful to people, which translates into more business.
Most of the sites on the web today are really pretty bad. Both the design and the copy are bad. When you understand usability you can make a site that works for everyone concerned.
This book is fascinating. It's easy to read and understand. It covers all the topics that are usability concerns. This is NOT a book about web design. It's about usability and incorporating it into your design and into your writing. So writers as well as designers should read it.
I read "Don't Make Me Think" by Steve Krug and I found it a very good book. I learned a lot from it. But after reading this book by Jakob Nielsen I really "got it". And you will too.
I highly recommend this very valuable book. It's an investment that will pay big dividends.
Susanna K. Hutcheson
Owner and Executive Copy Director
Powerwriting.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ..., Jan. 7 2003
By 
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
When I bought this book, I did so under the false impression that the man who designed the book was also the author. Not so. As a CIW Master Site Designer, I am highly offended by this guy's oversimplified view of Web design and usability. One only has to take one look at his own Web site to see that his solutions are neither practical or "usable." Unfortunately, like so many in his profession, he completely disregards the fact that the Web is now a publishing medium - NOT a computer technology. More importantly, regarding e-commerce, it is a marketing tool; one can no longer disregard esthetics for the sake of "usability." Worse yet, like many of these so-called "usability professionals," he's treating the symptom and not the illness - poor browser software design. Most, if not all, of the usability issues for which Web designers and developers must compensate are due to lack of standardization and technological development in the browswer software industry. Sure, browser interfaces are getting prettier, but the guts of browser software still have not changed enough to appropriately accommodate the shift from technical tool to marketing medium. Of course, if these problems were solved, these high-priced "usability professionals" would be out of a job . . .
At any rate, I am a firm believer (and practitioner) of the philosophy that one does not need to sacrifice esthetics for usability, as opposed to the strategies presented herein by Herr Neilson. Do not listen to this man; he is a self-proclaimed "expert" who, by demonstration via his own Web site, has no clue how to address the true needs and concerns of Web customers - let alone, Web users. Stay away from this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simpler is better, Dec 31 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
This book changed my point of view on desiging web pages. After reading the book, I went back to basics and dropped the flashy for the functional. Applying his views on navigation, avoiding excessive graphics and managing loading times have certainly helped the usability of my site.
If you are serious about building a site and have little experience and are willing to disregard much of what you see across the web then this book if for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple Read, Nov. 20 2002
By 
Marc C David "The NoBull Muscle Guy" (Walnut Creek, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
I liked this book. I bought a template for my website.. so many of the design features talked about were already made for me. Good. But the accessibility guidelines were great. I added some finishing touches and I've got a pretty darn accessible site with a variety of browsers.
My only failure was when you hit the homepage.. you should know immediately what the site offers.
That I need some revisions at this point.
Book was well worth the read. It might make some pages a bit borning, but you can skip those rules. Once you understand what makes a lot of pages really horrible, you can eliminate that stuff from your site and get moving.
Animated gifs, scorlling marques, flashing text.. huge video files.. simple stuff like that really detracts from your site.
All in all, this book was well worth the read. It went by really quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A necessary addition to any web-designer's bookshelf..., Sept. 3 2002
By 
J. Sierra "J. Sierra" (Ft Lauderdale, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
Okay, so everybody who every writes a review says that about "...a necessary addition..."
But seriously...
Some people may complain about this book, or say that it's not very useful, but like *anything* on usability, it's about lessons. Jakob Nielsen is quite the usability Yoda, and he very much shows what he considers to be elements of high (or in many cases) low usability.
His approach is nice for a couple of reasons. Often, when designing an element, you may ask yourself "Is this usable?" Most developers are blind to usability, as they can use their own code, and fail to take into consideration someone unfamiliar with thier process. Nielsen, through his copious examples, shows what's common on the internet, and describes usability elements based on that. The fact is, most of what we see and use on the internet could be vastly improved. He simply points it out.
Just like anything, this book should be read and taken with a grain of salt. Absorb what he has to say, and see how it applies to your development. While he is considered very yoda-like, he isn't the be-all, end-all authority (I can hear some people's teeth grinding at that comment... heh). Use what makes sense, and eschew what doesn't.
Overall, however, I *highly* recommend reading this book, if just for the usability perspective. You'll learn a lot, even if you don't try. An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Jakob delivers a load on his promise, Aug. 31 2002
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
I first encountered Jakob's shinning masterpiece, whilst studying a BSc In Ingorability, and as soon as it came, I took it in my stride and followed through till the last page, the quality of research,presentation and shallowness put this book as one of my top favourites all of times, The Nielsen kid is able to conjure a great book which offers the reader nothing new, everything that is stated within this book is readily available at your feet fetish on the world wide web. I would encourage all mum's & pop looking into buying this book to improve their under the cover usability methods to forgo on buying this book and simply send jakob some high heel boots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars #2 on my list, Aug. 31 2002
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
Start wih Steve Krug's Don't Make Me Think, then once the principles you've learned there are ingrained, move on here for more detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat Usable, Aug. 30 2002
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
If you can get over how arrogant and condescending Nielsen is, you may get some valuable information out of this book. However, Nielsen doesn't practice what he preaches, so follow what he says in the book, not what you see at his website. Nielsen bashes graphic design regarding it as artsy feelings that can be represented elsewhere. Hey Jakob, how useful are those flaps included with the cover of the book??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat Usable, Aug. 30 2002
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
If you can get over how arrogant and condescending Nielsen is, you may get some valuable information out of this book. However, Nielsen doesn't practice what he preaches, so follow what he says in the book, not what you see at his website. Nielsen bashes graphic design regarding it as artsy feelings that can be represented elsewhere. Hey Jakob, how useful are those flaps included with the cover of the book??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is THE BOOK, Aug. 10 2002
By 
J. Enright (Jacksboro, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing Web Usability (Paperback)
Easy reading with tons of examples and facts to back up the statements. I'm a user interface evangelist, and Nielsen is now my hero.
If you're only going to buy one book on web design, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 423 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Designing Web Usability
Designing Web Usability by Jakob Nielsen (Paperback - Dec 20 1999)
CDN$ 57.99 CDN$ 36.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews