Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating: Louder than you think
The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating: A True Story - this book starts quietly and stays that way but don't let that put you off - it really is a beautiful and gripping story of one womans discovery of the secret world of snails while appearing to be at a complete dead end in her life due to illness- gradually very gradually the snail teaches her that there are many ways of...
Published on Feb. 5 2012 by Avid Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully soothing
The writing in this book is much like the story itself - soothing, slow moving, slipping into your consciousness like the gentle chewing sound of the snail in the title.
It is totally charming. But perhaps a bit too soothing. I read mostly at night before bed and I still haven't finished the book.
And now I want a pet snail....
Published 13 months ago by Dorothyanne Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully soothing, March 13 2013
By 
Dorothyanne Brown "Dabble" (Dartmouth, NS) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating: A True Story (Hardcover)
The writing in this book is much like the story itself - soothing, slow moving, slipping into your consciousness like the gentle chewing sound of the snail in the title.
It is totally charming. But perhaps a bit too soothing. I read mostly at night before bed and I still haven't finished the book.
And now I want a pet snail....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating: Louder than you think, Feb. 5 2012
This review is from: The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating: A True Story (Hardcover)
The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating: A True Story - this book starts quietly and stays that way but don't let that put you off - it really is a beautiful and gripping story of one womans discovery of the secret world of snails while appearing to be at a complete dead end in her life due to illness- gradually very gradually the snail teaches her that there are many ways of being and that there is hope. You will learn more than you ever knew about snails but you will also feel uplifted in this courageous tale of recovery and discovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Inspiring Book, Jan. 28 2011
This review is from: The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating: A True Story (Hardcover)
This is an incredible book. As I am also ill with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, though in a much less debilitating way, I could relate to Elizabeth Bailey. I find it very generous on her part to have spent all that little energy she has to share that exceptional experience. The rythm of the writing in a way is the rythm of the snail, calming, relaxing. But, at the same time, we are very much taken by the story of the snail's every day life. Elizabeth doesn't write much about her very serious illness, just enough to make us realize to what extent the snail plays a role in her life and how it helps her go through each day. For those who are ill and housebound, this book will help see life differently and bring some ligh in those dark moments. For those who are in good health, it will be a worthwhile pause in the frantic pace we live in... and you will look at nature, particularly a snail, much differently. Elizabeth with this book shows us that she is not only a talented writer, but also shows that each creature, even the very small ones, has a role on this planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely charming!, May 2 2011
This review is from: The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating: A True Story (Hardcover)
i love this book! once i finished it, i immediately read it again. all the descriptions i read of this book were right on: charming; like alice in wonderland; a wonderful pause from the pace of life.

this is now one of my all time favourite books! i will read it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Unusual Memoir!!, March 5 2011
By 
Louise Jolly "Bookaholic" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating: A True Story (Hardcover)
Elisabeth Tova Bailey is bedridden with a mysterious disease that has left her paralyzed but she finds meaning in her life through observing a small woodland snail!! The snail served as her entertainment, her connection to a world beyond her own suffering and gave her hope and strength to carry on and wait for her health to improve. Being bedridden she is cut-off from the world and lives like a "hermit" just like her snail.

Ms. Bailey does not complain about her illness, her time is better spent being curious about her snail and marvelling at how resilient it is. By watching so intently and being a studious pupil, Bailey tells us she wants to fight her illness but that wouldn't have been possible without her snail.

The latter part of the book reads more like a textbook on snails and other mollusks, but I would have liked to hear more of Bailey's life and her thoughts about her illness.

There is one line in the book that I will quote here because I find it is so very, very true. "Illness isolates; the isolated become invisible; the invisible become forgotten."

Anyone who reads this is going to love it and it's not like your typical memoir, it's a very different type of story which you'll thoroughly enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb052a054)

This product

The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating: A True Story
The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating: A True Story by Elisabeth Bailey (Hardcover - Aug. 24 2010)
CDN$ 25.50 CDN$ 16.07
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews