Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended in conjunction with Miserly Moms
What I liked best about this book:
1. The chapter on contingency plans. Yes, it's obvious that it's a good idea to have a backup-plan in case the working parent gets laid off, there's a large unexpected expense, etc. Nevertheless, I found it helpful to read the authors' experiences regarding such emergencies which happened in their families and to consider the...
Published on Feb. 24 2004 by DNP

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars why i like stay at home with kids book
unfortunately i am a divorced mom of two and being a single parent now i have to work...but i do agree that it is better for the mom to stay at home with the kids when they are quite young if you are in a good marriage...you have to be married to a man with a good or at least stable job to do this and be in a stable marriage...with hope he does not get laid off...but it...
Published on Dec 1 2001 by robbin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended in conjunction with Miserly Moms, Feb. 24 2004
By 
DNP "waterlily525" (Framingham, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You Can Afford To Stay Home With Your Kids (Paperback)
What I liked best about this book:
1. The chapter on contingency plans. Yes, it's obvious that it's a good idea to have a backup-plan in case the working parent gets laid off, there's a large unexpected expense, etc. Nevertheless, I found it helpful to read the authors' experiences regarding such emergencies which happened in their families and to consider the various ideas and options presented. My own contingency plan was that I worked fifteen months longer than I wanted to and progressively worked up to putting my entire paycheck in savings; by the time I quit, we had enough money set aside to pay our living expenses for an entire year, if that became necessary.
2. The chapter on stay-at-home blues. I appreciated the authors' candor in describing the pros and cons of staying home. A humorous (but true) example they give is that you won't necessarily fall in love with cleaning the bathroom and once home, you may do it more often than you did before. Most importantly, they're honest about the feeling of isolation that can creep up on a stay-at-home parent and how one can deal with it.
3. They "tell it like it is". As they say, unless one of the parents' incomes is completely disposable, it is going to be necessary to make some sacrifices somewhere. Something will have to go in order to keep the family's financial boat afloat. My family experienced this period of adjustment while saving for our emergency fund; by the time I left work, we were already used to managing on one income and it wasn't so difficult.
I address the chapters on the "cons" of staying home specifically because if most people pick up a book like this in the first place, it's probably because they already want to be home with their child(ren). What they want to know is how to achieve that goal and what to expect along the way. I found this book a terrific primer on how to get off the fast track in the smoothest possible manner.
The reason I recommended this book in conjunction with Miserly Moms by Jonni McCoy is that I feel the latter book presents a larger share of nuts-and-bolts information on how to reduce expenses. Jonni McCoy once worked as a senior buyer for Apple Computers, among other firms, and you can see this real-world experience in how she analyzes and approaches the issue of frugality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Advice for Moms Weighing the Stay At Home Option, Aug. 16 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: You Can Afford To Stay Home With Your Kids (Paperback)
I really liked this book because it gave practical advice that seemed realistic and was supported by personal stories and testimonials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new - save your money, Feb. 28 2002
By 
Keetha D. Reed (McCarley, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Can Afford To Stay Home With Your Kids (Paperback)
The title of this book caused me to snatch it off the shelf. I'm just glad it was a library shelf rather than a bookstore shelf.
I found the information extremely obvious and learned very little.
Basically, if you want to stay home, cut the extras. If you buy a... coffee, pastry, eat out and shop every day, well, then, cut it out. And if you normally buy convenience foods at the grocery, get a manicure every week and buy expensive clothes, then stop. That's the basic summary of the book.
I have already made these obvious cuts, as well as counting in work-related costs such as transporation, dry cleaning, etc., so it taught me absolutely nothing new...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, Dec 28 2001
By 
Paula (Birmingham, al USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You Can Afford To Stay Home With Your Kids (Paperback)
Great ideas.
The writers are not pushy about anyone becoming a stay at home parent.
They are not unbiased (staying home with your kids is best for them) but they stay as well balanced as possible.
This book is helping make it possible for my HUSBAND to stay home with our 4 kids !!!
We love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars why i like stay at home with kids book, Dec 1 2001
By 
robbin (ATLANTA, GEORGIA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You Can Afford To Stay Home With Your Kids (Paperback)
unfortunately i am a divorced mom of two and being a single parent now i have to work...but i do agree that it is better for the mom to stay at home with the kids when they are quite young if you are in a good marriage...you have to be married to a man with a good or at least stable job to do this and be in a stable marriage...with hope he does not get laid off...but it can work and it actually saves money and enriches family life. two working parents actually have a lot of 'stuff' they don't need... ...i love these stay at home books because i am still a mom and they give me excellent tips on how to save money and organize my time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definately recommend buying it!, Oct. 6 2001
By 
Dorena Dunn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Can Afford To Stay Home With Your Kids (Paperback)
I bought this book after thinking about staying home with my 3 yr old. I read it and loved it. I wish I would of read it a long time ago. It gives you lots of information, cleaning tips, saving $ money tips and everything. I now am staying home with my son and wish I would've done it earlier. I missed out on so much. If you're a mom or dad who is wanting to stay home with your kids, you have to read this book, it will help you make that transition to being a stay at home parent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Run the Numbers: You'll be home in no time!!, Aug. 22 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: You Can Afford To Stay Home With Your Kids (Paperback)
This is the perfect book for Moms (or Dads) who want to be home with their kids but really believe they cannot afford the loss of the second income. The book is written well, with straightforward advice about how to 'run the numbers' and offers simple suggestions of easy budget cuts you won't even miss. In addition, there are ideas in the book about what to do with the kids all day once you do quit work and stay home (which, personally was one of my biggest fears.) If you have the slightest inkling that you would like to be a full time mom (or dad), I would recommend that you read this book-- and be completely honest about the section that has you detail your spending for a month. Once you see how little you are actually bringing home, you may be even more fed up with the rat race!!
I was also quite impressed with the 'stay-at-home PARENT' philosophy found throughout the book. So many books are written to moms, with a more feminine side, yet this book would be good for men to read as well. This would be a great book for hubby--whether your husband is the would be parent at home, or you would like to suggest some reading to help convince him that your decision to be a full time mom will not lead to financial ruin.
Most of the 'homemade' craft ideas are great. There are lots of things to do for rainy days, etc. (I still prefer storebought 'Play-doh' to their homemade variety, but that's just me, and it doesn't cost that much more.) In addition, there are games and activity ideas that turn your errands into adventures for the kids (and it may as well be fun, since the little darlings will be going EVERYWHERE with you!!)
Check this book out, but I warn you: by the time you finish this book, you are going to be wondering why in the world you are working outside your home at all. Once you see your $50K+ salary turn into way under $20K, your professional attitude may slip a bit....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A "MUST" read, Jan. 9 2001
By 
"ckeown" (FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You Can Afford To Stay Home With Your Kids (Paperback)
If you are planning to or recently made the decision to become a SAHM this book will help you!
I thought that the nuts and bolts approach really inspired and encouraged me. I never realized how little of my paycheck was actually contributing to the household funds until I read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A "MUST" read, Jan. 9 2001
By 
"ckeown" (FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You Can Afford To Stay Home With Your Kids (Paperback)
If you are planning to or recently made the decision to become a SAHM this book will help you!
I thought that the nuts and bolts approach really inspired and encouraged me. I never realized how little of my paycheck was actually contributing to the household funds until I read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! Great ideas! Really motivational., Jan. 9 2001
By 
Jessica Scull "emotionalgoat.com" (Hebron, ND United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Can Afford To Stay Home With Your Kids (Paperback)
This is a great book! I got it last night and have finished it today (and I have a 9 month old baby and a full time job). Obviously, the book is a quick read. Perhaps part of the reason that the book is motivational is that it is not so huge and full of detail that you are overwhelmed, but not too frivolous and silly, either. I loved this book! It was inspirational to a person who is afraid of change. You will find good advice here whether you are planning on quitting your job cold turkey, or shifting gradually away from the workplace. The authors don't sugar coat what staying home will be like, but give you a lot of the tools you will need to overcome the trouble you are in for!! This is a good book for those of us who have been in the workplace full time since becoming independant and have very few homemaking skills as a result (our family eats microwave dinners or eats out, all but one meal a week at most). I must emphasize that this book has taken some of the fear out of cooking by explaining what to have in your kitchen, and how to use it. I have read books that dealt separately with personal finance/budgeting, quality family life, cooking, organization and cleaning (all are topics covered in this book), but all of the lists, steps, and goals of the other books seemed so overwhelming when I thought about adding them to my other obligations. This book is exactly what I needed to make a start at getting my life and my family together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadf6fd5c)

This product

You Can Afford To Stay Home With Your Kids
You Can Afford To Stay Home With Your Kids by Mary Snyder (Paperback - June 1 1999)
CDN$ 23.95 CDN$ 17.48
Usually ships in 11 to 14 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews