Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (171)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tragic but daring Tale
I always criticized Frank Miller's art work on Batman. Even after purchasing 'Year one' and being pleasantly surprised by the story I still remained hesitant on purchasing "The Dark Knight Returns". Foolish me. This story is absolutely amazing. It's the most tragic piece of art in the form of a graphic novel I've ever read. The pages are filled with text, it felt as if...
Published on June 21 2012 by j-maAN

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Overrated
There is some great artwork here, due largely by Janson's inking. Depicting violence is what Miller does best.
The story is a different matter. For anyone familiar with the "Adult Legion" tale from the the Sixties, you'll know what I'm talking about. Because this Batman story is set in the "future", Miller had carte blache to do whatever he wanted with the...
Published on June 5 2003 by Rock Quarry


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tragic but daring Tale, June 21 2012
By 
j-maAN - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
I always criticized Frank Miller's art work on Batman. Even after purchasing 'Year one' and being pleasantly surprised by the story I still remained hesitant on purchasing "The Dark Knight Returns". Foolish me. This story is absolutely amazing. It's the most tragic piece of art in the form of a graphic novel I've ever read. The pages are filled with text, it felt as if this story was as long as a full lengthed novel! I cannot stress enough the importance of this graphic novel to the entire Batman mythos and story line. A must buy for anyone who enjoys the works of Frank Miller and/or Batman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not simply a "comic book", Jan. 12 1998
This review is from: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
A dark, compelling look at a Batman at the end of his career (and the end of his rope). Th striking imagery and sharp text bring you the story of a world, and a Batman, that has to quote Stephen King "moved on." This is one of the best examples of graphic storytelling you will ever read. Not simply a "comic book," but a thoughtful story about heroes and the way we perceive them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DKR: short of greatness... but still pretty good, June 14 2004
By 
Zagnorch (Terra, Sol System) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
After many a year of taking in my fellow comic geeks' word-of-mouth about the "Batman: The Dark Knight Returns" series being one of the greatest stories ever told in the comic book medium-- right up there with Alan Moore's "Watchmen"-- I finally broke down and gave it a read. While I found it fairly solid if somewhat overdone in the inner monologue department, this four-color yarn never really struck me as being one of the all-time greats. For one thing, the somewhat over-the-top End-Of-The-Cold-War-era political & sociocultural satire Frank Miller injected into the story made the whole shebang seem a bit dated. Then there was the artwork, which was of inconsistent quality. 'Course, I blame this more on the finishing touches by Klaus Janson, whose artwork-- be it pencils or inks-- usually leaves a lot to be desired in my eyes. I swear, he musta' had a few incriminating photos of Miller with a donkey or something to have stayed his partner-in-rendering all those years.
As for the assertion by many that DKR was the harbinger of the comic book world's 'grim-and-gritty-anti-hero' era-- well, if this assertion does have merit, I see it as a good thing. 'Cuz back in the day, I really enjoyed reading the adventures of rival Marvel's two grimmest-and-grittiest guys: Ghost Rider version 2 and the Punisher, both of whom got their own ongoing titles shortly after DKR hit the stands. I also liked how Batsy really laid the smack-down on his criminal foes-- especially his crippling of the Joker, who managed to finish himself off immediately after being incapacitated in a most amazing and disquieting manner. And despite his superior strength, speed, and agility, I always figured Batman could hold his own in a knockdown drag-out against Superman-- which he does and the some at the story's climax. I only wish he fought a bit more cleanly than he did, but that wouldn't have been 'grim-and-gritty' enough I guess...
The tenth anniversary edition of this TPB includes the original text script to the last issue of this story arc. I found it to be a fairly interesting look at the creative process involved in the conception of a four-color story. I also found it interesting to see the stuff that was originally gonna be put to the Bristol board, and compare it to what eventually did make the cut, and what was changed or removed. If you've ever wondered how they come up with some of those comic stories you're so fond of reading, this bonus feature is a must-read.
Anyhoo, like I stated before, I found Batman: "The Dark Knight Returns" a really good super-hero comic story, but it falls short of being among the all-time-greatest tome that most fanboys have told me it is. I might read this once more in my lifetime, but that's about it. It isn't even Frank Miller's best work on the character in my opinion-- that honor goes to "Batman: Year One", which you can check out at www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0930289331/ref=pd_sim_books_2/002-6135121-8178428?v=glance&s=books. Happy reading!
'Late
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars By far, THE BEST Batman tale., Feb. 3 2004
This review is from: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
Back in 1986 or so, Batman's partner Jason Todd(Robin II) was killed brutally by the Joker. After that, Batman kept going on with his work alone, but very dark.
Suppose he hadn't gone back to work? Suppose he vowed never to put himself or any others in harm's way again. That's where Dark Night Returns take us.
About 20 years after the last appearence of Batman, Bruce and Jim Gordon sit, talking of the old days. Gordon by now has figured out that Bruce Wayne and Batman are one in the same. Jason is broght up and suddenly Bruce wants to leave. The subject is still touchy for him.
Bruce realizes that Gotham is not safe anymore. Without protectors, his city is nothing. The Batman in him tells him what he must do. Bruce resists, but inspiration comes to him again.
Later a mugger is attacked, a brutal beating is stopped, and two young girls are saved by "a huge man in a Dracula costume". All stopped by none other than Batman.
Former villains that have been supposedly "cured" come back on the scene, including the Joker. A legendary fight ensues here.
This book is, simply put, awesome. A must have for ANYONE who is REMOTELY a fan of comics. Buy it. You won't be sorry.
I would even reccomend buying the hardback, you'll want to keep this one for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Batman grows up, Jan. 28 2004
By 
The Peruvian Wunderkind (Mississauga, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
Along with The Watchmen and Daredevil, The Dark Knight Returns was part of the "new wave" of comics in the 80's that introduced new possibilities to the staid comic lexicon: adult themes, complex storylines, and, most radically for the time, a blurring of the line between hero and villain. These new approaches not only became core attributes of the burgeoning graphic novel genre, but also helped to modernize comics and introduce the medium to a new -and more mature- audience.
Miller's at his best here when he explores the many paradoxes that inform the Batman; clearly, the past constructions of Batman as mere 'superhero' did the character a great disservice, since he's much more interesting here as a morally ambiguous and complex person. The expert television commentaries sprinkled throughout the narrative not only poke fun at the shallowness of contemporary news programs, but also well exemplify Batman's nebulousness and how he symbolizes different values (social deviant, victims' rights crusader) to different agendas. The dramatic, full-page illustrations also add to the richness of the book.
Clearly, Miller is no slave to tradition. He kills off some rather important comic characters in this text, nearly does away with others, and re-imagines Batman's trusty sidekick, Robin, as a young woman. Entire pages go by without any dialogue: Miller positions us inside the mind of the characters where we're privy to their innermost thoughts. The Dark Knight is nothing if not unpredictable, a refreshing change from the "good guy wins, bad guys die" formula of the comics of old. This really was (and still is) a groundbreaking and important work. Miller deserves accolades not only for having written an engrossing story, but for also having paved new and exciting directions for the modern comic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype, Sept. 28 2003
By 
Itamar Katz (Ramat-Gan, Israel) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
Doubtlessly one of the most talked about comic book storylines of the past twenty years, its reputation is well founded. While material that was as hyped as The Dark Knight Returns is often ultimately disappointing, or seems outdated decades later, every time one reads The Dark Knight Returns he'd be more convinced that this is indeed a perfect piece of modern literature; and comics, American comics most of all, very rarely got this good. The Dark Knight Returns is one of a handful of graphic novels (e.g. Watchmen, The Sandman and Marvels) that achieve the status of genuine and timeless classics.
In the time of its release in the early 80s, The Dark Knight Returns was revolutionary, in every aspect. Frank Miller, already an acclaimed artist for his work on the early issues of Wolverine, already proved himself as a writer in 1984's brilliant and groundbreaking mini-series Ronin, but The Dark Knight Returns in 1986 was his break into the world of mainstream comics, and remains his most important achievement. But while his work on the series was within the world of super-hero comics, and within the financial safety of publishing under the DC Comics banner, Miller took mainstream comics to disturbing new places and super-heroes were never looked at the same way again. Taking inspiration from the groundbreaking work of the Dennis O'neil / Neil Addams team who revolutionized super-hero comics in the late 70s, and from his own former partner Chris Claremont, Miller made super-hero comics darker, more reflective and more mature than was ever made before. For that he took darkest character in the DC Universe, the Caped Crusader himself, and took him 20 years into the future, well into retirement. The new Batman is well into his 50s, sad and tired, and a much rougher kind of hero than he was before. Miller's very modern look on the Dark Knight was disturbing and discomforting to say the least; Dark Knight Returns is not an adventure story, it's a moral examination of his character and the problematic nature of his actions. Never before was Batman judged so harshly by his own author, and it's difficult for the reader to accept it - since, while Batman's actions are here presented as problematic to say the least, if not criminal, but he is also more human and more recognizable than we'd ever seen him before.
But it's not just the view of Batman's character that makes Dark Knight Returns so disturbing - it's the view of the world. Miller's future is dark and bleak, and eerily realistic. He goes to great lengths to create a realistic and convincing world, right down to creating a new slang for the new young generation. Through countless minor characters and little stories, each one rounded and well-constructed by its own right, Frank Miller creates a Gotham City we can know, a Gotham we can relate to. It's a city living in fear, a city that's in the grip of a merciless gang more ruthless and vicious than the criminals Batman faced in his prime. In Bruce Wayne's own words, it's a city that's 'given up hope, like the whole world seems to have'. And as the city lies in the shadow of the fear of the Mutants gang, so the world lives in the shadow on nuclear holocaust. It is in the middle of this reality that a real hero is proven. And despite all the doubt and all the misgivings, the Batman presented here is more heroic than he ever was. It takes one kind of hero to fight madmen on a daily basis and thwart their diabolical schemes; it takes quite a different one to face himself and the world and not give up.
Batman isn't the only character who is given fantastic care on The Dark Knight Returns. Commissioner James Gordon, a character who had become much more important and more sophisticated in the last twenty years, is an important part of the story, and his part in it is fascinating, although more thought would be given to him on Miller's second Dark Knight expedition - Batman: Year One in 1988. The Dark Knight Returns also features a young and energetic Robin, who serves the role that Robin should have from the beginning - to provide contrast to the character of the Batman. Interestingly, though, the death of Jason Todd is often referred to, though it was released three years before Jason actually died in the comic continuity - and even then, his death was decided by a readers' poll. Hmm... Alfred Pennyworth, of course, completes the classic team. As for villains to battle - Two of Batman's most classic enemies, The Joker and Two-Face, return on The Dark Knight Returns - mainly as subplots, and to serve as reflections for Batman himself. This story is not about fighting madmen. There is, though, a grand final showdown at the end, in which Batman fights a surprising enemy...
As for the art: Frank Miller's artwork is an acquired taste. So is Lynn Varley's coloring, which is subtle and pale and may seem somewhat outdated to modern readers. Miller's drawing on The Dark Knight Returns is not as impressive and appealing as his work on Sin City, but if you enjoyed his early artwork, especially on Wolverine and Ronin, you'll like this one too. The artwork really is brilliant, if you take the time to see its subtleties. At any rate, on The Dark Knight Returns Miller had the benefit of not only the wonderful coloring of Lynn Varley (who also collaborated on Ronin) but also one of the finest inkers in the world of comics, Mr. Klaus Janson, who contributed to the series beyond words, gave it a lot of its atmosphere and created some of the darkest and most impressive images of Batman and Gotham City. In every possible way, The Dark Knight Returns is a masterpiece. If you like comics, and not just super-hero comics, by all means read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Western: A Fistfull of Gotham, Aug. 4 2003
By 
Timothy P. Young (Rawlins, WY, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
In a phrase, The Dark Knight returns is simply a "western." The old hero comes out of retirement to save his town one last time. On his way, he meets an assortment of old acquaintances, both friend and foe. At the end, there's a nice sunset for him to ride off into. Or is there?
Frank Miller's book is more of a character study of a retired vigilante who just can't take it anymore. Think "Unforgiven" with tights and thermite. Like Arkham Asylum, this is a story of a man and his obsession. Miller's text puts us into that moment, and also reveals his doubts about his chosen calling. Batman here is a man divided, the reluctant hero, and he behaves as such. THIS Batman even realizes that his personal moral code may be suspect. (But never for long.) And the fact that he seems to be instrumental in bringing the Joker out of a catatonic state is telling. Do we beget our own demons? The story questions this repeatedly, and leaves it to us.
Fleshed out not only with cameos, but with a new Robin, a new Commissioner, and several other characters, this is a true work of literature and art. Varley's coloring in particular electrifies this book.
Worthy of addition to any serious collection, be it graphic novel or literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Batman vs. Superman?!?! It's in this comic book!, Aug. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
Many people don't bring this up but the best part is at the end! Batman vs. Superman! Frank Miller turned this 40 year friendship into a battle of the titans. Let's face it, if your a true fan of either one you know they wouldn't get along! To tell you the truth, I never liked Superman! I was always a die hard Batman fan and this comic book gives me more reasons NOT to like Superman! I still can't get the story right but it seems that at a time Superman turned his back on The JLA and turned into a puppet for the U.S. Goverment. I am sorry Superman fans, no disrespect but.....HE WOULD DO SOMETHING LIKE THAT! Lets face it, Superman is a "Yes Sir" kind of guy! "Is there anything I can do Mr. President?" He turned his back on his friends for what? To take orders from the President to be apart in the Cold War! He always was a boy scout and it shows in this comic. It shows that the man of steel can be beat by using your brains and thats what batman did! With a little planing and using your head, you can beat the man of steel! And he did! and to top it off....BATMAN FAKED HIS OWN DEATH! Is there nothing Batman can't think of? I know Superman wouldn't think of that! Get this comic book, it's shows what would happen if there really was a Batman in the World.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely exhilirating, July 14 2003
By 
Karam Khan "Voracious Bookworm" (Surrey, British Columbia (BC) Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
The dark knight returns truly features a menacing batman. Miller crosses the lines as a writer who is not afraid to portray the almost schizophrenic bent of Batman/Bruce Wayne, a man who chases his demons yet is caught in an endless struggle with them getting the best of him.
Batman , by essence is a dark and brooding character. Along with being that he is also very multi layered in his own psyche's perception of himself and the world around him, Miller presents a Batman that is truly how a Posessed superhero would be, to prove to himself first and foremost that if he cannot beat his demons into submission, he will not fall to them either. This is very much a fascinating character study in my opinion.
The book features awesome Art and the writing is top notch one of the best in comics ...great one liners, panel guidelines, dialogues and the action! Whew is the action intense, never have i in my many years of comic reading have been grabbed so violently in the action panels .
Batman's Gotham always has been a never perfect functioning world and its not surprising it turned into a dystopia as Wayne grew older. an empty souless, crime infested town that has turned citizens into a people without hope, always relying on the system, to fix things but one man knows that sometimes the system breaks. Bruce Wayne.
Wayne lives an empty life, for his demons are also his personal saviors, and relishes donning the mantle again to prove to himself if not to anyone else that he stands for something. But Alas Wayne's earlier heroics have no grace on Gotham's folks who now deem Batman a menace, a psychopath and much more. This is on the level of great modern crime contemporary litreature and should be read and given respect as such. This is an absolute must buy for any comic or crime fan .
On surface a story of a conflicted man, beneath it lies a whole commentary on the social state the present society is going to come to at some point, even if it exists on some levels in present day cities.
the absolute ultimate batman story ever.
Miller's panels and layouts artistically are absolute genius. the way he can convey an action or a visual insight, no one comes close at all. it is absolutely beyond the coool factor. the art takes some getting used to, might seem irritating at first but its like that for a reason.
This book more then ever cries out to be made into a neat Batman movie but only a director of calibre and good potential should attempt it, but movie or not it is perfect how it is. no one can visualize panels like Miller , and if the script is not by him, not even worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Art, Great Story!, July 10 2003
This review is from: Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Paperback)
When I first got this comic, I was just a beginner Batman Fan. When I took my book home that night, and began to read the book, I was somewhat disappointed. I didn't understand some of what was going on in the story, and was repulsed by the grotesqueness of Gotham City. You see, I had grown up watchine Batman the Animated Series and the Newer Version, and was not used to the disturbing world of Gotham, because I was used to seeing the simpler, kinder verson of Gotham I had grown up with. I put this book on my shelf and ventured onto the Internet to catch up on the years of Batman. I learned things that I never learned from the TV show: Jason Todd, Huntress(daughter of Batman), and most importantly for me, Barbara Gordon's paralyses from the Joker. Once I got the just of what happened in the Batman Comics, I went back to Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, I understood everything much better. The story was much richer in my new Batman-updated eyes, and the roughness of the art completed the darkness of the storyline. For knowladgable Batman Fans, this is a MUST!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: The Dark Knight Returns
Batman: The Dark Knight Returns by Frank Miller (Paperback - May 1 1997)
CDN$ 23.99 CDN$ 17.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews