Customer Reviews


205 Reviews
5 star:
 (166)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tragic but daring Tale
I always criticized Frank Miller's art work on Batman. Even after purchasing 'Year one' and being pleasantly surprised by the story I still remained hesitant on purchasing "The Dark Knight Returns". Foolish me. This story is absolutely amazing. It's the most tragic piece of art in the form of a graphic novel I've ever read. The pages are filled with text, it felt as if...
Published on June 21 2012 by j-maAN

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Innovative in its day, but lacked subtlety and timelessness.
No one can doubt the impact his book had on comics. It began the "grim and gritty" trend, for good or bad. In this case at least, it was mostly good. The ones that came after, they were the bad ones....
DKR was never as good as its reputation, sadly, but that doesn't mean it was a poor work. Quite the contrary, in fact. Frank Miller is a very good...
Published on May 8 2004


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tragic but daring Tale, June 21 2012
By 
j-maAN - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
I always criticized Frank Miller's art work on Batman. Even after purchasing 'Year one' and being pleasantly surprised by the story I still remained hesitant on purchasing "The Dark Knight Returns". Foolish me. This story is absolutely amazing. It's the most tragic piece of art in the form of a graphic novel I've ever read. The pages are filled with text, it felt as if this story was as long as a full lengthed novel! I cannot stress enough the importance of this graphic novel to the entire Batman mythos and story line. A must buy for anyone who enjoys the works of Frank Miller and/or Batman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman comes out of retirement to whoop ass., Jan. 16 1998
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
Ten years after Bruce Wayne retires Batman, Gotham City is in chaos as psychos rip the city apart and sensitive humanitarians back-up their "socially misaligned" behavior, Bruce's alter ego fights back and enevitably wins to give criminals the justice they deserve.In the process he splits society in two.I recommend this book to everyone on Earth because it is second only to the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic, Feb. 27 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
Love this story by Frank Miller. One of the all time best Batman storyline. A true classic. Must read for any Batman fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EPIC story by the great Frank Miller, Jan. 27 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
Epic classic by Mr Miller, amazing story as witnessed in the movie. This one lost 1 star from me due to the artwork which I personally think a better job could have been done. Needless to say, the story on this one makes up for this and I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Provocative! Provocative! Provocative! BATMAN: THE DARK KNIGHT RETURNS. A Critical Review., Aug. 3 2013
By 
Andre Lawrence (Miami, Florida) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
"BATMAN's a COWARD!
I BROKE his bones...I CONQUERED the fool!
I made him BEG for mercy, only by CHEATING did he escape alive!

Let him go to his WOMEN. Let him LICK his wounds. His day is DONE.

Gotham City belongs to the MUTANTS!!!!!"

***

Everything said about this graphic novel is true—this is, most certainly, a groundbreaking piece of fiction.

This is equal parts literature and equal parts illustration journal.

This is not your typical Caped Crusader story.

Commissioner Gordon, who until this time, was essentially a passing thought now plays a central and critical part in the life of the city faces a forced retirement as a compromised mayor and a disinterested Gotham City has been laid siege by a very visible crime syndicate.

A couple of long imprisoned career criminals are about to be released.

And, a generation of Gotham City’s children believe that Batman is a myth.

***
This is a carefully grafted story that has layers and layers of political and social commentary. The most important to me has to do with natural and emotional degradation of the human mind.

How does time influence one’s psychological behavior?

When does one finally reach “the end?”

If there’s a downside to this, is that the illustrations are horrendous. Absolutely atrocious.

But this is still a landmark piece of literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A unique masterpiece, Sept. 17 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
Great art, an incredibly unique, dense story and a satisfying ending. A great read. I felt like I got a deeper appreciation for the recent film as a result of reading this first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, July 10 2012
Ce commentaire est de: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
This book was amazing, and sets the tone for so much of Batman in the 1990s and even into the 2000s, until Grant Morrison broke him down and recreated him. With Batman: Year One, it is a definitive Batman, and brilliant story-telling. Actually, sitting down with this book and Scott McCloud's Understanding Comics will show you a huge amount about storytelling in superhero comics. If you're interested in good comics, this is one of the books you should read.

Recent books by Miller, including the sequel to this, seem to be a parody of him, but this is Miller at the crest of his creative powers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not simply a "comic book", Jan. 12 1998
Ce commentaire est de: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
A dark, compelling look at a Batman at the end of his career (and the end of his rope). Th striking imagery and sharp text bring you the story of a world, and a Batman, that has to quote Stephen King "moved on." This is one of the best examples of graphic storytelling you will ever read. Not simply a "comic book," but a thoughtful story about heroes and the way we perceive them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Batman story, Dec 17 1997
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
If you are just getting into Batman then read this book. Some of the older readers have a good idea about Batmans personality and the way he works, but if you dont know then this is the book to read. This story is done perfectly. I recommend this story to all Batman readers old or young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Innovative in its day, but lacked subtlety and timelessness., May 8 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
No one can doubt the impact his book had on comics. It began the "grim and gritty" trend, for good or bad. In this case at least, it was mostly good. The ones that came after, they were the bad ones....
DKR was never as good as its reputation, sadly, but that doesn't mean it was a poor work. Quite the contrary, in fact. Frank Miller is a very good comics storyteller, and this is one of the more memorable Batman stories ever done.
The problems are two-fold. Like with Miller's ELEKTRA: ASSASSIN, he let his blatant political satirizing get in the way of the story, and the work suffered because of it. The liberal moralizing is very heavy-handed at times (the near-death/rebirth of Superman and the Reagan satire was unreadable) and only mildly distracting at other times (Green Arrow/Ollie is clearly a Miller "mouthpiece" here, but at least it's fully in line with the character's established personality, so it works). The Batman story becomes secondary at to Miller's bashing of the elected political powers of the eighties.
Which leads to the second problem. The book is so built around attacking Ronald Reagan and his policies, foreign and domestic, that it makes the story inevitably dated now that Reagan is a distant figure in history books unattached to the political emotions of the day.
For a better use of comics as political allegory, read WATCHMEN.
For a better Frank Miller Batman story, and one that is timeless, read BATMAN YEAR ONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: The Dark Knight Returns
Batman: The Dark Knight Returns by Frank Miller (Paperback - May 1 1997)
CDN$ 23.99 CDN$ 17.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews